We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Osthoff Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The two-bedroom, two-bath suites are just over $200 and a great value. The resort has an excellent, on-site spa called Aspira. Indoor and outdoor pools, arcade, cooking classes, restaurants, a little bit of everything really. Great for a romantic weekend, family getaway, girls' weekend, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uwred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    163
    37
    23
    7
See reviews for
188
193
13
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband & I just returned from a very relaxing weekend at the Osthoff. My husband booked the "Winter Retreat" pkg for my Birthday. We had a snow storm the first night but it was very warm & cozy sitting by the fire watching the winter wonderland develope outside. The staff was friendly & helpful. There was aBig Band Gala going on while we were there & it looked like so much fun we may attend the next one! Over all a beautiful resort to be at in the winter, must be even more fun in the summer! We will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puttergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A girlfriend and I booked a Northern Italian cooking class on a Saturday at the L'ecole de la Maison cooking school which is housed in the hotel. We decided to go Friday afternoon and spend one overnight at the Osthoff. Neither of us had been to Elkhart Lake before.
We found the hotel and the staff to exceed our expectations. The front desk person offered us a free shuttle ride to and from the dinner we were going to that night in town upon check-in. The hotel itself is very clean and the 2 bedroom suite we booked was HUGE. We did find the layout of the hotel a little confusing - long corridors to reach everything, but again all the spaces were well maintained.
We checked out the spa, but did not have any time to do treatments, though it looked quite nice. We had a drink at the bar before going out to dinner and the bartender, Jane, was very friendly and informative. She shared lots of insight about the area, things to do, etc.
The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom as well as the common area of our suite was very spacious and nicely appointed.
We attended the cooking class from 9 a.m. - 1:30 the following day. It is in the basement of the hotel, and has all the state of the art appliances. There were 10 of us in the class, which is the capacity. The instructor was knowledgable, the ingredients very fresh and there was plenty of opportunity for hands on cooking. The drawback that was voiced amongst all of the participants, though, was that the recipes were WAY too complicated and time consuming for any of us to repeat. It was a fun way to spend the day, we ate what we cooked and there was staff on hand to do all the cleanup as we worked and then ate. There was wine served when we sat to eat, which was nice and we left with all of the recipes.
I would say the 2 things I wish were different about the experience would be to have less complex recipes (the dessert alone took nearly 2 hours to make) and move the class to the afternoon. It was SO much food to eat mid-day. There were 5 courses, which I think works better as an evening meal.
That said, it was a great experience and I would return.

Room Tip: We had connecting rooms, which created a VERY spacious 2 bedroom suite. I would ask to be centrally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizrogatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WIscons
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I've been to the Osthoff on several occasions but had never spent any time in the spa. I went with a girlfriend for the weekend. The spa was fantastic. I spent time in the hot tub, lounging on a chair by the pool, in the quite reflection room and enjoyed a massage & facial. Needless to say I spent several hours and I enjoyed every minute of it. When the times come, I will return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: A view of the lake with a balcony was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strength2Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is the 4th time we have visited the resort for a long weekend. The service, the rooms, the food, and the experience have always been first rate. I would highly recomend the Osthoff for just a weekend or a weeklong vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Illinois
Level Contributor
168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is our up-teenth time at the Osthoff Resort. We usually go up here in the Winter to cross-country ski. No skiing this year but we still had a great time. We were able to get a really good deal thru a Groupon. This time they upgraded us to a lake view. It was warm enough to walk into town for dinner. We will return, the Osthoff is one our favorite destinations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked a 1 night stay in a 2 bedroom room at the Osthoff for Saturday, February 18. Because we were meeting friends from Racine and we are from Green Bay, this was the perfect place to meet. We have stayed at the Osthoff numerous times and as always the rooms and service are top-notch. The front desk is always friendly and very helpful during check in. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable. Because we were only staying one night, we did check other hotels in the Milwaukee area but found them to be much more expensive with much fewer amenities. It's always great to have a livingroom and a kitchen to relax in instead of the traditional hotel room. Our first pick will always be the Osthoff for weekend getaways. Sunday morning breakfast at Otto's is always a treat and Lake Side in downtown Elkhart Lake is a must for dinner. We will be back to the Osthoff to enjoy Jazz on the Vine in May.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
98 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#2 of 5 in Plymouth
107 reviews
16.2 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
112 reviews
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Property: The Osthoff Resort
Address: 101 Osthoff Avenue, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing