We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just out of the way enough”
Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Surprised my wife for her 40th birthday with a trip here in September. The hotel was just off the main drag of Egg Harbor. But close to everything. If I can recommend travelling to Door County, this is definitely the time of year to do it. Fall Colors and weather was perfect. Our Suite had a private balcony. Spent 2 peaceful mornings sipping coffee, bird watching and basking in the beautiful fall colors. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Newport Resort for your special get away!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Newport Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 339 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

We came to the Newport for our honeymoon and it was very nice! We spent a lot of time around Door County but Newport was great "home base". We stayed only for a weekend. The suite style room was awesome, and the fireplace and kitchen made it homey and comfortable. And the bathtub was amazing!

It was a disappointment to my husband that he was not able to smoke on the balcony of the hotel. We made sure to book a room with a balcony so that he would have a place to go, and he of course knew not to smoke in the room. We didn't really understand why it wouldn't have been okay to smoke on the balcony since it was outside, but I assume there is a good reason.

Room Tip: our room was upstairs on the farthest west side. no bright sun waking us up and it was quiet and of...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I booked a suite for a Saturday night to spend the weekend in DC to celebrate our anniversary and this place didn't disappoint at all. Glad we booked ahead because they had no vacancy sign up. They said we could check in early and we did as rooms were ready early as promised. Upon arrival we found out we ended up getting a 2 bd suite instead of 1 bdrm on first floor. It had a kitchenette, family room had gas fireplace with flat screen, and 2 baths - 1 with shower, 1 with 2 person whirlpool tub and 2 bdrms each with TVs. The decor was updated and the whole place was very cozy. We really enjoyed the gas FP and whirlpool tub on a chilly night though you should know the tub is in bathroom and looked smaller than in pics...probably due to 2 bedrooms. If it were warmer I'm sure the patio would've been nice to enjoy. Everything was very clean. Towels were fluffier than most. Front desk people were super nice and able to make good recommendations about where to eat. For a close place if you are craving pizza, Villagio's is only a few miles north and really good. We really didn't use kitchen much only staying 1 night but it was nice to have wine glasses on hand for the wine we bought and a nice fridge for the pizza leftovers. It was a real nice location with lots of shops and places to eat within walking distance and short drive to lots of the other DC towns. It was a great value at $99 on a Saturday night. We will definitely come back with kids next time as they would enjoy the pool and indoor play area. It would also be convenient to be able to cook and save money on eating out.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennmmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at Newport Resort on Trip Advisor. We look forward to having your family stay with us in the future. The children will love the pools and playland!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I read many reviews for cabins, hotels, motels, and resorts as well as posts in the Door County travel forum before selecting Newport Resort. We were happy with our selection. The resort is not new and could use a little maintenance and TLC, but our one-bedroom condo was clean and provided just enough space for our four-day visit to Door County. I splurged a little for an upstairs unit and was glad not to have overhead footsteps, but no real view was gained.

My photos will show our accomodations, so I'll let them speak for me. We were very happy to have a complimentary breakfast every morning before beginning our day's activities, and we were glad to have a kitchen for preparing our own dinner some evenings so that we would not have to eat all of our meals out. The location within walking distance to Main Street and the harbor was ideal; since the resort is one block off the main road, traffic noise was not an issue.

Regarding resort ammenities, the pool and hot tub were fine, but the hot tub jets could be better placed -- too bad there was no variety of heights to acknowledge the varying height and aches of the guests. The pool room was light and clean with an ample supply of towels. The buildings had laundry rooms on the second and third floors; it was a little disappointing to find only one washer and dryer in each laundry room. I spent 5 hours one afternoon/evening checking every half hour for an available machine. When the machine was finally available, I had to remove the clothes of another guest who did not return for their clean clothes. The most aggravating feature of the resort was the inconsistent internet connectivity. We were not the only guests who had to go to the lobby to keep a connection. During our entire 4-day stay, the connection never improved though the problem was reported.

Would we recommend Newport Resort -- certainly. Would we return -- definitely. The value obtained for the price paid was good, and the convenience of having a condo provided all we needed for an active visit to the towns and parks in Door County.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was a negative review on this hotel thatmade me want to stay there because that review just showed the reviewer was not very smart and "Wow" was I shocked at how great the Newport Resort is.

The room was a beautiful one bedroom condo with a full kitchen, a fireplace (which was great due the the cold weather) Televisions in both the bedroom and a large flat screen above the fireplace and a huge tub in the bathroom with very soft towels.

The rates were too good to be true and the lady on the front desk was wonderful.

We look forward to going back and stay longer, as it was like going home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coachpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

These suites really make you feel at home. There is a separate living area with fire place, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. The rooms are very clean and the bed is very comfortable. The staff is great and your every need is taken care of quickly. There is a breakfast room, but no restaurant. There is a nice indoor pool and jacuzzi. The outdoor pool looks nice, but is currently covered for winter. There is a game room with 4 games, and a small exercise room.

This resort is in Egg Harbor, within walking distance of the downtown area. We are here now, the last weekend of October. Some of the shops are closed, including The Chocolate Chicken (which I wanted to check out). I was told by the front desk that area businesses are starting to close for the winter season. We did go to Shipwrecked to eat. Their microbrew, Shipwrecked Cherry Wheat was excellent!!! This beer was worth the trip, if nothing else. They have mac n cheese on the menu that is excellent (with a beer cheese fondue type cheese sauce). Very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GandYMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing your great experience at Newport Resort!!! While a number of businesses close for the winter here in Egg Harbor nine restaurants and twenty two shops/galleries stay open through the winter season at least on the weekends. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend over the annual pumpkin festival weekend. The hotel is only a block from the main road where all the shops, restaurants and bars are located. We reserved a nice two bedroom with kitchenette and living room on the second level. The room itself was laid out nice with bedrooms on both sides of the living room/kitchen. The owners and the front desk were a great help with restaurant selections. They do have a nice continental breakfast each morning. The hotel is very well maintained and clean. The indoor pool and hot tub was very nice and the hours were great. We would stay here again and see the Fall colors. If you do stay here we would recommend head to Casey’s for a nice drink and lunch (smoked brisket)!!

Room Tip: We liked second floor with the bedrooms separted by the living room and kitchen.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank backus2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
215 reviews
13.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
785 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Address: 7888 Church St, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range: $93 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing