We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub

Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub
Ranked #8 of 229 Restaurants in Eau Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good steaks and sandwhiches. I have been there a few times for both business and personal. They have a seafood dip appetizer that is amazing. The have a special candied garlic sauce that comes with there steaks but I ask for it on the side of whatever I order. The Buffalo Chicken sandwhich with sweet potato fries is really good if you are looking for something less expensive. If you but an entree of specialty expect to pay $15-$30, only the sandwhiches are around the $10. They are usually very busy so plan to wait or make a reservation during dinner rush hour.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    33
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very pleasant pub experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

This a very pleasant pub. Very tasty food -- we chose the specials. Happened to come on the day with 1/2 price for a bottle of wine. Service was excellent. Just an overall pleasant experience.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran7782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice quiet place for a dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went to this restaurant with another couple. Everyone ordered a different item from the menu and everything was very good. And we also had very good service. Would go back there again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarbandDonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetek
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Excellent service and great food. Lots of fun beers to try at the bar and knowledgable bar staff.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank skoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Bad - just "ordinary"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Really, this isn't a bad place for a good steak. But there's nothing really special about it either. Ambiance is your routine oak-tabled tavern style and parking is a major hassle. But service and food were both very good - just not "special" or unique. I would go back with a large bunch of friends but not for any sort of special occasion. (Yes, I probably am a bit of a restaurant snob! Sorry!!!)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank AngeTib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub also viewed

 

Been to Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing