We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay for fun & business, too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Eau Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Place to stay for fun & business, too!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is the only place I'll stay in Eau Claire whether on business or pleasure. The rooms are always clean and the staff always welcoming. When traveling on business it's always nice to know that a comfortable bed awaits at the end of a long day. Yes, a hotel can be disrupted while undergoing renovations but it's nice to see that this property keeps itself fresh. The bathrooms are nicely sized and that's appreciated when you run into so many that make it hard to turn around in them. It makes my day, at least, start out so much better. In the nice weather months it's nice to slip into some casual cloths and make use of the bike/walking trail so close to the hotel before it gets dark. That's a special treat for some of us who have to travel a lot.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the top floor just because I'm a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntiePeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. We are pleased to hear that your guest room and the service you receive meet your expectations. We would also like to thank you for noticing our efforts in refreshing our décor, it is pleasing to know our efforts have made an impact to our returning guests. I am glad you have found the Best Western Plus Trail Lodge to be in an accommodating location for your travels. We truly appreciate you choosing us for your Eau Claire travels. We await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    160
    41
    17
    8
See reviews for
217
118
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, WI
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This had the 3 key elements for me - clean, good bed and not a wimpy shower. The front desk staff was very efficient and helpful - made a great dinner recommendation. The inside is a bit dated, and the hallway we walked in had soft spots down the middle of the floor. A little roughed up, but good value for the price and had the essentials right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are glad that your guest room met your needs. We are also pleased that our staff could help you choose an appropriate dining location. We very much appreciate you noting your concerns in areas of the hotel. We will take your concerns into consideration as we continue to update our property. Again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed overnight here on 12/4/2012. The outside of the hotel "looks" to be fairly new. Once in the lobby you are confronted by a lobby being remodeled...terrible smell, no wallpaper, dirty lobby. Once checked in and heading to the room, walls appeared scratched and worn, and generally over-used; halls dark with low light. Room was very worn...tile in bath dirty/moldy/broken in places; found an insect on ceiling near bath. Looked like at one time they had replaced beds, but dresser was very well worn and scratched. TV although looked new, had very little selections...hardly any HD reception. Room heating/AC was hard to regulate...too hot or too cold...very little in between for comfort. Needed a telephone with a built-in speaker...no one could find one in the hotel so conference-type was not possible so we left hotel on next morning. Intermittent internet access. Breakfast included eggs which appeared reconstituted dried eggs...very grainy, hard little kernels of something yellow...but definitely scrambled eggs as advertised. UCK!
The only good part was the lady at the front desk at checkout was kind. Even so, to us it didn't make up for the flaws in the property.

Would we stay here again -- not a chance! Would we stay in other Best Westerns -- not likely at all. Had a similar experience in the Madison Best Western. These two (only two B.W. we've stayed) in) are worn, out of date, lacking minimal standards available even as found in cheaper hotels. Nope...we'll stick with Hilton and Hilton Garden Inns: quality, service, great people.

Best Western...not nearly as much.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSE-FLYER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay. Unfortunately, we are in the process of remodeling our Lobby and truly apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay concerning this process. However, we are very excited for the outcome of this remodel as we feel it will better the appearance of our hotel and provide a much more pleasing experience for our guests. We also apologize for the issues you experienced with your guest room. Thank you for noting the concerns that you had in your room as well. Please be assured that we take all comments provided seriously and your comments will allow us to better serve our future guests. I am sorry to hear that you found our breakfast less than desirable. Please know that we welcome all of our guest’s suggestions to any area of our hotel. It is always helpful to know where our strengths and weaknesses are in order to better our property for our guests. It is pleasing to hear that the front desk service you received met your expectations. Again, we truly do appreciate you taking the time to note your concerns with our Hotel and allowing us the opportunity to better our hotel in order to exceed the expectations of our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stopped here for only one night while driving through the area. Checked in after 11 pm and the desk clerk, Daniel, was wonderful! He made us feel welcomed and gave a quick rundown of the breakfast times, pool and even that the lounge was still open until midnight! Our room was spacious and clean. There was a fridge and microwave, plus a coffee service.

We didn't use the pool....but there were kids swimming at 7am! The breakfast area has a glass wall so you can watch who is swimming. Food was hot and refilled constantly. Biscuits and gravy, waffles, asst breads, hot and cold cereal, fruit and yogurt.

We were very happy with this hotel and would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank den&holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites. I am glad to hear that Daniel’s service met your expectations. We greatly appreciate the opportunity to hear about your satisfaction with our hotel amenities and your guest room. Our staff looks forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Comfortable beds, clean room, very little traffic noise. The staff was helpful & friendly, gave directions to a great restaurant. The breakfast was also good. Next time I would ask for a room away from the freeway, althought the noise was non existent, the view was not good.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel amenities and staff. We would be happy to accommodate your guest room request in the future to ensure a more pleasing view for your next stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here based on all the good reviews. We were not entirely disappointed. The hotel staff was always pleasant. The room was clean (double queen), although rather dated. The bathroom was huge and clean as well. The beds were very comfortable, and the pillows (4 per bed!) were great. The flat screen tv, microwave, and fridge were nice additions. The breakfast was okay, although I would have never paid for the quality of the eggs or bacon. The only complaints I have are: 1. You can hear every single person talking/walking/running down the hallways. 2. The doors are extremely heavy (so why don't they block noise?) so you hear everyone entering and leaving their rooms. 3. There were spiders on our bedroom ceiling. 4. The workout room did not have towels. 5. The workout room water cooler looked as though it had been sitting stale for years. Other than these things, our stay was great. It is a very convenient location right off of I-94, but you do not hear any road noise whatsoever. They accept dogs, which is nice if you have them. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind and helpful comments. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with our guest room amenities and staff. I am sure that you will be happy to hear that we will be updating pictures and lamps in our guest rooms soon. I apologize for the noise level you were able to hear from your room, noise issues are not common for us so we will definitely take your comment into consideration and do our best to resolve any future noise issues. Also, we would like to apologize for the condition of our fitness room. Due to lack of space we are unable to place towels in the room itself, but we will ensure the towels in the pool area are kept stocked at the fitness room entrance and that the fitness area has been inspected for cleanliness. We would like to thank you for notifying us of you encounter with a spider in your guest room. We have notified the pest control company and were able to have this issue resolved. Again, we thank you for your remarks, we really appreciate the opportunity to better our hotel in order to provide the highest quality in both product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I use to stay in another hotel in Eau Claire until I could not get a room 1 night so I stayed at the Best Western Plus and never went back to the other hotel.

I have been staying at the Best Western Eau Claire an average of 2 nights a week for about the last year and a half so this is not just a 1 stay opinion.

The rooms are always nice but the service and freindlyness of the staff is outstanding!

Room Tip: The suites are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to Best Western Plus Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites. We are very glad our staff consistently meets your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eau Claire hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eau Claire
2.4 mi away
The Lismore Hotel Eau Claire - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Eau Claire South I-94
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Eau Claire
Hampton Inn Eau Claire
#7 of 25 in Eau Claire
433 reviews
5.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center

Property: Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center
Address: 3340 Mondovi Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eau Claire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Eau Claire
#3 Business Hotel in Eau Claire
#5 Romantic Hotel in Eau Claire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eau Claire
Eau Claire Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing