We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & family history”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of HOF Restaurant

HOF Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 26 Restaurants in Egg Harbor
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great view & family history”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. We ordered whitefish, & it had no flavor or seasonings. Vegetables were tough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coyote7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    6
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No Service! Nasty Food! Do NOT go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This restaurant claims to cater to European cuisine. Any European chef would be disgusted by the food served. We came to visit for a special night out, wanting to spare no expense. Found ourselves actually walking out before finishing the meal. We were there during prime season, but the place was hardly occupied -this should have let our alarm bells go off. The servers didn't seem to wanting to be there. Seated us on nasty, dirty outdoor furniture, loose tree branches hanging above. Their own clothes were soiled, the linen napkins were dirty. Husband had to ask 2x for condiments. Authentic German food dish was anything but. On the way out we actually took time to communicated our disappointment with management. She has her hands full, and seems dearly overwhelmed with the task on hand. Trust us, you will be much better off, visiting one of the other plentiful, awesome dining places available in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FromEUtoIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty Meal with a Good View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had eaten at the Hof as a kid (over 22 years ago now) and was curious to check out the dining at the lodge again. We experienced prompt wait staff, a beautiful view of the lake and tasty fare. I had the wiener schnitzel, which was good, but everything was cooked in a ton of butter (including the vegetables and dumplings on the side). We had fun wandering the lobbies and looking at the historical items and photos dating back to when the Alpine opened in the 1920s. Very interesting! The Alpine still has beautiful waterfront grounds and nice screened porches facing the water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelhappy1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, Kansas
Level Contributor
451 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely view, but......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The dining room looks out onto the bay, and there is a jazz band playing every night. My husband and I both got the pan fried walleye, and it was excellent. The sides were not good at all. The restaurant is very hard to describe, and is from another era.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beth ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best view in Door County!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have eaten at the Hof twice in the last few weeks. We go back for the pan fried walleye which is some of the best I've had up here, the live music, and the spectacular view of the bay. The restaurant and resort are very nostalgic in feel (think Dirty Dancing) and on Saturday night they have live music of old standards which has been great. My son got the German platter and enjoyed everything on the plate. We have had no problem with the service (in fact, we delayed ordering our meal last time because they had brought it out so fast the week before.)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbiehill73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HOF Restaurant also viewed

 
Egg Harbor, Door County
Egg Harbor, Door County
 

Been to HOF Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing