We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service that goes above and beyond.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Eau Claire
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
1 review
“Service that goes above and beyond.”
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We had a reservation for 2 nights. We checked into this hotel believing that we had reserved a 2-bedroom suite. However, when we checked in, we were given a 2-bed studio. The front desk clerk was able to switch us to a 2-bedroom suite for just that night and told us to check the next day to see if there were any cancellations because, otherwise, there were no suites available.
Unfortunately, when the clerk changed our room for the first night she failed to save the reservation. When I went to check the next morning to see what room would be available for us, I was told I did not have a reservation and that the hotel was completely booked. As frustrating as this was, the clerk that morning went above and beyond our expectations and found us a room at the neighboring hotel free of charge to us.
I would definitely stay here again! The rooms are nice and relativel inexpensive.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaWildkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    93
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
171
76
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed here for three days, visiting with friends. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was spacious with a full kitchen, a sitting room, generous sized bathroom. Generous and tasty 'continental' breakfast; playset outside for kids, close to shopping and restaurants. Easy access to highways and downtown. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jespere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed overnight in Eau Claire while driving through on vacation. We looked at the TripAdvisor website and saw this hotel was the highest rated in the city, so we booked it on those recommendations. You were right - it is a great little hotel. It is roomy, clean, friendly staff, well appointed, and what a price! We had a one bedroom apartment, continental breakfast included, for $79! The bed was comfortable, the water pressure was great, and there was even complimentary microwave popcorn, which was a nice touch. There is onsite laundry as well as a little "pantry" that sells some essentials should you need them. It is close to a shopping mall, lots of retail and several nice restaurants as well. It was a great place to stay. Thanks, all you TripAdvisor reviewers for pointing us to this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aecintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We're a family of 4 on a military move from Alaska to Florida. We stayed one Sunday night. Our rate was $85 including taxes for the 1-bedroom suite. The location is super convenient, in a nice area just off the interstate. There are restaurants and big box stores in the immediate area.

The lobby is very nice, with good coffee and a nice cold breakfast. The decor is midwestern and nice. There's a snack area where they sell anything you'd need if you arrived late at night. The front desk is extremely helpful. I called about a small problem (toilet kept running long) and they immediately offered a room change, although we declined as it didn't bother us at all.

The pool is very tiny. I had our two kids (7 & 5) and there was another couple with two smaller kids. It was uncomfortably tight in the pool. The hot tub says its capacity is 6, but 3 was enough. However, if you've got the pool to just your family and your kids are 10 & under, it's perfect. There's a good chance you'll have it to yourself. The kids also liked the small swingset out back, where there's also a b-ball hoop. The fitness center had a bike, an elliptical, and a treadmill that was out of order as well as clean/neat towels, water, and a TV.

The room was clean and the full kitchen was nice, although we didn't have any glasses or silverware. I'm sure it would've been there in 5 seconds if I would've asked. The pullout sofa mattress was thin and uncomfortable, but the main bed in the bedroom was comfortable. We had to move a chair and lamp to unfold the pullout bed, so yes, the rooms are a little small, but not tiny. The TVs are 27" CRTs of late 90s vintage that need to be replaced with flat panels. One interesting thing about the layout of our suite was that the bathroom is not in with the bedroom. If you put the kids to bed in the bedroom, you don't have to go in there to use the bathroom, shower, etc. You can also get ready in the morning without bothering your spouse. Sweet. The Bath & Body Works Coconut Lime & Verbena toiletries were excellent!

The negative of this hotel is that it's just a little "flimsier" than the leading brands of suite hotels. The bedroom and living room of the suite shared a wall vent so you could basically see and hear through the wall between them. Hallway traffic and doors were easily heard. Our room was above the conference room and I could hear the chairs being moved around in the morning.

Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay at this hotel, especially for what we paid. I'd have to agree that it's the #1 hotel in Eau Claire, so if you have business in Eau Claire, you should stay here. If you're planning a road trip, however, and you're more used to a Homewood or Residence Inn experience, I think you'll be slightly disappointed with this hotel and I recommend getting into the Twin Cities or down to Wisconsin Dells for your pit stop.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toowordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock Ar
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2008

When making my reservation and later checking in for my two night stay....the staff was very personable and accommodating. The atmosphere was extremely relaxing and condusive to doing business which was my purpose for being in Eau Claire. The Grand Stay had all of the comforts of home. It is as totally awesome hotel!! I will definately stay again and would highly recommend it to others whether their stay be business or pleasure.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank diamondlady72211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

We (two adults with one kid) stayed at the Grandstay Suites for two nights just before Christmas, while visiting family in Eau Claire. Our suite was on the first floor, and included a bedroom, "great room" with a small kitchen and sleeper sofa. The room was VERY clean. While our intent was to visit area relatives, and not spend very much time in the room, it was a place that was comfortable to stay in, with DVD and cable tv. Toiletries are from Bath and Body works, nice. Housekeeping stopped by while we were still in the room, asked if we needed anything - towels, coffee for the rooms coffee maker, whatever; and please, let us know if you need anything else. The property has a lovely lobby area which was fully decked out for christmas with a tree, garlands and what all else. The pool is smaller than small - but did provide play value to the kid (and two cousins). Breakfast was the usual hotel fare - pastries, bagels, cereal; coffee or juice and milk.

Should we find the need to stay in a hotel in Eau Claire again, we will definatly include this one on our short list.

  • Liked — clean rooms, helpful staff, easy to find location
  • Disliked — draft from the heating/cooling system,
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sewcrazy_mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel while touring the northern part of Wisconsin. Check-in was very quick and efficient. The staff were friendly and helpful. We really appreciated having a kitchen area and living area in addition to the bedroom. We had traveled all day and were able to spread out and relax. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the hotel in general. The hotel has a very clean laundry room with supplies available for purchase. We did not take advantage of the pool, but did take a quick look at it. The chlorine odor was quite strong.

There are several restaurants in the immediate area. We were able to eat dinner at one across the parking lot.

Our only complaint was that the breakfast area did not appear to have an attendant and several items were gone or nearly gone even though we were there quite early.

  • Liked — Very clean facility with spacious rooms
  • Disliked — No apparent attendant to replace items at breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clyde G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eau Claire hotels
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eau Claire
4.1 mi away
The Lismore Hotel Eau Claire - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Eau Claire South I-94
9.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Eau Claire
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Eau Claire
Hampton Inn Eau Claire
#7 of 25 in Eau Claire
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire

Property: GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire
Address: 5310 Prill Rd, Eau Claire, WI 54701-8121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eau Claire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eau Claire
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eau Claire
#1 Business Hotel in Eau Claire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Renovated GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel is Eau Claire’s only all-suite hotel and is conveniently located near Interstate 94 and Hwy 53 on the southeast side of Eau Claire. Experience our updated and beautiful guest rooms! All of our suites provide the highest levels of comfort with fully equipped kitchens, separate living areas, open concept and private bedrooms. Enjoy the indoor relaxation pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Gourmet Express Breakfast each morning. Unlike other hotels, GrandStay can provide you with the accommodations you are looking for whether it is nightly, weekly or monthly stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Eau Claire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing