We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort”
Review of Landmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Landmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, WI
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not a resort”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

First off let me say that associating your name with the moniker of "resort" you are essentially telling the traveling public that you are a cut above the rest. The Landmark is NOT a resort. It IS clean, it IS reasonably priced, but it is not a resort. We stayed in a King single bedroom in the Charthouse and our daughter and her husband stayed in similar room across the hall for a long relaxing winter weekend escape from work.
Upon arrival we found the room clean as it should be. The room was as, others have stated, very dated with old furnishings. Decorations were dark and large making this room seem smaller than it actually was. The room was cold and the electric heat only made for cold and hot spots throughout. The uncomfortable king size bed fills the room completely with about 1 foot of space on either side and 3 feet at the foot. Bring hangers!!... there were a total of 7 in three closets. Our two slice toaster had one good side, and one side that only burns toast. Do not run the dishwasher at night, you will not be able to sleep nor will the people in adjacent rooms. The tv is a circa 2001 tube tv that had 30 some cable stations of which 4 were without audio.
That brings us to the bathroom. This set up consisted of a vanity room with a hairdryer (newest item in the whole place) and a shower room which also contained the toilet. The shower room should be an embarrassment to those that call this a resort. Not counting the shower, the tiny room has 12 square feet. The room is very dimly lit with the light fixture over the toilet so that when you get into the shower and close the very high industrial shower curtain, you are showering in a dark cave. After a few minutes your eyes adapt and you can then see what is around you so do not get in a hurry. Towels are the usual size and plenty in number, but not the bath blanket towel size one usually finds in resorts.
As I said earlier, it is clean. It is to resorts what Chi Chi's is to Mexican food. Please do not book accommodations thinking you are going to spend your time in Door County in absolute splendor. It is a nice suite/motel in desperate need of updating and redesign. The Landmark people need to rethink their marketing aims to the traveling public and leave the term resort to the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    225
    93
    38
    28
See reviews for
293
264
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This timeshare/condo property is tired and dated. The bedrooms have uncomfortable double beds, and are difficult to maneuver because they are so incredibly small. There isn't even room for a bedside table on either side. The bathrooms desperately need updating. I would not recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JSBowpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed two nights -- this was our second stay at the resort. Nice pool for the kids, nice room with 2 bedrooms plus a loft. We stayed with another party, so we got to see more than one room -- rooms vary room to room, but that's because as I understand it some of these rooms have owners so they furnish it to their liking. Some rooms, when you move in, still smell of whatever the people were cooking that morning, but most of the time it's not a deterrent or bad. The kids love the pool; adults love the hot tub and the sauna. Our rooms were cleaned and towels, etc. replenished accordingly -- nice place to stay, and I recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wis_vactraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We spent our anniversay here and really enjoyed ourselves. Mainly because we had beautiful weather for November in Wisconsin.

First, I would say that many of the reviews I have read say king size "condo" in the charter house. It is in fact a suite, so if you are looking for a spacious "condo" this is not the space that you would like. I know that they have some loft style units but did not see them during our stay.

The room was similiar to a hotel suite with a full kitchen. It gives you the convenience of cooking in the suite instead of eating out the whole time. The bedroom was very tight, not a lot of room to move.

The bathroom was 2 seperate rooms, bathtub and toilet in one room. Very cold as there really isn't a heater unless you turned on the loud timed heater fan in the ceiling and shut the door to warm it up.

Living area was plenty big for 2, wouldn't want anymore then that in this particular unit. Did not care for the fact that you couldn't go out on the patio and walk out, railing to block all patios. Couch needed to be replaced, you were sitting on the bed frame under the worn cushions.

Enjoyed walking around the property, if it were summer you do not have direct access to the water other then the swimming pools, but the public beach is not a long walk from the resort.

The staff were very friendly and accomodating.

The restaurant was very nice the food was good. Friday night went for all you can eat fis but ventured out to the Log Den on Saturday night. Was fantastic, a must see.

All in all we had a great time in Egg Harbor checking out the area.

If I were to go back I would probably stay at a different location and see the differences in resorts. The price we paid was very reasonable but wouldn't pay anymore then that. We went through a private owner that was on Home Away.

Hope that this helps make an informed decision.

Room Tip: Charthouse is attached to the lobby and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights. Had a king room in the charthouse building with a king bed. Condo had small kitchen area, dining table, and a living area with a couch and 2 chairs. The bathroom lighting was very dim, but liked the separate toilet/shower area from the sink area. Great being in the same building with the pool. Pool temp is kept much warmer than most indoor pools at other places which was nice.
This was our second stay at the Landmark. King room seemed bigger than the Queen room we had last year.
Basic rooms, nice pool area.

Room Tip: Wood view rooms are fine, unless you plan to be in the room a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 829melz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Visited the Door County in the Fall season. its was really beautiful out there. stayed for 2 nights at the Landmark resort. found it to be a great resort. it was clean and the cottage was amazing. would always recommend if going with a family

Room Tip: choose a 2 room suite. was very nice with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I would definetely find another place to stay. We stayed in late September during the wind storm. The resort was full. The trees that had fallen on Thursday night were still down on Sunday when we left. When we checked into our room, it smelled musty and of old smoke. There was a dead wasp on the floor and the room looked as though it hadn't been vacuumed. When we went to put our clothes away, there was hair, paper, and someone's dirty sock in a drawer. We called to explain our concern and a maintenance person was sent to clean the drawer, with a little white rag. No disinfectant.... At that time, we discovered another wasp crawling through the air conditioner unit. We could not open the screen door the entire time we were there because there was a big rip in it. The stove has no vent, so we wouldn't cook on it. The bathroom smelled of musty perfume. The furniture is outdated and our tv was very old. WIfi worked great and the restaurant had very good food, although it was scarey watching the bartenders stand on the bottle rails to retrieve bottles from cabinets that are way to high for them to reach. Upon checkout, we were not even asked how our stay was. Way to expensive for what you get. Cleaning is also non existant, other than taking out the garbage and making the bed. View if nice, but not worth the money. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Darlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
1.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
757 reviews
12.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
13.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Resort

Property: Landmark Resort
Address: 4929 Landmark Dr, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-8857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Landmark Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County's Landmark Resort features 294 tastefully-appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. Comfortable and casual, the accommodations reflect Door County's relaxed attitude. With alternate views of the forested countryside or Green Bay's sparkling waters, the suites include a fully-equipped kitchen, living room, dining area and deck. All of the units are air-conditioned, feature cable television, a DVD player, and free wireless internet access. Indoor pool is open 24/7. Plenty of great amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Landmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI
Landmark Hotel Egg Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing