We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
108
31
8
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
31
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon rollsbeach housegathering roomfire pitcontinental breakfastgreen baydoor countyhot tubthe upper levelseparate sinkweather permittingbrought our dogcoffee and juicenice groundsfamily vacationtennis courtsbeautiful flowers
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 152 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2006

I have been going to Door County for 30 years and have always stayed closer to Fish Creek. But in the past few years Egg Harbor has been looking better and better, less crowds and still nice shops.

We decided to look into staying somewhere close and had a dog so the options were narrow.

On a whim we found the Shallows Resort and it will definably be our choice this year.

Our first few nights were at the Shoreside Motel and while the room is nothing special the view across the Lake is very nice. You here the waves lapping and it's very nice.

However - the last part of the week we moved to The Beachhouse and were surprised at how quiet it was and how nice quite seemed.

This is a wonderful place for the family with many things to do, but we're not a family but . . who cares.

Wireless Internet, a small breakfast area with Cinnamon buns that look plan and normal but are WONDERFULL. Everybody there is friendly and will bend over backwards to help you.

A very relaxing place to enjoy Door County.

10  Thank Grinder12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2005

The following is a description of our experience with the Shallows Resort.

We arrived at the Shallows Resort on Friday, July 22, 2005 at about 6:30pm. A young girl was working the counter and gave us the keys to the Eagle's Nest. By the time we unpacked for the week it was late. As we investigated our accommodations we found that there was only one small room-sized window air conditioner in the living room and no air conditioning in the sleeping areas. The downstairs "bedroom", where our two children were to sleep, was very small measuring only 6' by 6 1/2' with bunk beds built into the wall and not enough room to open the door completely. The location and small size of the bedroom made cooling inefficient. It was not cool in there compared to the living area. The main bedroom was on the second floor. There was no way for the small downstairs window air conditioning unit to cool the second floor, which was very hot and stuffy. We also found there was no satellite TV (only three local channels), no internet access and no phone with voice mail. Since it was so late and the main upstairs bedroom was too hot to sleep in, we slept on the pull out sofa in the living room.

On Saturday, July 23, 2005 we spent the day away from the cottage exploring Door County. When we returned it was raining and it had cooled considerably. We slept that night in the upstairs bedroom. Although it was muggy and humid, it was cooler because of the severe thunderstorms that occurred that night.

On Sunday, July 24, 2005 we decided to take advantage of the resort's pool. While we were at the pool I had to use the restroom. I asked the girl at the desk (the same one that checked us in) where the restrooms were. She said that there was no public restroom. When I told her that we were here from the Eagles Nest she said that I could use the owner's bathroom in their private residence which was close to the pool area. I was shown into their home and used the bathroom. I did not meet the owner in the house. Shortly afterwards we left the pool because we felt uncomfortable with the restroom situation.

After going to the pool we did a little sightseeing. When we returned to the Eagle's Nest we noticed that even with the air conditioner going full blast the upstairs bedroom was very hot and the downstairs bedroom was stuffy. We moped around the cottage, watching our three channels. About 4:00 my husband went down to the office to talk to the owner. Another girl was working the counter. He told her our complaints: no air conditioning in the sleeping areas, the second bedroom being so small, no satellite TV, and no internet access. She acted like she was surprised that there was no satellite TV. She said that she would have the owner call us. The more we considered the sleeping arrangements, the more miserable we became. At 7:30 we had still not heard from the owner. We were so disgusted that we decided that we would not spend another night on the pull out sofa. We packed up our things and went to the office. My husband asked if the owner was in. The girl said no but she had talked to the owner and he said that the Eagle's Nest was not supposed to have satellite TV. My husband told her that the main problem was that we could not stay there because the air conditioning was not cooling the sleeping areas. She responded that the owner said that it was unseasonable warm (On Sunday the high temperature was 90 F). My husband said that this was no excuse because it was hot in the bedroom when we got here Friday and it was not unseasonably warm on Friday (On Friday the high temperature was 81F). So he gave her the keys and told her that we did not expect to be charged for the remaining nights. She said that our card had already been charged because we had signed an agreement. My husband told her to tell the owner that the accommodations had been misrepresented.

What was advertised..."All units are air conditioned."
What we found.....The accommodations included a small inadequate window air conditioner that did not cool the sleeping areas.

What was advertised..."include satellite TV, DVD and/or VCRs"
What we found.....There was a small 19" TV with three local channels through an antennae and a DVD/VCR player.

What was advertised..."include ... in-room high-speed Internet access "
What we found.....There was no internet access at all.

What was advertised..."include ... telephones with voicemail"
What we found.....The phone in the room was an ordinary phone with no voicemail.

What was advertised..."cottage sleeps four to six comfortably... downstairs bedroom with ... bunk beds"
What we found.....The bedroom was approximately 6' x 6 1/2' with bunk beds built into the wall and not enough room to open the door completely.

What was advertised..."guests at the Eagle's Nest have full access to the resort's pool"
What we found.....We did have free access to the pool but there was no public restroom. When we had to use the restroom we had to go into the owner's private residence or drive two miles back to the cottage.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank GraceB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2005

Having stayed at The Shallows for many a vacation as a youngster, I was very eager to begin the tradition with my own family. It was a nightmare. The resort is beginning to show its age and is now being handled by the children of the owner we knew for many years. We had reserved a "beach house" as it would accommodate our entire family. To say it was rather unkempt would be an understatement. With two young children -- one still crawling -- we would not allow them to play on the floor without first putting something down. The "crib" that we rented looked like it must have been picked up at a garage sale back in the '50's -- I can't imagine it would have passed any current safety standard testing. To top all of this off, during our first night, we discovered our unit to be infested with mice!!! Believe me, we brought this to the attention of management who looked at us like we had three heads. We had to go to the store to purchase mouse traps which we filled repeatedly every night. The only accomodation they could offer would be to move us to a "studio-like" set-up which would not have worked for our family. Had I been given the opportunity of a refund, I would have taken it and run. Looking back, I don't know why we didn't just run ... refund or no refund.

  • Stayed: June 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank DRGWAGMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcdickson75, Owner at Shallows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews