We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macready Artisan Bread Company

Macready Artisan Bread Company
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Soups, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Northfield, MN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

A cute quaint bakery. The appearance was very charming. The folks working behind the counter were obviously having a bad day. I was very

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MNRB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    29
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

After reading all the great reviews we decided to stop in. Except for the impressive bread display, not much else to write about. The staff were very friendly.

Purchased two scones for a total of $8.00 which we thought was highway robbery.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Millers413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had the egg salad and chicken salad sandwiches. The fillings were very good, but the sanwiches came off as too dry, perhaps because the bread is a day old, or should have been cut a little thinner. Staff were very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Tasty sandwiches on fantastic home baked bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

A nice addition to Egg Harbor dining. We usually do their take-out & love the ham & cheese sandwiches, chicken salad with cherries, roast beef, etc. Sandwich comes with chips & can easily be shared - portion is large.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank H Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you are in or near Egg Harbor, MacReady's is more than worth the stop. The bread is unusual and delicious. I particularly liked the sunflower seed and flax bread. And for those of us who like liver sausage, they make the best I've had in a long time. The owners are so friendly and nice, they make you feel very welcome. They also have ice cream, even a Door County favorite Blue Moon. I hope they will be in Egg Harbor for a long time to come.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chicagotraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macready Artisan Bread Company also viewed

Egg Harbor, Door County
 
Egg Harbor, Door County
Egg Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Macready Artisan Bread Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing