We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban Experience in a Rustic Setting”

Stone's Throw Winery
Ranked #6 of 30 things to do in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stone's Throw Winery was suggested to us by a Door County artist and we are so glad that we took the time to visit. The tasting room is in a stately old converted barn--a perfect setting for the experience. The wines are quite good, as well. We were having such a good time that we decided to have lunch at the Vino Vino Wine Bar located on the property. In contrast to the tasting room this building is new and very contemporary. We enjoyed a wonderful antipasto platter and more wine for lunch. Delicious! We'll definitely make this a regular stop on our next visit to Door County!

Thank Ramona612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonesthrowwinery, Owner at Stone's Throw Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Wow- What a wonderful review… for which we thank you!
Russell Turco,
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine bar"
in 36 reviews
"tasting room"
in 46 reviews
"tapas"
in 25 reviews
"vino vino"
in 17 reviews
"the owner"
in 38 reviews
"nice wine"
in 9 reviews
"meatballs"
in 9 reviews
"door county"
in 132 reviews
"pinot noir"
in 7 reviews
"napa valley"
in 11 reviews
"small plates"
in 6 reviews
"antipasto platter"
in 5 reviews
"club members"
in 5 reviews
"joined the wine club"
in 5 reviews
"pc junction"
in 4 reviews
"tasting fee"
in 4 reviews
"souvenir glass"
in 4 reviews
Filter

305 - 309 of 380 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

For $5 for the glass, almost all wines on the lengthy selection chart were available for tasting. This winery does not vinify Wisconsin grown fruit, but imports selected West Coast grapes to make the wines in the rural area east of Egg Harbor. The tasting room was large and well-appointed, with the courteous, very tend-to-business server quite helpful in directing what to try. However, it was clear that she was there to sell wine and particularly wine club memberships. The wines I sampled (all blends, one white, three red) were pleasing to me--I ended up purchasing three of the four. However, as I understood it, the zins, which I really wanted to try, were not available for sampling.

Thank Bro_WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonesthrowwinery, Owner at Stone's Throw Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

So sorry, must have been a mis-understanding re: the Zins… which is the wine we are known for. I will be glad to share some with you upon your return and the tasting is on me!
Russell Turco,
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our last winery stop of our vacation...of the 4 we visited this one ranked last in both my and my husbands mind. The only one where we had to pay to taste, we expected more. We arrived around 3:30 on Saturday afternoon, and it was busy, but no one greeted us, there was no explanation of how the process worked. We knew ahead of time that there was a $5 tasting fee, so I walked up to the register thinking that's were the process started. Another guest had to tell us that you just walk up to the tasting area and they take your money there. I believe we waited for about 10 min before one of the winery staff came up to us to take our money and explained the tasting menu. They had a nice selection of wine, but no crackers for cleansing in between the 5 tastings. Our server was knowledgable about the wines, and the wines were decent, but more expensive then other wineries we had been to.

Thank laurasan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonesthrowwinery, Owner at Stone's Throw Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Sorry for your experience. Try as we might we can’t please everyone with our award winning wines. We continue to improve our service, as it is the foundation of our success.
Russell Turco,
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the Stone's Throw Winery, especially for its more modern aesthetic. We were disappointed that the tapas was closed on the day we visited, because we loved the garden and thought it would have been nice to sit outside and enjoy the wine and food. We thought $5 for five wine tastings and the wine glass was a great deal. We were pleasantly greeted by a young lady who got us started and explained the process. We do not know a lot about wines and the man who helped us with our tastings was patient and knowledgeable, even while helping multiple couples, he took the time to make suggestions for wines and the best order for tasting them. We discovered we prefer sweeter wines and bought a couple of bottles, the Rose d' Beatrice and Angelique, We will definitely visit again next fall!

1  Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonesthrowwinery, Owner at Stone's Throw Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! Please identify yourself as a Trip Advisor contributor the next time you come in.
Russell Turco,
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I enjoyed the wine tasting we had. Thought it was a good value for $5 and the bartender knew what he was talking about. Wish they had crackers or something to clean the palet between tastes. We have been to Napa Valley, and we have been to other small wineries. We bought a few bottles that we did not see in any of the grocery stores during our Door County Visit. This was a nice stop and glad we made it.

Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonesthrowwinery, Owner at Stone's Throw Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hope you return and thanks for your kind words!
Russell Turco
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone's Throw Winery also viewed

Egg Harbor, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Stone's Throw Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing