We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty from the outside; could use some updating inside”
Review of The Ashbrooke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ashbrooke
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 4, 2011

An earlier review mentioned that this hotel was built in the early 90's. Very true (seafoam green and burgandy floral decor; pleated lampshades; a woven willow heart decoration in the bathroom, etc.). There is no luggage rack, which isn't a huge deal if you don't mind hefting your suitcase onto the bed or kneeling on the floor every time you need something from it. The hotel has an "unattended" feeling (staff is sparse), but everything is very clean. We did not have a whirlpool room, but could hear the low hum of others running in nearby rooms. If you are over 5'5", you'll have to do a backbend to wash your hair in the shower, since the showerhead is mounted low. I don't mean to sound so negative and picky, but I guess I was hoping for something a little more updated. Things I loved: the double-sided fireplace in the Grand Suite, the sparkling pool, and the landscaping.

Room Tip: Prepaying online saves you 10%.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for The Ashbrooke
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 395 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

After reading quite a few reviews, we decided on the Asbrooke for our two night stay during the week last week. We weren't disappointed. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. We were on the first floor, a standard room. We were just steps from the computer/reading room, great for quickly checking emails, and places to go in DC. We were also close to the indoor pool, which was great for early morning swims before we started our day. There is also a small fitness center.
It IS a very quiet location. We were concerned that we faced the main street, but it wasn't a problem at all. The grounds are lovely. We enjoyed the gazebo and the swinging benches. The hotel is NOT on the water, but there is a park very close by where we watched a beautiful sunset. The one down side is the very skimpy "breakfast". They serve coffee and what seemed to be prepackaged donuts and muffins. They didn't even have juice.
Overall we loved this hotel and it was in a great location, walking distance to the center of town, and easy driving distance to Fish Creek and the other locations on the west side of the peninsula.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LosAngelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The Ashbrooke lived up to our expectations. A great place to stay while visiting Door County. It is conveniently located in Egg Harbor, close to restaurants and shops. The rooms are attractively decorated and absolutely clean. We absolutely loved that it is an adult only facility. There was no noise whatsoever, allowing for a good night's sleep. The only downfall is that they do not serve a breakfast. The muffins are very good, but not something we like to eat for breakfast. Head into Julie's in Fish Creek for a great breakfast - only a 10 minute drive and well worth it. We would definitely return to the Ashbrooke and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RS_mentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Ashbrooke for two nights recently in one of the hotel's suites. Partly because The Ashbrooke is adults only (no one under 16 years of age), the place was quiet as a church. Although the hotel is right off the highway, we had an inside facing room on the first floor that overlooked a lovely courtyard. We even had a small deck with a table and a couple of chairs to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. Inside, the room was spacious and comfortable, well equipped with quality materials and a large, two-person whirlpool tub. The digital heating/AC thermostat responded promptly and accurately to our own temperature choices (my wife likes a very cool bedroom).

The king size bed felt a little firm to me the first night, perhaps because we have a memory foam mattress at home, but unnoticed the second night. Very good sleeping quality truly.

In many ways, including the hands on management by the owners, The Ashbrooke feels like a large, well-run B&B. In that sense it is the best of both worlds: the privacy of an elegant hotel and the warmth and family atmosphere of a top notch B&B.

If you are visiting Door County, Wisconsin, staying at The Ashbrooke will ensure that your nights are pleasant and rejuvenating.

Room Tip: This two-story hotel has no elevator so older travelers and those with a lot of luggage may prefer a...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunnily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We just returned from a nice getaway in Door County. We have stayed at the Ashbrooke a number of times in the past and always enjoy it. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated (though the decor is a little dated). We really appreciated having a small fridge and sink. Next time I would opt for a room with a patio area because the pool area and deck do not allow beverages. The pool area and deck are very quiet, clean and relaxing.
Ashbrooke is a great location. We walked into Egg Harbor for dinner and shopping multiple times. It is great not to have to worry about parking on a busy weekend. The only minor complaint I have is the light breakfast they put out is not very good - very limited selection and tasted like something out of box.
Overall, we were very happy with our stand and we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: In summer get room with a room with outdoor seating.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Ashbrooke is a lovely hotel set on beautifully landscaped grounds. There is a gazebo and sitting areas for relaxing with coffee and a good book or a glass of wine and friends for great conversation. The entire enviroment draws one in and envelopes you with calm.
Rooms were large, very clean, several televisions, DVD and had a nice whirlpool tub for two. The bottle of Champagne sent from friends was set in our room, on ice and ready upon our arrival. What a wonderful honeymoon destination!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We spent our July 4th long weekend at the Ashbrooke and enjoyed the quiet, central location. The grounds were very pretty and immaculately kept. We found the service to be excellent and friendly. We used the indoor pool and whirlpool several times and also lounged on the outdoor deck. Towels by the pool would be a nice addition, but we just brought those from our room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDW_KSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
339 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
215 reviews
8.7 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
5.2 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
11.7 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbrooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbrooke

Address: 7942 State Highway 42, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range: $160 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashbrooke 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ashbrooke, "Just for the Two of You". Our renowned attention to detail and unyielding commitment to excellence prove everyday that quality, comfort and courteous hospitality still count. Your escape to The Ashbrooke will renew your faith in customer service, and your stay will be an unforgettable experience. Your search for a great getaway stops here at The Ashbrooke, located on the beautiful Door County peninsula, the best Wisconsin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ashbrooke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbrooke Hotel Egg Harbor
Ashbrooke Egg Harbor
Ashbrooke Hotel Egg Harbor
The Ashbrooke Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing