We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't leave Door County without stopping here!”

Macready Artisan Bread Company
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Soups, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Don't leave Door County without stopping here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

What a wonderful place. The only thing better than the bread, is the couple that own and operate the bakery. They, and others like them, are the reason we all love Door County.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank btni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    29
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stopped in just to check it out, ended up buying a couple loaves of bread. The Pumpkin bread was amazing and the Pumpernickel was the best I ever had. I will definitely be going back and trying more!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Try the cheesy bread at MacReady Bread Co.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Door County is known for its unique specialty shops. The MacReady Bread Co. is such a place. It's nestled in the center of Egg Harbor right on Hwy 42. Try the cheesy bread.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rickwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Artisinal bakery in European tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I discovered MacReady Artisan Bread, the artisinal bakery run by the husband-and-wife team of Michael and Jenny MacReady, on December 26th 2012, and returned like a moth drawn by the flame on December 29th, 30th, 31st, and January 1st 2013, after which we unfortunately had to return home from our winter vacation in Door county.

Once in a blue moon, one stumbles upon this rarest of gems: a true artisinal bakery in the grand European tradition. MacReady Artisan Bread is one of these rare gems and, as icing on the cake, serves gourmet sandwiches on your choice of their uncomparable bread as well as exceptional made-from-scratch soups. Some of our favorites were: tunafish salad on multigrain happy hippy bread, grilled morel-and-leek jack cheese on bagel bread, liver sausage on dark caraway rye bread, wild mushroom bisque soup, turkey-vegetable soup, chili with cheddar cheese bread, and too many more to all list here!

The MacReady's welcome new customers with a warm smile and a plate of bread samples. Once seduced by their hospitality and addicted to their bread and soups, you will want to return every chance you have, and, if you do not live in Door county, may want to resort to ordering their breads which they'll ship to you. In summary: make sure to stop by MacReady Artisan Bread next time you find yourself in Door county and you won't be sorry!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrTea4Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
2 reviews
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A trip to Door County is not complete without a trip to MacReady! They're bread is amazing and their friendly service is just as awesome! Our most recent visit was October, but we frequented them a lot all summer! They have the absolute best cherry pie in the county! They make all kinds of awesome breads! My favorites are the Door County Cherry, Sweet Potato and Pumpkin. Thanks for being such a great addition to Egg Harbor! You guys are the best!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mnelson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macready Artisan Bread Company also viewed

Egg Harbor, Door County
 
Egg Harbor, Door County
Egg Harbor, Door County
 
Egg Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Macready Artisan Bread Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing