We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prime Time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub

Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub
Ranked #9 of 229 Restaurants in Eau Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
“Prime Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you like Prime Rib, go on Saturday night! That's the only night they serve it, and it's worth the wait!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    33
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Withee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I ordered the 3oz filet and it was aged to perfection. My husband got the whiskey steak tips and it was awesome too. Great wine choices and desserts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best in Eau Claire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I live in Eau Claire, but we eat out so often when we travel, that we eat usually cook when we are at home. When we do eat out, it has to be special. Until Sweetwaters and Fischer's closed, we almost always chose them for special nights out. Now, we have tried Houligan's, and have been pleased to find it just as good. It is the last nonchain restaurant that not only has good food, but good accoustics. (Most of the other local places have wood floors, brick walls and solid ceilings, so conversation is impossible.) I vote for Houligan's as the #1 restaurant in EC. I was surprised to see 23 others rated ahead of it, but then I realized they are different types of places. Let's just say it is the best upscale place in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackEauClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first visit & we were very impressed. My husband ordered the steak & he said it was best he had ever had. I had the salmon & it was excellent. The waitress offered superb service. She was very informative about the menu and a friendly personality. I really liked their house salad as it offered much more then the traditional lettuce with a tomato like other restaurants. It is a bit pricy but you get what you pay for!!! We will be going back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddipooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Go back to the old way”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place was so much better under the prior ownership. The current attempt to make this into a high class steak restaurant has failed miserably. This used to be such a great place with amazing cheese curd that were a close second to the best ever at the Commerede. This is no different than an Applebees or a TGI Fridays now. Just keep on driving.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub also viewed

 

Been to Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing