We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, good basic lunch”

Macready Artisan Bread Company
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Soups, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good basic lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped in for a sandwich. The staff person was very accommodating with customizing our order, and splitting it for us, getting us water etc. Talky and solicitous about how our day going so far, welcoming to tourists. Hit the spot. Nice location in town sort of off the main drag in a park. Just the ticket if you're looking for a quick & easy lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    29
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
“Friendly and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in during our visit to Egg Harbor - it was our 34th wedding anniversary. The owner was friendly and engaging - and when she heard of our anniversary she packaged up a fresh loaf of spice bread for us to take home - free of charge! The bread is wonderful and so is the place! Highly recommend for anyone looking for a nice lite lunch spot and great place for bread!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArlingtonRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gridley, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect for a light lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

During our first day in Door County, Wisconsin a sales clerk pointed us in the direction of this great little bakery. We didn't need a big meal so a sandwich sounded right. We weren't disappointed. Cyndi tried their simple egg salad and she found it to be exactly how she liked egg salad... just egg salad, nothing pretentious, not fancied up to be unrecognizable. Made with big chunks of boiled egg, a touch of salad dressing, finely shopped celery and onion on thick slices of their signature dense white bread, this sandwich reminded Cyndi of how her mom would make it. I had their Cherry and Chicken salad sandwich which had just enough cherry to sweeten a few bites but not too much to overpower. Eating al fresco on a cool October day made the lunch even better.
Note... We left with a tomato, onion, garlic focaccia bread that served as a picnic lunch another day... also very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A new favorite place in Door County!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Door County for many years. We have our favorite places and kind of stick with them. Well, I went up with some girl friends recently and found McReady Artisian Bread!!! We visited two times in a two day trip!!! The Cherry Bread and focaccia is excellent!! They honor local businesses or certain ingredients. They make their own soup and roast some of their meats!!! What more can you ask for!!!! They are a newer business in Door County and I love their passion!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great bread, great conversation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

A group of us on a girlfriends weekend visited Macready's on a recent visit to Egg Harbor. There were 6 of us and we sort of bombarded the place first thing in the morning but the owners (Jenny and Michael I think) were completely prepared for our onslaught of questions and orders! Jenny started out by cutting up several different hot-from-the-oven loaves for us to sample and had fresh home-made butter (ah, heaven!) for it. While our initial plan was to go in and get a loaf (or two) for a picnic lunch later in the day, we ended up grabbing a table and bought several loaves, a sticky bun or two, fresh butter, and local cherry jams, and coffee to enjoy right there. Jenny was very amicable and came over to our table and answered all of our MANY questions about their business and the local community until she had to leave us to tend to other customers. The bread is amazing! We especially liked the hippie (not sure of spelling) bread and the sunflower seed. We definitely recommend a stop at this little bakery and grab a loaf for a cheese and wine lunch later in the local community.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caminhsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macready Artisan Bread Company also viewed

Egg Harbor, Door County
 
Egg Harbor, Door County
Egg Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Macready Artisan Bread Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing