We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Quiet Escape”
Review of The Ashbrooke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ashbrooke
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, WI
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean & Quiet Escape”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We just returned from a nice getaway in Door County. We have stayed at the Ashbrooke a number of times in the past and always enjoy it. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated (though the decor is a little dated). We really appreciated having a small fridge and sink. Next time I would opt for a room with a patio area because the pool area and deck do not allow beverages. The pool area and deck are very quiet, clean and relaxing.
Ashbrooke is a great location. We walked into Egg Harbor for dinner and shopping multiple times. It is great not to have to worry about parking on a busy weekend. The only minor complaint I have is the light breakfast they put out is not very good - very limited selection and tasted like something out of box.
Overall, we were very happy with our stand and we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: In summer get room with a room with outdoor seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    103
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
334
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Ashbrooke is a lovely hotel set on beautifully landscaped grounds. There is a gazebo and sitting areas for relaxing with coffee and a good book or a glass of wine and friends for great conversation. The entire enviroment draws one in and envelopes you with calm.
Rooms were large, very clean, several televisions, DVD and had a nice whirlpool tub for two. The bottle of Champagne sent from friends was set in our room, on ice and ready upon our arrival. What a wonderful honeymoon destination!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We spent our July 4th long weekend at the Ashbrooke and enjoyed the quiet, central location. The grounds were very pretty and immaculately kept. We found the service to be excellent and friendly. We used the indoor pool and whirlpool several times and also lounged on the outdoor deck. Towels by the pool would be a nice addition, but we just brought those from our room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDW_KSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here for one night. Great staff, lovely grounds, and very clean room and bathroom. Only complaint was the very loud exhaust fan in the bathroom that turned on when the light was on. Made it hard to converse from room to room. Otherwise everything was great! Had a very nice selection of complimentary recent movies too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kabbie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here with a girlfriend for a 4-day weekend. Adult only facility, nice indoor pool and whirlpool/Sauna, close to town of Egg Harbor, everything we hoped for. Room was a grand suite with a see-through fireplace that added to the ambiance and some warmth to a cool weekend! Sitting area and bedroom very adequate size. Be sure to catch the sunset at the Marina, and grab a bite at the Bistro. We would definitely return to the Ashbrooke!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We recently stayed at The Ashbrooke and were looking forward to a long weekend getaway. The grounds are immaculate, the atmosphere is very quiet (although it is right on the main road and some car traffic can be heard but not overwhelming), and overall it was a great stay.

Given that this hotel is an adults only place, I think there are a few things that could take it up a notch that wouldn't be that difficult to do, in my opinion. For the price we paid, I would say we got average value. I've stayed other places for similar price, where an evening wine/cheese reception is offered. Towels at the pool is a must and an easy fix. Would be nice to upgrade the TV's to HD at some point.

Overall, a nice place but not anything that is above and beyond. For the price, I expected a bit more.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ejkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Although it can be a bit pricey this time of the year I thought that the accomodations were great. We stayed in the French Country Suite and the room was very large with a great hot tub. Everything was clean and comfortable. We arrived on a Thursday night and had the entire pool area to ourselves which was great. Others have commented on the lack of variety at the breakfast snack table, and while I agree, it's certainly something you can look past considering there are local restaurants down the road with good b-fast food. Also, sometimes I don't mind just grabbing a muffin and coffee and getting out the door. My wife and I would certainly consider staying here again on our next trip to Door County.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STandKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
0.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
336 reviews
8.7 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
767 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
5.2 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
234 reviews
11.7 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbrooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbrooke

Property: The Ashbrooke
Address: 7942 State Highway 42, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-9601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashbrooke 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ashbrooke, "Just for the Two of You". Our renowned attention to detail and unyielding commitment to excellence prove everyday that quality, comfort and courteous hospitality still count. Your escape to The Ashbrooke will renew your faith in customer service, and your stay will be an unforgettable experience. Your search for a great getaway stops here at The Ashbrooke, located on the beautiful Door County peninsula, the best Wisconsin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ashbrooke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbrooke Hotel Egg Harbor
Ashbrooke Egg Harbor
Ashbrooke Hotel Egg Harbor
The Ashbrooke Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing