We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent midweek stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent midweek stay”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

This resort was recommended by a lady in a store selling antiques in Sturgeon Bay and her adivice was on the button. We had a 2 bedroom at the front with a sitting area and kitchen for a great rate. We stayed midweek outside the schoolholidays so the place was quiet and a couple of times I had the pool to myself. But, this would also be a great place for familieswith kids.Staff are friendly and helpful.
The breakfast buffet was basic but there are plenty of restaurants in the town and many within walking distance...........for a evening meal and excellent beer go to Shipwrecked...eat in the bar to get the atmosphere of the place.
This is a good place to visit all the wonderful places in Door County which is a hidden gem for those outside the immediate area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryanll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    106
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
136
113
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

My husband and I attempted to stay at the Newport Resort for our anniversary. He reserved the room on their website, and he received a conformation email. When we arrived to check in, we were told "someone" had called and canceled our reservation. After standing around in the lobby for 20 minutes watching 3 desk clerks scramble around, we were told it was computer error. Unfortunately, there were no more rooms available, so the clerk at Newport Resort sent us to another hotel about 6 miles away. They did offer to pay for our first night stay, so we were happy with that outcome. Until we got to the hotel they set us up at. What a dump! We wanted to have a romantic weekend in a nice suite, but staying an old, dirty, musty, dated and just downright gross hotel did not set the right mood.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank laurenkdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We are a family of four, with one 8-yr-old child and one teen. We really liked our stay in the two-bedroom suite and would come back again. The kids had a blast in the two pools, which were both a pretty-good size. We chose this hotel with condo-sized rooms because of the pools and we were not disappointed. The kids also liked the board games in a little room off of the lobby. There is a small arcade game room. The breakfast is adequate. Coffee, donuts, toast, hot and cold cereal, bagels. We found the staff friendly and helpful, but then, we are from New Jersey-- my kids wanted to know why strangers in Door County were wishing us a good morning.

The living room area was very roomy, with a nice dining table that easily fits 4-6 people. However, the bedrooms were a bit tight because the beds were a bit over-sized for the rooms and there are no closets large enough to store suitcases.

Enjoyed the courtesy bikes. Wish they had kid-sized bikes, though.

Addressing the cleanliness comments: When we checked-in the suite was spotless. Although there was maid service every day as advertised on the website, I did not think it was the full maid service that you might find ,in say, a chain business hotel. They made the beds, emptied the garbage and were very good about providing clean towels. Midweek they asked me if I wanted the sheets changed, and I said yes. I do not think they were vacuuming much or cleaning the bathroom floors every day, and at the end of the week the floors were starting to look grungy. Despite my negative comments, I found the maid service surpassed what I expected. It depends whether you think you have paid for a hotel or a condo. The Newport is sort of a mixture of both. I have paid twice as much for similar-sized condo units in North Carolina and Maryland which provided no maid service at all. (You make your own beds and vacuum your own floors for $300- $400 bucks a night in the Outerbanks or Ocean City).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed here for four nights, requesting the handicapped accessible room. The room was clean, but a little cramped for the wheelchair. For example, the living room was difficult to maneuver without moving furniture so the wheelchair could get through. Also, the wheelchair could fit in the second bedroom doorway, but the bed blocked any access to dressers, t.v., etc. My daughter could just wheel in up against the bed for transfer. If I didn't move her chair out of the way, she would not be able to close the pocket door. The shower has a built in bench, which was nice, but no handheld shower head. The other bedroom was quite nice, and we had a great terrace to sit on in the evening. You overlook cherry orchards, and can hear the music from the nearby performing arts center, which was very nice.

It is a short walk to town, which was very convenient, albeit it is a steep climb back for the wheelchair.

I agree with other travelers to either upgrade the free continental breakfast or get rid of it altogether. The food wasn't the best quality.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mhaase915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We just returned from a three night stay at the Newport Resort, and recommend it to those with kids. "We" consists of four couples -- three with small children, and one older couple -- my family. This review represents the opinions of the whole group.

I will start with the negatives, but they are minor and will not stop us from returning in the future.

1. Whether you take a one-bedroom unit or a two-bedroom unit, your bedroom(s) will be very small. Storage is limited by the fact that the rooms do not accommodate full sized dressers or closets. That said, if you are like my family, your time in the bedroom will be limited to sleeping time. There is too much to do in Door County to sit in any hotel room.

Moreover, the public area of either the one-bedroom or two-bedroom units (consisting of a living room area, an area for a dining room table, and a kitchen) is more than adequate. We held my nephew's birthday party in a two-bedroom unit. Eight adults and four children attended, and the space was adequate.

2. We found it somewhat cheesy that the resort charges $3.00 to rent DVDs from the resort's reasonably sized library.

On to the positives:

1. The resort's facilities are geared for families with children, unlike some Door County resorts/hotels where the child-friendly facilities seem to be an afterthought. There is an indoor swimming pool with a large jacuzzi, as well as an outdoor swimming pool. Even better, there is an indoor play area with a relatively new padded jungle-gym setup that has a ball pit -- which my son did not want to leave. There is also an outdoor playground, which we really didn't use because the indoor play area is so cool. The indoor facilities saved our moods on the (inevitable) rainy Door County day. There is also a video game room with a couple of dated video games; sadly, the pinball machine was out of order.

2. The continental breakfast was good enough. It offered bagels, donuts, cold cereal, oatmeal (packets), juice, coffee and milk -- and it was spotless. In fact, while we were sitting over coffee chatting, staff came in more than once and tidied up. Door County is full of restaurants and bakeries offering delicious breakfast food, but when we didn't want to venture out, we did not feel ripped off by the continental breakfast.

3. The location is fabulous. My family has been vacationing in Door County for more than 20 years (much, much longer if you count my parents' experience), and we have watched its character change, with some sadness. There has been an explosion of "upscale" establishments and a building boom aimed clearly at wealthier patrons. Although this boom has brought many more fine galleries and decent restaurants, we have preferred to vacation on the quieter lake side of the peninsula (i.e. Bailey's Harbor) and avoid the increasing hustle and bustle of the bay side (Egg Harbor, Fish Creek, Ephraim, Sister Bay). However, the addition of young children to our traveling party has changed our priorities; we are now looking for convenient access to things children like and need. The Newport Resort is literally one block off the main drag of Egg Harbor, and within walking distance of a grocery store, restaurants and all sorts of kitschy chotchka shops. This gave us the flexibility to take the kids with us for dinner and interesting walks without having to worry too much about blowing bedtimes. Also, the drive-in theater is five minutes up Highway 42. Finally, County Highway E, which runs straight across the peninsula to Bailey's Harbor and Jacksonport, starts in Egg Harbor, so there are easy options for escaping the congestion along Highway 42 .

4. I have read some reviews critical of the Newport Resort's staff. We found everybody friendly and accommodating -- from setting up our reservation to check-out. Perhaps there is new management, but our interactions with the staff were uniformly positive.

If you are looking to transplant your life in Chicago (or whatever other big city you are coming from), you probably don't belong at the Newport -- or Door County altogether. If you need a clean, well-appointed base of operations for a family vacation, you should give the Newport a try.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JBern52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

chose this hotel for the rooms and pool. family of 6 (kids ages 6, 4, 2, and 9 mo.). inside and outside pools were very nice. the play area was alot of fun for kids these ages. also, they have a nice outdoor playset. rooms were a good size to accomodate us. staff at the desk were friendly enough and willing to help with questions regarding door co. and the town. breakfast was good, although there were not any healthy options - donuts, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, bagels, regular cream cheese, english muffins, jelly, peanut butter, and boiled eggs. no fruit, yogurt - anything healthy. while we were there i noticed an ant in my bed, but didnt think much of it. next day we left and when we got home and took our dirty clothes out of the garbage bag there were TONS of ants. TONS!! sickening. called the hotel and told them about it and which room we were in so they could get it sprayed. they just said thanks for calling and that's it....no apology or anything - oh well - honestly, i dont think the people working at the desk are the sharpest tools in the shed and that is probably why people are thinking they are unfriendly. sorry, but i just think they are not very smart and sadly dont know much about customer service.
also, we were in room 114 and the wireless internet was spotty and frustrating. although, sometimes it worked better than the internet at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvthecarribean!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee wi
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Was curious after reading some of the negative reviews, wondering what could be so bad....loved the accommodations, didn't find it to be cramped at all. The only negative was the crabby dark haired lady at the front desk. But since there wasn't a whole lot of interaction with her it didn't matter. The other staff people were gracious.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babaloo1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
193 reviews
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
693 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
341 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
222 reviews
13.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Property: Newport Resort
Address: 7888 Church St, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing