We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful woodland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Egg Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Door County Cottages
Livingston, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful woodland”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We very peaceful relaxing stay at the Lincoln cottage. I was impressed with the construction of the property, how sound, well thought out it was. From the layout of all the homes on the property they each had their own private, unique selcluded way of inviting you in. Beautiful to be in the woods without any sounds other than the wind. I found the inside very cozy, comfortable, and clean. I was very happy that I followed my intuition and selected Door County Cottages for our vacation. I would highly recommend the stay to anyone.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keetoo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

What a beautiful setting! Quiet, peaceful, picturesque, we will be back for sure. The sun room was where we stayed the most. You could literally touch the trees from the windows, thats how neat it was! The hot tub was awesome with some eucalyptus epsom salt thrown in the mix. The stereo system surround sound was playing some great songs as we entered in the evening on our first night, Dale had the place all ready for our visit...I could tell he understood our need for relaxation thats all I can say! Thanks for a GREAT weekend!

Room Tip: The Gretna is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had a great time! The best of all worlds -- quiet and secluded yet close enough to be able to enjoy all of the activities Door County has to offer! What a delightful relaxing week. We're already planning our next summer trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My huband and I recently stayed at the Fieldstone for our anniversary, we loved it!! I felt so at home I didnt want to leave, its a cozy little cabin in the woods. I especially liked the beautiful view out of the huge windows off the living room and dining area! The cabin was clean, neat, and orderly!! We will definitely be back, Thanks Dale! Tim and Amy

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My wife and I just returned from what was supposed to be a 3 day stay at the Fieldstone. One night was enough for us. This cottage has so much potential, but cleanliness and upkeep are significant issues. Shortly after we arrived we noticed the abundance of cobwebs throughout the cottage. There was a puddle of yellow fluid on the kitchen counter that we could only hope was some sort of cleaning solution. Like one of the other reviewers stated, we also felt the need to wash all the dishes before using them, but the dish rack that they provided was fithy. We ended up using one of the two dish towels to set the dishes on until they dried. The final straw was the beds and the bedding. It was obvious it had not been changed. It was covered with hair, as if it had been on the bed for weeks. We also experienced the smell. Damp basement is a good analogy. Make sure to bring light bulbs if you decide to stay here, because we found many of them burnt-out when we arrived. I think the owner needs to hire new cleaning and maintenance people, because based on the other reviews, these appears to be ongoing problems. The envelope on the counter from the cleaning people with the note "Tips Appreciated" is laughable.

The beds themselves are like nothing I've ever seen. I'm 5'11' and my wife is 5'3" and our legs hung over the end of the bed. The pillows were awful. Nothing more than foam bits inside a cloth bag. They provide no support at all. We may have slept a couple of hours at best.

The following morning, my wife and I did our best to enjoy Door County as we have many times over the years, but spending one more night in the Fieldstone occupied our thought the entire day. We decided to cut our visit short and head for home. Although it's not easy accepting the feeling we were taken advantage of, my wife and I look at this as a learning experience. Obviously, we will never stay at The Cottage Retreat again, and will not recommend it to our friends or family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mhackbarth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Greatnas. We were very impressed witht the sound system and all the speakers throughout the cabin. We also emjoyed the sauna very much. Our whole family had a great time. We loved the cabin and the setting very much. Many thanks!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Drherlache56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The wooded location was very nice but the accommodations were substandard for the price. The dishes were not clean, old and must have been purchased from numerous garage sales. The linens were even worse. Basic necessities such as dishes and linens don't need to be expensive, but should be clean and usable. I washed all the dishes we used before we used them, unfortunately I couldn't wash the sheets and blankets before we had to use them.
The dead bolt in the basement was broken and so was the screen door lock. It would have provided more security if they had been usable, especially since it was in a heavily wooded and secluded area.
I normally don't write reviews but felt that I should after this stay and the associated cost. If you choose to stay at the Cottage Retreat, don't choose the Gretna. It is simply not worth the money for what is offered.
This cottage has so much potential. Upgraded kitchenware, linens and a proper cleaning would make a huge difference as well as justify the cost.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Spuds33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm207, Public Relations Manager at Door County Cottages, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed and have considered your recommendations. We have our linens professionally laundered and a cleaning service come through after each stay and have talked with them to bring up the standards of cleanliness. And we have repaired/replaced the deadbolt in the basement and lock on the screen door of the cottage you stayed in.

We have also included some recent photos of the different cottages, including the Gretnas where you stayed, so viewers can see the quality of our cottages to decide for themselves.

We hope you stay with us again so you can see the changes and we can meet and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
1.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
211 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
#6 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
47 reviews
12.5 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
9.5 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Door County Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Door County Cottages

Property: Door County Cottages
Address: 7574 Relax Lane, Egg Harbor, WI 54209 (Formerly The Cottage Retreat)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in peaceful seclusion in one of our six cabin rentals. Located only minutes away from both Green Bay and Lake Michigan waters and centrally located in Door County, we are close to restaurants, grocery stores, gas stations, and the best entertainment choices.Inside our cottages, you’ll find wood burning stoves with glass doors, comfortable radiant floor heating, calming air conditioning, HEPA air-to-air exchange systems, antique doors and light fixtures, interior stone walls, oak woodwork, carpeted floors, cathedral ceilings, lofts, sunrooms, multiple living rooms and bathrooms, double-sided fireplaces, and large picture windows affording wonderful panoramic views of the surrounding Door County scenic landscapes. The Door County Cottages’ sleeping areas include king sized beds, queen sized beds, single sized bunk beds, and self-inflating air mattresses that can accommodate additional occupancies. Our kitchens are fully equipped with gas ranges, dinnerware and utensils, and pots and pans for cooking all your meals. Most cabins have two or more bathrooms, and all cottages have private whirlpool tubs and two have saunas. Outside Door County Cottages, you’ll find decks, balconies, patios, Weber grills, and fire pits that will make your evenings relaxing as you view the beautiful Door County countryside. And we are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Door County Cottages Egg Harbor, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing