We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but high prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub

Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub
Ranked #9 of 229 Restaurants in Eau Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food but high prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

There are better places to go for fine dining but we did have a good meal and excellent service here. The steaks were all delicious. Cheese curd appetizer was nothing special. The beer and wine selection is quite good. The base prices for a meal are high enough that it seems like overkill to also charge you for salad and other add-ons.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelswithDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    33
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yum! We will go back again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The food was great. They used a lot of locally sourced items. The service was quite good. We split everything and since they knew that, they split the cup of soup into 2 half cups. Not necessary but a nice touch. We will be going back. The lobster bake was fabulous!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Showed up for dinner. (Yeah it was a long drive) As soon as I set down I had someone there to help me. They were able to answer all my questions. They even got me samples from the kitchen to try. In the end I decided on prosciutto crusted ribeye. It wasn't on the menu but they were happy to work with me. The steak was very good. The service was great. If I ever find myself in Eau Claire again I know where I will be having dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IFFuzzball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected greatness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

As the title says, I've driven past this place for years and always thought that it was just your average bar. The front entrance just doesn't say "high quality food inside" more of a "another bar with tv's" style in my and others opinions. But once you get past the entrance, you are greeted by a very nice interior that prompts a relaxed and social environment.
The food, in a word, was "excellent". My wife had the Bluegill fish and I had the New York Strip steak with Candied Garlic sauce. It is rare that you get bluegill and theirs was prepared perfectly, good color and very flakey. The steak was also very good and the sauce made it doubly so, it was perfectly cooked to medium rare, and the potatos and actual seasonal veg were good sides.
We will definately be back, though probably with reservations if it is a busy night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebrusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went on a Friday night, so it was crowded. Make reservations if you wish to go there. The beef filet was delicious and cooked to perfection. Enjoyed the bustling atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub also viewed

 

Been to Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing