We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Property - but don't count on using your cell phone!”
Review of Landmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Landmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Property - but don't count on using your cell phone!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at this property for a family reunion. The resort is truly lovely. It offers stunning views -both wooded and of Lake Michigan. *Note that there is no easy lake access however - the resort is rather high up.

When we arrived we were initially disappointed to find out that our room was not as we expected, but the staff cheerfully accommodated us with a complimentary upgrade that was more than comfortable. The grounds are beautifully maintained. You almost have the feel of staying in a very "posh" summer camp! The accommodations were immaculate. With a full kitchen, it was easy to cook in - and I SO appreciated that they provided complimentary coffee! Housekeeping was timely (I've stayed at places where they don't arrive until 5:00 p.m.!). We also appreciated that there were several inviting areas for our family to gather for pizza supper, for wine and cheese, and for grilling.

My only criticisms of the resort really are not the fault of the resort or its management. Having several families with us, we attempted to communicate by cell phone - and the reception was practically non-existent. That was frustrating, but again, not the fault of the resort (unless they have any pull in getting a cell phone tower in anytime soon!) Another issue is that due to the size of the resort and the various needs of our family members, we were all rather spread out among different buildings, which made things a tad inconvenient. However, that could not be avoided, and I do not fault the management on that. All in all, if you are looking for a nice Door County vacation spot and are prepared to "un-plug" - this place was perfect.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet, unless someone is partying by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbornste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Just a quick note on cell phone reception. As far as carriers, Verizon and Cellcom seem to have the best reception over most of Door County. AT&T has had the most issues, and they are addressing the problem. AT&T is in the process of putting up towers in Egg Harbor, Baileys Harbor and Sister Bay. I know that it doesn't help today, but it should be better soon.

The Landmark Resort does not have waterfront property, but does have water view suites. We are high on a bluff - part of the Niagara Escarpment, and overlook the Bay of Green Bay. The resort is less than a half mile from the beautiful Egg Harbor public beach. With 300 miles of shoreline in the county, water accessibility is tremendous with numerous state and county parks, marinas, beaches and launches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    208
    89
    36
    28
See reviews for
261
245
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We picked this resort during a previous visit to accommodate our family reunion this summer. We loved the view and the many decks and pools outside. We should have asked to see the rooms. While they did have many amenities such as kitchen, more than one bathroom etc in our room, it was a tight fit for our stuff. No place to set suitcase on floor. No extra space in cupboards if you want to bring in food. Too many décor items such as stuff on kitchen table. Our room smelled of cigarettes daily but staff informed that if it is coming from on the property nothing they can do unless in a room Don't think they tried to hard to figure this out. NON smoking rooms, I do not think so. One day we awoke to a lawn mower at 6;30 am. Very disappointing as we were enjoying the cool nights sleeping with the windows open. Staff reaction was indifferent, must be the golf course not our fault.. The one person who was helpful was Sonja in sales. She was very friendly and helped us with the fire pit. Also, be careful entering the doors from the outside by pools, high step and unmarked. I fell upon entering as I did not see the step up. Again no sympathy from staff. Never an apology or concern for any of our frustrations. Too bad as was a beautiful place on the outside. Not likely returning.

Room Tip: The view will make up for frustration if you can do a water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAYSLAKE
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have been coming here on & off for 20 yrs. Love the setting, away from town and you have choice of water or wood view, which we always choose. The rooms are great, plenty of space, full kitchen with utensils & cookware, full size fridge, sofabed and 2 chairs, and covered patio which we enjoy at night, especially during the rain or cool fall nights. Thet have updated their HVAC system with the new Mitsubishi system which is fantastic. Everything looks the same here, which is a good thing. Well maintained property. We had trouble with sliding patio door and notified front desk. Went to breakfast & when we returned it was fixed and opened smoothly. A lot of families come here, but so do couples. Don't understand the complaints on here, unless the people are used to staying at the Four Seasons. Yes, the kitchen counters may not be granite, but they are maintained, as are the solid wood cabinets, and closets. People these days constantly want change, but I like the feel of the rooms, very comfy and country like. Everything you want on a vacation with family is here. Indoor & outdoor pools, workout room, steam room, sauna, hot tub, all clean & well maintained. Thanks for a great 3 days Landmark!

Room Tip: Never stayed in a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riveras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Landmark. What a great, relaxing place! This is our 2nd stay at this resort and we wouldn't think of going anywhere else. They have a new playscape for the kids, newly resurfaced basketball, shuffleboard and tennis court. We stayed in unit 4207 that is connected to the main office and indoor pool. The unit was clean, had comfortable beds and was very spacious. It is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath with plenty of room. Newly remodeled kitchen and baths with new cabinets and countertops. We can't wait to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingHorns97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

While our unit was kind of small for a condo type resort, the price was that of a hotel room and we got all the condo perks! It is nice to have a big fridge and the ability to cook meals if you want. We enjoyed sunning on the decks, and lots of grills are a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HaagenDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Amazing stay at the Landmark. Two bedroom/bath condo with nice size kitchen and dining area. Indoor pool & hot tub. Beautiful location with restaurant on the premise. Definitely would stay in this unit again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PPDAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Part of wedding party and was told that check in time was 4:oopm. Told them wedding was 4:30 and that we needed the room ready earlier. Very rude, was told to either get the room the night before or use a locker room to change. will never recommend this place.very high on themselves. Guess they don't need the business, even a wedding.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xtinamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I'm sorry that you felt the resort's staff was rude. My understanding is that our Front Desk staff fielded several calls from you, and there may have been growing frustration on both ends of the phone. They did their best to communicate the basics. Our standard check-in time is 4pm. We empathize with the conflict, inconvenience and timing of the wedding ceremony versus the check-in time, but that was not of our doing. A number of alternatives were suggested, from utilizing our locker room to providing a vacant meeting room for changing (and at that time you were not identified as a part of the wedding party). The alternatives were offered to help you work through a "less-than-ideal" situation, not create stress. By the way, I do believe that the wedding party has several rooms that are being used the night before so you should talk to the bride if that information was not communicated. We will give a person an early check-in whenever possible. This is fairly standard throughout the industry. We won't know until the day of check-in if that particular unit was occupied the night before, how much time it will take the housekeeping staff to clean and inspect it, etc. As we suggest with all guests requesting an early check-in ... we recommend that you call the morning of your arrival and ask if there is an early check-in available. We will do our best to accommodate that request. Again, I'm sorry if the customer-focus wasn't apparent. We do want every individual to feel welcome and experience our best. The Landmark Resort has been named the "Best of Door County" in numerous categories including customer service, and I hope you will give us another chance to show you what 1000s of others have experienced first-hand: superior customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
1.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
358 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
744 reviews
12.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
13.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Resort

Property: Landmark Resort
Address: 4929 Landmark Dr, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-8857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Landmark Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's Landmark Resort features 294 tastefully-appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. Comfortable and casual, the accommodations reflect Door County's relaxed attitude. With alternate views of the forested countryside or Green Bay's sparkling waters, the suites include a fully-equipped kitchen, living room, dining area and deck. All of the units are air-conditioned, feature cable television, a DVD player, and free wireless internet access. Indoor pool is open 24/7. Plenty of great amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Landmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI
Landmark Hotel Egg Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing