We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views, wonderful hosts”

Review of Poggio alla Rocca

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Ginestra and Corbezzolo apartments
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
aerial photo poggio alla rocca
Enter a caption for your photo
Sughera apartment
Sughera apartment
Sughera apartment
Ginestra and Corbezzolo apartments
Sughera apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Sole apartment
Sole apartment
Sole apartment
Sole apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Ginestra and Corbezzolo apartments
Ginestra and Corbezzolo apartments
brand
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Casale di Pari, Civitella Paganico, Province of Grosseto, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Korean first
Norwegian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alan_C201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 4 (children aged 6 & 8) and stayed at Poggio alla Rocca for 1 week in July. We had a lovely, relaxing time and would happily recommend the apartments. It was our first time in Tuscany so we don’t have a benchmark to compare against, but I would be surprised if there are many better places. Poggio alla Rocca is nestled in the hills of the countryside, a 5min drive from the main road that links Siena and Grosseto. 2 nearby villages each have a small shop and a restaurant. Come here to enjoy the tranquillity, or use it as a base to explore the region. The pool area, with its stunning views of the countryside, is an ideal place to relax. The owners, Susanna and Francisco, are wonderful. They arranged dinner so we could meet the other guests (each of the courses was fantastic!); they are on hand to help with any request; they will even supply some own-produced wine. Apartments themselves are equipped to a very good standard. There are 5 apartments overall, not identical in terms of space and facilities. Any negatives? The kitchen in our apartment (Corbezzolo) is fairly compact (especially with the sofa bed down), with a hob + microwave only. Overall, an amazing place. Don’t hesitate to book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peacefulness, views, hospitality
Liked least: kitchen size (our friends were in a bigger apartment with bigger kitchen)
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The villa is amazing, Francesco and Susanna were very warm and welcoming hosts, they organised a beautiful dinner for all the guests during our stay and assisted us wherever possible to have a comfortable and relaxing experience. The apartment was very well equipped to cook and there were great places to eat lunch in the nearby pari or casale di pari. The view from the villa and the pool is one of the best I have experienced with changing colours from sunrise to sunset. I would recommend this to anyone looking to relax under the tuscan sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura-Gen...
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you want Tuscan views and genuine hospitality, then this is the place.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family of four from Canada, including two teenage sons. The place is absolutely gorgeous....actually even better than the pictures suggest, which is amazing. It really is that good. Susanna and Francesco were our hosts and were available to respond to any need or query. The facilities are excellent, the pool and views absolutely out of this world; and there's free wine and bottled water available every day. How can you beat that? The suite we were in was called "Sughera", with a double for us and bunks for our two boys. It was great in terms of size and layout, and although the kitchen was compact, it was adequate for our needs (we cooked a lot of our meals). As for location, its in the heart of Tuscany....20 minutes to Siena, 75 minutes to Florence, and 2 hours to Rome. All reachable easily for day trips. The view from the pool across the valley is the classic Tuscan picture that everyone is looking for. In short, the place is perfect. If you want to be in a friendly place in Tuscany with incredible surroundings, come here. Don't even bother looking at anything else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the
Liked least: Final payment set up was a little awkward, but could easily be improved.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavmaher
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome view...love the pool”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here 5 nights in the Sole apartment, my wife and I and our two children under 3 and a half. The pool is fantastic and one of the best views I have seen from a swimming pool. Susanna was very friendly and great to deal with when making the reservation. The apartment was clean and well supplied. The only two negatives were the size of the doors in the apartment were very low and I kept hitting my head on them when I was not paying attention (I'm 182cm). Also there was no outdoor area with Sole, which didn't make it ideal travelling with two kids under 3.5 years. Overall a great place, very friendly staff but a slight caution on Sole if traveling with very young kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the views that went with it.
Liked least: We stayed in the Sole apartment, I'm 180cm and the doors in two of the rooms were smaller than me so I repeatedly hit my head when I didn't remember how small they were.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariofree...
Offanengo, Italy
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCA P
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisasuga...
Frosinone, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing