We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Pleased.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here while attending a wedding in mid September. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was very nice The suite also featured a kitchenette and a sitting area with a gas fireplace which we turned on one evening. Very cozy on chilly evening. The bedrooms are small but beds are quite comfortable. Linens smelled a little antiseptic but at least you know they are clean. One thing I did not like was that the the light switch to the bathroom is actually behind the door so finding your way in duriing the middle of the night can be somewhat awkward. Our room was hot the first night and the window air conditioner did not appear to work that well. The desk clerk explained to us that it was due to the outside air temperature which had dropped down to the low forties that night. She said that the outside air is drawn into the air conditioner and the air conditioner thermostat senses the cold temperture and therefore does not acutally work to produce and release cooler air. That is my technical interpretation but makes sense in my odd sort of way!!! Anyway, it was quite easy to open the window the next night. Pluses to the room: Very clean, gas fireplace, cute balcony, whirlpool tub, seemed very quiet in the room despite no vacancies, complementary coffee (please get rid of the styrofoam cups!). There is also a continental breakfast served where you can grab a sweetroll and a small box of cereal. Very minimal! Service very good. The hairdryer did not work in the room and the wall unit was replaced immediately with a working dryer after a quick phone call to the front desk. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is bright and sunny,not musty smelling like so many other Door County properties that do not get much sun. It is clean and the staff friendly. Location is one block off the main highway and you can walk to a supermarket, restaurants and shops. Price was very reasonable. We stayed without kids but it looked like it had an indoor and outdoor pool, and a game room. There is also a small exercise room with a few treadmills and other equipment. It is not the Ritz Carlton but one of the nicest places I have been to in Door County in a long time.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 227.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    106
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
136
113
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milw, WI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our room (117) was nice and comfortable except that the temperature of the room was unbearably HOT! The air conditioning was inadequate and all attempts to turn whatever heat might be on was done. We did not contact the hotel staff because we were gone most of our stay at wedding functions. Fortunately, a high wind warning, few bugs, and 50 degree temps, allowed us to open the patio door and screened windows to let in air when we were in the room. I am usually a freezy-cat, so this was indeed a problem. I would be hesitant to return here during warmer temps and humid conditions. Otherwise, just as most reviewers said here, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am happy to know you enjoyed your stay! More important is I apprecieate you letting us know via Trip Advisor that the thermostate in your suite may be defective. Only wish we would of known during your time here so we could of corrected the problem and made your room more confortable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is our 3rd visit and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all of the amenities like home. The pool and whirlpool are a great escape, clean and well maintained. The staff is and has always been very friendly and helpful. Love the library/game area. My husband and I love to play games, so every year we wander down there, play a game and relax with a cup of cappacino.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Newport Resort. We stayed there based on a recommendation from friends. Our suite was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The entire facility seemed very well maintained. We were there mid-week after the start of the school year, so there were very few children there during our stay. But, with the indoor pool, outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor playgrounds, and small video game room, it appears to be a good choice for families. Newport doesn't have the water view offered by some Door County facilities, but it also isn't as pricey as a similar property with a water view. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is pretty basic. Since neither my wife nor I are big breakfast eaters it wasn't really a problem, but if you want a nice breakfast you'll want to go elsewhere. The location is convenient and within reasonable walking distance to the business area in Egg Harbor for most people. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and felt that the Newport is a good value for Door County lodging. We will definitely consider Newport next time we visit Door County.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishBob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have been coming to Newport Resort for the past 3 years and always have a wonderful experience. The staff is super awesome and always willing to help or just have a conversation. The rooms are up to date and very comfy and cozy (just like home). When you walk though the door it is welcoming and clean. Both pool areas are kept up well and towels are always readily available. The continental breakfast is a plus and a great way to start your morning before heading into beautiful door county for your day! Newport Resort is also in the perfect location, it's nice to be able to walk somewhere to grab a bite to eat or shop. So if your planning a trip to door county don't pass up the opportunity to stay at Newport Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you!!! Sharing family time and creating memories in Door County is the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom room with a nice layout. It was nice to have a full kitchen, dining room table and 2 bathrooms. Our biggest complaint was the place was dirty. The showers were a bit dirty and they needed to clean the shower heads, as hardly any water was coming out of the one in the master bedroom. There was visible stains on the floor in the kitchen, which we needed to clean up ourselves. When we walked around without socks after our showers our feet we getting dirty. The pool and whirlpool needed to be cleaned. there was stuff settling on the bottom of the whirlpool that was unexplainable. Yes, we did call and ask for our room to be cleaned. We even left a better tip than we normally do, but that didn't help. The place needed to be updated more. They did have new furniture and looked like fresh paint, but more could be done. The staff who checked us in, were great and nice. The person we talked to ask to have our room cleaned, was a bit short, but think it was shock, because we did in person with other people at the counter. Next year when we go back to Door County we will try a different place to stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DOA1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We decided at the last mint to visit Door, so our hotel options werevery limited. The Newport Resort was a VERY pleasant surprise our one-bedroom suite had a fully-equipped kitchen, jacuzzi tub and comfortable king-sized bed. My only real complaint was with the breakfast, which was starch heaven with an excess of bread, muffins, donuts, sweet cereals and instant oatmeal, no fruit whatsoever and only whole milk and some of the weakest coffee I've had in a long time. There were low-fat yogurt and hard-boiled eggs, but, on the whole, breakfast could use some improvement. That said, I'd definitely stay here again ( and bringy own breakfast foods to cook in my kitchen!)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarianTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy D, Manager at Newport Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Newport Resort and felt it was a great value. I am sorry the continental breakfast did not meet your expecations. We offer a simple continental breakfast year round to get your day going. Guests do love the having the full kitchens in all of our suites and nearby restaurants for alternative breakfast choices. We appreciate your comments and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
13.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Property: Newport Resort
Address: 7888 Church St, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing