We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families”
Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed 7/12/13 – 7/15/13 in a two bedroom suite. (There were four of us – 2 adults and 2 kids ages 16 and 14). First, this is not a high end hotel. The finishing’s and furniture are nice but not high end. That said it is the perfect place for families. The two bedrooms were spacious – we liked having a “family room” and loved having the kitchen. The room was clean. The pool is nice as well. They also have new BBQ grills which we didn’t use. The location is great in Egg Harbor. It’s not on the water but makes up for it by offering the spacious suites. I would definitely stay here again with the kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLR1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    108
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
140
114
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My daughter and I shared a one bedroom unit. There was a sofa bed , a full kitchen, dining table and a patio with a table and 4 chairs plus the bedroom and large bathroom. It was very clean and very comfortable. The manager on down were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast (included) was just ok. I would stay there again! We liked the location. There wasn't the constant hub bub of Fish Creek. Egg Harbor is a nice community and just minutes away from the other towns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul, mn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were looking for a place that would suit our family of four--including a teenage boy and an 8-year old girl who LOVES to swim. Newport had it all--indoor AND outdoor pools (the outdoor closes at 8 pm so the noise doesn't bug anyone late into the night), indoor and outdoor playgrounds (ball pit!), bikes on the porch to use, a tiny game room with 4 arcade games, and FREE Wi-fi. There is a light continental breakfast if you want it, and the rooms have full kitchens so you have that option as well. There is even a guest laundry and regular housekeeping service. The resort is walking distance to shops and restaurants, and Egg Harbor's fireworks were easily seen from the front lawn. The Egg Harbor public beach is clean and the water is crystal clear, though a bit chilly. Egg Harbor itself is peaceful, compared to the bustling crowds of Fish Creek, so it is a great place to use as a home base for exploring Door County.

We were greeted by a very friendly, helpful staff member, who immediately saw that we had been charged for two additional people when our kids should have been free. He took that off right away. The rooms were very nice and had everything we needed, though next time we will definitely opt for the two-bedroom rather than the one. Staff was also helpful with restaurant tips, etc.

My only complaints: 1. The air-conditioner does not cool as well as I would have liked. It was impossible to get a cross-breeze with the window all on one side, and the A/C unit is in the living room, so the bedroom got stuffy even with the ceiling fan on. 2. Housekeeping was a bit hit-or-miss; we opened the dishwasher to load it and found the previous renter's dirty dishes. Gross.
My only caveat: If you want to be right on the water, this is not the place for you. That is the only reason I would stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The bedrooms are small, so you may feel crowded if you are also using the living room as a bedroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stpaulisteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Every time we interacted with staff they were helpful and friendly. They gave great restaurant recommendations. Our 2 bedroom 2 bath unit was spacious, well maintained and clean. The property had nice amenities, with bikes for our use, and indoor and outdoor pool and picnic grounds. The location was perfect, very easy to walk to town and the marina. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room on the end and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNtraveler077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed the last week end of June. Only two blocks from the main street. Very friendly staff. Rooms were great. On the weekend you may be able to listen to an open air concert next door. Breakfast just enough to get you on the road. And remember, you have your own kitchen. Air conditioned, fireplace for ambience, TVs if you want them. We had a very large balcony. Coffee available 24 hours. Pools indoor and out. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here two nights for a short honeymoon. Everyone was extremely friendly, we loved the pools and hot tub, the full kitchen is great, and we were close to many great shops and restaurants. My only complaint is the ants. We got there and saw a few tiny ones in the bathroom. No biggie. It got a little more frustrating as time went on and we'd keep finding them on our stuff. Ants aside, we'll be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect Heights, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My son and I spent three days at this pleasant resort. It is off the water, but that accounts for the reasonable rates. The surroundings, however, are quite scenic: green fields and cherry orchards. Our two-bedroom, two-bath suite was impeccably clean, and the housekeeping staff saw that it stayed that way. I don't know how old this facility is, but everything looks brand new. Well, maybe not the old tube TVs in the bedrooms, but they were adequate, and there is a large flat-screen in the living room. The through-the-wall air conditioners in the living room and the king bedroom are a bit noisy, but tolerable. But given the usually lovely weather conditions, you often don't need them. Just open the windows or go out on the balcony and enjoy the breeze. The location is fine, just one block from Trio, an upscale restaurant, and two blocks to the town center, which includes a wonderful grocery, the Main Street Market, and the harbor side park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
202 reviews
13.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
743 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
229 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Property: Newport Resort
Address: 7888 Church St, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing