We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Couple of Quirks, But a Fine Place”
Review of Newport Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Couple of Quirks, But a Fine Place”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Newport Resort's location near "downtown" Egg Harbor--about a block and a half east of 42-- makes it very handy for walking to shops, restaurants, and the marina; the nice little Egg Harbor Beach is just a two-minute drive away. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast, while basically consisting of the same items one gets at a chain motel, at least offers the chance to get something in you before you start your day. The pools and children's play area are nice, too, and having an indoor pool as well as an outdoor one helps if the weather doesn't cooperate. Rooms are clean, and pretty quiet. We found it odd, though, that one of the bedrooms in our two-bedroom suite didn't have an A/C unit, while the other bedroom and the living room did; fortunately, it wasn't very warm when we visited, so we didn't really need it. But larger groups traveling in the heat of the summer might have a problem. The room also had a lot of doors and furniture taking up quite a bit of space, making travel between rooms awkward at times. And like many other Door County lodgings, there's not a lot of counter space in the bathrooms. Still, on the whole, this is a fine place and we would certainly consider going back there for our next trip.

Room Tip: When renting a two-bedroom, if you need A/C, be sure to ask whether your sleeping room has a unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaneCountyCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    112
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
147
115
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Every single person at the resort goes out of their way to make you feel like you are at your own personal condo even though you are a registered guest. Our travelers LOVE it every time we visit. Each room has a full kitchen, whirpool bath and a great view with a walk out deck. We stop by the Main Street Market to get goodies and they can even cook a hot breakfast if they want more than the continental breakfast offered in the rate. Our travelers feel like they are experiencing the peninsula as a regular rather than as a tourist.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StLTourGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was my third trip to Door County and so far my favorite lodging choice! We stayed in a 2 bedroom premium suite, great price due to off season rates. As is true in all off door county, prices will be much high in the peak season everywhere.
The property is well maintained, both inside and out. The decor is a little dated in hallways but was very clean, the suite itself had new furniture in the living area, the rest of the suite was very clean. Beds were a little hard, but overall pretty decent.
Love having the full kitchen as an option. Usually we eat all out meals in to save money, but since we have such a good rate on the room, we choose to eat our more of our meals this time.
Pool area is great, we were often the only people using the space. I'm sure that would change when the hotel is full. There is also and indoor play area for children and and outdoor playground, both adjacent to the pool. There is also and outdoor pool, but too cold to use that when we were there.
The fitness center is a nice perk. The treadmill and bike were in good shape and they have a universal weight machine that is nice. The elliptical machine sounded like it could use some maintenance.
The free continental breakfast consists of breads, donuts and pastries, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, oatmeal and coffee and juice. There are not "hot" breakfast options that are becoming more popular, but it's a nice offering for a light breakfast. The whole wheat bread was fabulous!
There is also a grilling area outside with 4 gas grills, which is also another nice option.
Overall, i would highly recommend this resort. Easy walk to all of egg harbors shops, restaurants and the main town harbor!

Room Tip: I would highly suggest paying for the premium suite, all are on the second floor and face the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is one of the best kept secrets, it's not the Ritz but oh so comfortable. Clean and quiet both inside and out. Great amenities and suitable for all ages.

Room Tip: My sister and I stayed in a 2 bedroom suite #213 2 BR 2 Bath large covered porch faces large open fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eej19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This resort has two RCI affiliated rooms one of which we booked into. The staff was very nice and helpful and our stay was very nice. They offer a simple continental breakfast have an indoor and outdoor pool (the later of which was not yet filled); a small arcade area, small (McDonalds style ball pit and climbing tubes for younger kids and an fitness room. It is within walking distance of town and several restaurants. The room/suite was very nice: two bedrooms (a king and a queen), though the rooms were a little cramped; two baths, one whirlpool tub, one shower-tub; full gally kitchen which even had an ice maker in the frig; the dining/ living room had a fireplace and nice patio balcony. Everything was modern, in good shape, and clean. Although no activities were organized by the resort there was plenty of information on local attractions most of which are within 10-30 minutes from Egg Harbor (including six other towns, parks, golf courses shopping and water activities. We were very happy with the accomodations.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom, two bath suite in the rear. The front may afford a little nicer view but non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontheroadagain47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADISON
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We decided to take a trip with our grandsons. They loved the inside and outside play areas and pool area. We all watched CDs (that we rented at the front desk) on the living room tv. Wonderful time, another memory was created!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #111. It has a beautiful scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaver dam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My wife and I decided to book a 2-night getaway at the Newport Resort in Door County during my Spring Break. I saw their advertisement on the Internet and decided to give the place a try since we like Egg Harbor as our favorite place to stay in Door County. We were very pleased with our stay at this resort. The price was great. The suite had a great little kitchen and living room with a large tv over the fireplace. We enjoyed the porch and the great view from it. I enjoyed the workout I was able to get in at their fitness room. We stayed at the Mariner in Egg Harbor for over 20 years, but that is closed and for sale so we went looking for a new place to stay in Egg Harbor. I think we found a good one. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, too. We will be back this summer with our kids.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PackerBacker34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
211 reviews
13.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
234 reviews
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
767 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Resort

Property: Newport Resort
Address: 7888 Church St, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and Two Bedroom suites with king beds, fully equipped full sized kitchen, living area with 37" flat panel TV, whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and private deck. Great for families with many amenities; outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness room and property wide complimentary high speed internet. Children's indoor play park and outdoor playground. Free continental breakfast. Great location walking distance to Door County shops, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Egg Harbor
Newport Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing