We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Egg Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Door County Cottages
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Tranquility!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My huband and I recently stayed at the Fieldstone for our anniversary, we loved it!! I felt so at home I didnt want to leave, its a cozy little cabin in the woods. I especially liked the beautiful view out of the huge windows off the living room and dining area! The cabin was clean, neat, and orderly!! We will definitely be back, Thanks Dale! Tim and Amy

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My wife and I just returned from what was supposed to be a 3 day stay at the Fieldstone. One night was enough for us. This cottage has so much potential, but cleanliness and upkeep are significant issues. Shortly after we arrived we noticed the abundance of cobwebs throughout the cottage. There was a puddle of yellow fluid on the kitchen counter that we could only hope was some sort of cleaning solution. Like one of the other reviewers stated, we also felt the need to wash all the dishes before using them, but the dish rack that they provided was fithy. We ended up using one of the two dish towels to set the dishes on until they dried. The final straw was the beds and the bedding. It was obvious it had not been changed. It was covered with hair, as if it had been on the bed for weeks. We also experienced the smell. Damp basement is a good analogy. Make sure to bring light bulbs if you decide to stay here, because we found many of them burnt-out when we arrived. I think the owner needs to hire new cleaning and maintenance people, because based on the other reviews, these appears to be ongoing problems. The envelope on the counter from the cleaning people with the note "Tips Appreciated" is laughable.

The beds themselves are like nothing I've ever seen. I'm 5'11' and my wife is 5'3" and our legs hung over the end of the bed. The pillows were awful. Nothing more than foam bits inside a cloth bag. They provide no support at all. We may have slept a couple of hours at best.

The following morning, my wife and I did our best to enjoy Door County as we have many times over the years, but spending one more night in the Fieldstone occupied our thought the entire day. We decided to cut our visit short and head for home. Although it's not easy accepting the feeling we were taken advantage of, my wife and I look at this as a learning experience. Obviously, we will never stay at The Cottage Retreat again, and will not recommend it to our friends or family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mhackbarth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Greatnas. We were very impressed witht the sound system and all the speakers throughout the cabin. We also emjoyed the sauna very much. Our whole family had a great time. We loved the cabin and the setting very much. Many thanks!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Drherlache56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The wooded location was very nice but the accommodations were substandard for the price. The dishes were not clean, old and must have been purchased from numerous garage sales. The linens were even worse. Basic necessities such as dishes and linens don't need to be expensive, but should be clean and usable. I washed all the dishes we used before we used them, unfortunately I couldn't wash the sheets and blankets before we had to use them.
The dead bolt in the basement was broken and so was the screen door lock. It would have provided more security if they had been usable, especially since it was in a heavily wooded and secluded area.
I normally don't write reviews but felt that I should after this stay and the associated cost. If you choose to stay at the Cottage Retreat, don't choose the Gretna. It is simply not worth the money for what is offered.
This cottage has so much potential. Upgraded kitchenware, linens and a proper cleaning would make a huge difference as well as justify the cost.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Spuds33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm207, Public Relations Manager at Door County Cottages, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed and have considered your recommendations. We have our linens professionally laundered and a cleaning service come through after each stay and have talked with them to bring up the standards of cleanliness. And we have repaired/replaced the deadbolt in the basement and lock on the screen door of the cottage you stayed in.

We have also included some recent photos of the different cottages, including the Gretnas where you stayed, so viewers can see the quality of our cottages to decide for themselves.

We hope you stay with us again so you can see the changes and we can meet and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I first stayed at the Cottage Retreat in 1995 and loved it. The Fieldstone, with its glass bottles embedded in the stone walls and the funky "throne room" in the bathroom was the kind of quirky, vintage cottage experience I was after. But more than 10 years later, the place has gone downhill. Dale, the owner, charges the same prices as other area resorts and cottage rentals, but his units are substandard in comparison. For example, we stayed at the Vista in 2008 and it was god-awful. Air conditioning didn't work. Cottage had a bizarre and unwieldy floor plan requiring us to turn sideways to navigate the kitchen (island and table placed close together), a tiny living room with shabby furniture, seriously outdated decor, and the downstairs bedrooms were just depressing. No windows, no pictures on the plain white walls -- just a bed, a nightstand and a cheap particle board dresser, and a ceiling light fixture that was only one notch above a bare light bulb. Not to mention the musty, mildewy smell that permeates the downstairs. Motel 6 looks like Better Homes and Gardens in comparison to those bleak rooms. And don't even get me started on the bathrooms, which didn't even have a place to hang your towel or your roll of T.P. -- seriously, no towel bars or toilet paper holders -- and the bathtubs full of large black spiders. Toilets had to be flushed repeatedly. The entire downstairs seems to be planned around a hot tub room that looks like something from the mid-1970s, complete with "tropical" motif, although I know this cottage was built later than that. But again, the hot tub's dominance of the basement means the bedrooms and bathrooms suffer in comparison and the floor plan, again, is awkward.

I don't know. Maybe The Cottage Retreat stays in business because it's one of the few places in Door County that allows both smoking and pets. But it's definitely not worth the money, in my opinion. It's a shame because the property really has potential, and the Fieldstone (before it was "renovated" and refurbished with hideous "new" blue furniture) used to have a certain charm that made you forget about the hard beds, thrift shop furnishings and general lack of frills.

If you're looking for a nice cottage rental in the Egg Harbor area, check out the Larson Log Cabin, or (for any part of Door County) check the rental offerings through Lundquist Realty or J.R. Vacation Rentals. These properties are individually owned so they are, for the most part, maintained properly and not seedy and outdated like most of the cottages at The Cottage Retreat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maenad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm207, Public Relations Manager at Door County Cottages, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dale was sorry to hear your disappointment and wanted to let you know that the Fieldstone and a number of the other cottages have recently (June, 2011) been redecorated with new, soft leather furniture, and that we've been working to get all the "little" things fixed up and in working order.

We've uploaded a few photos for you to see, and hope you come back and check out the changes in person that we've made.

Also, we do allow pets, but all of our accommodations are non-smoking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardeeville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I agree on most everything that the previous reviewer said. The cabins location is lovely, but it was far from clean. We even found things from the guests before us that the cleaners must have not seen. I was also VERY disappointed that this book that they have in the cabins of guidelines is not on line. We were expected to wash all of our own dishes, which is fine if you are left more than one towel. We had no dish drainer and one towel so it made it very hard to follow guidelines when it says on line that these things are provided. I guess that for the price I was disappointed in what it was and plan on sending a in depth e-mail to the owner not to get any kind of compensation, but to hopefully have him improve it for the next guests.. It is a lovely area and has a lot of wonderful things to offer, (walking paths and a play area for the kids ect..) But it would be even better with a bit more TLC.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverAngel-03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Door County is a nice place to get away before the cooler weather comes in. There are many things to do. We chose the Cottage Retreat as it was the last place with availability for pets. We viewed the website and thought it was a good choice.
For the money, $366/night (including tax), we expected the place to be;
*Clean
*Free of insects
*Odor-free
The cabin was located in a wooded area which was very secluded. This, along with the ability to bring pets was the only plus. Each time we returned to the cabin, we had to spray with Lysol (bring your own if you plan to stay here) because the place smelled of a damp basement. I'm not sure if the place was closed for season and only recently opened, or if it just smelled, but it was obvious that the place hadn't been thoroughtly cleaned for quite some time. Our stay was in September, so it should have been ready for rental as it was near the end of the summer season. In addition to the stench, the most frustrating part of our stay was the spiders. In the washrooms, the spider webs were in most corners of the ceiling, as well as around the light fixtures and in the shower. Several times we experienced spiders parashuting down in front of us. My son was bitten by a spider in the middle of the night and his hand swelled to twice its size. The ceiling fan in the bedroom made such a loud screeching noise that you couldn't turn it on. The windows had dead moths stuck to the screens. The door knobs had something "sticky" on many of them, as well as being quite old. The front door was difficult to open as the lock was so old. The website says that building was completed in 1998. However, the lighting and plumbing fixtures tell a much older story. The upstairs sliding closet door was swinging on the track and could have fallen at any time.
The location was good, very secluded. The space was good, three bedrooms, 2.5 baths. The owner asks that you leave the place as you found it and says "tips are appreciated". When we left, I think we left it cleaner than it was when we arrived. We didn't leave a tip because none was earned and it was an insult to suggest that we leave a tip since the place was not up to par. This could be a charming little getaway if the place was cleaned up, disinfected, and debugged. Maybe put a few bucks into replacing the light switches or getting new door knobs. It's the little things that make a difference. And for the rates charged, these shouldn't be difficult fixes. We expected more for our getaway and couldn't wait to get away from the cabin on our last day. This is the first time that we've vacationed and couldn't wait to get back home. Unfortunately, I would not recommend these accommodations to other travelers. If you have children, consider that this location is in a secluded area and there are spiders and other bugs (millipede and beetle) inside the cabin. Don't forget the Lysol, fly swatter, and bug zapper. And, bring light bulbs, especially for the fixture over the kitchen table, if you want to see what you're eating.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippedup99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
1.2 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
#5 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
44 reviews
12.4 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
9.5 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Door County Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Door County Cottages

Property: Door County Cottages
Address: 7574 Relax Lane, Egg Harbor, WI 54209 (Formerly The Cottage Retreat)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in peaceful seclusion in one of our six cabin rentals. Located only minutes away from both Green Bay and Lake Michigan waters and centrally located in Door County, we are close to restaurants, grocery stores, gas stations, and the best entertainment choices.Inside our cottages, you’ll find wood burning stoves with glass doors, comfortable radiant floor heating, calming air conditioning, HEPA air-to-air exchange systems, antique doors and light fixtures, interior stone walls, oak woodwork, carpeted floors, cathedral ceilings, lofts, sunrooms, multiple living rooms and bathrooms, double-sided fireplaces, and large picture windows affording wonderful panoramic views of the surrounding Door County scenic landscapes. The Door County Cottages’ sleeping areas include king sized beds, queen sized beds, single sized bunk beds, and self-inflating air mattresses that can accommodate additional occupancies. Our kitchens are fully equipped with gas ranges, dinnerware and utensils, and pots and pans for cooking all your meals. Most cabins have two or more bathrooms, and all cottages have private whirlpool tubs and two have saunas. Outside Door County Cottages, you’ll find decks, balconies, patios, Weber grills, and fire pits that will make your evenings relaxing as you view the beautiful Door County countryside. And we are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Door County Cottages Egg Harbor, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing