We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic suite”
Review of Cornerstone Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Egg Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cornerstone Suites
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband and I traveled to this B& B in 2009 and we are going back this spring with our children because we loved it so much. We usually don't go back to the same place twice preferring to try some place new, but we thought our kids would love this place as well.

I'll do this in pro and con format to make it easy to see. We stayed in the very large cornerstone suite - two bedrooms, large living room, two bathrooms, full stocked kitchen, private whirlpool in the old silo, private small deck on second level, and a sitting room on the third level. Must be able to negotiate stairs to stay here.

Pros: Very large, clean, quaint antique decorations, pleasant views from the multiple large windows, quiet, relaxing, close to door county attractions, TV, Private two person whirl pool in old silo - nicely done farm painting encompasses entire room, fully working good size kitchen, dining area, large living room with large picture windows and comfortable seating, privacy.

Cons: No breakfast included - but there is a fully working kitchen so not really an issue. We never saw the staff - not even once. They came and cleaned while we were out and we left our check (or was it credit card?) out on the counter for them to charge us. When we arrived the room was open so we did not need to seek staff out. That said we never needed the staff either. There is an antique store on the lower level and I suspect it's only open during the summer - which is probably why we never saw anyone as we were there in the spring.

In conclusion: a very nice place, very reasonably priced for size and amenities, loved the private whirlpool. If you want staff that can help make recommendations of events/sights in the area probably not the best place for you. Everything neat, clean, cute but I wouldn't call it fancy - just pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler53719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed at Cornerstone Suites first weekend of October. It's a barn converted into 4 suites. We were in the Sweet Clover.
First of all, we arrived at night in the rain. It was quite hard to find, the sign is small and not lit. Luckily, I had looked at google earth with street view so I had an idea of what it looked like from the road. Although the address is for Egg Harbor, it's about 5 miles south of the town. It's in the middle of nowhere, not within walking distance to any shopping, bars, or restaurants.
Our suite was on the 2nd floor with the entrance from an outside stairwell, again not lit and when not familiar with where to go, it made for an interesting trek. The office closes at 4:00 pm, so no one to ask. I did inform them we would be arriving later in the evening so the keys were left on the table with the door left unlocked.
Once inside, the 2 level room was spacious. First floor consisted of a living area with couch, side chair, TV/VCR/DVD combo, gas log stove and full kitchen, including a dishwasher. Loft area contained a queen bed with soaking tub in bedroom and a bathroom with separate shower/tub. The walls between the sleeping area and bathroom did not go to the ceiling, so there was no full privacy when using the bathroom.
The suite was kept extremely clean, however there was a musty smell. The bedroom faced a busy highway only a couple hundred yards away, so traffic noise could be heard all night.
Because we like to be at a resort that has more amenities (pool, outdoor sitting area, close to dining, bars, I would not return. We received a gift certificate for our stay. I research endlessly before booking a vacation and this would not have been my choice. If all you're looking for is a place to sleep that is more spacious than a standard hotel room, in the middle of a field, with no activities offered, then the Cornerstone Suites would be for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Awesome stay...definitely a hidden gem in Door County...I shouldn't even be writing this because I don't want people to know!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THEBSTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

I highly recommend this property to anyone interested in staying in Door County. It's only a couple miles south of Egg Harbor, WI and it right of Hwy 42. We ended up staying in two of the suites because they didn't have one suite that was available both nights. The owners
were very accomodating - they even let us check in for our second night at 8:30am because the other people staying in the suite had checked out early and they were done cleaning already. Each one of the suites is different from the others and they are done in a rustic/country style, but not too "cutesy". Both suites that we stayed in were comfortable and very spacious.

The cornerstone suite (the signature one) is upstairs, has a full kitchen, dining area and attached living room, two bedrooms, a bath and 1/2, a whirlpool (in the silo, and no, I'm not kidding - it has a wrap around mural of a barnyard scene), and a sitting room above the whirlpool in the sile. The kitchen is complete with dishwasher, fridge (full size), micro, and stove/oven. Dishes, towels and all cleanup items are also included (as well as silverware, wine tool, etc., and the coffee maker!!!).

We had an excellent stay. The only downside we found was that the beds are all queen-size, so if you are used to a king, it's a little smaller. Aside from that, the service was good, and the rooms were great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Our stay was in the Garden Suite and took place later in August of this year.

The suite is very spacious. It has three levels, with the bedroom and bath located on the second level. The third level houses a sitting room, while the first level houses a small kitchen and dining area.

It's located next to Highway 42, which is both a negative and a plus. The noise from passing vehicle is present in the cupola room if you have the windows open. The closeness of the road is a plus at night, when you return from a long day of sightseeing on the peninsula.

The owners need to work on their people skills a little. We didn't receive an overly warm welcome, it was more business-like...informing us what the remaining balance was (and this is at check-in, not check-out) and informing us where our room was located. No smiles, no small talk...just the basics.

Also, I'm not sure if the owners live next door, but the house located adjacent to the property needs to be "spruced up" a little. There are a number of old vehicles, an old boat, and such within veiw of the rooms. The grounds around the facility are pretty sparse also...some flowers or shrubs would help considerably.

Also, the door to the bedroom in the Garden Suite has a glass window and is flanked on the side by smaller windows. There are no curtains on these windows, which doesn't allow for any privacy if you have a family (as opposed to a couple) staying there.

All in all, it wasn't an unpleasant experience. I wouldn't stay there again, as the amount that we paid ($150/night), would get you more comfort in other resort settings elsewhere on the peninsula.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNTravelersMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
3.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
228 reviews
3.5 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
830 reviews
9.7 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
15.3 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Suites

Address: 6960 Hwy 42, Egg Harbor, WI
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cornerstone Suites Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing