We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How many ways can you spell wonderful!?”
Review of Bijou Bistro

Bijou Bistro
Ranked #46 of 231 Restaurants in Eau Claire
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bijou Bistro is your restaurant destination, serving lunch and dinner on Clairemont Avenue, Eau Claire WI. Our continental fine dining cuisine is sure to bring you back! Bijou Bistro and Catering of Eau Claire WI can help you with any event: wedding, birthday, business party, and Christmas are just a few of the events you can choose Bijou to either cater or host in your home or our bistro.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How many ways can you spell wonderful!?”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Bijou Bistro provides a dining experience that you don't want to miss. After my fourth visit, I decided to write a review to let people know what they are missing if they have not yet dined at this establishment. Excellent cuisine, cocktails, and contemporary yet sophisticated atmosphere is whats in store at Bijou Bistro. We recently visited on one of the busiest restaurant days of the year…..Valentines Day. Everyone sort of takes a deep breath on this day and hopes for the best! We were not disappointed.
We chose entrees from a prix fixe menu that provided many choices for appetizer,entree, salad, and dessert. Our meals were delicious, our server was attentive and prompt. Even though the kitchen was hopping…Tony, Head Chef and Proprietor, had a moment to come into the dining room to greet his patrons. I will be back again and again. Get ready for a creative, delicious menu, as well as an intimate dining experience…..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    4
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This restaurant was a waste of $ and time!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The place was filled with very intoxicated people. We couldn't hear ourselves talk! I mentioned it to the waitress and she said they were celebrating a birthday. We waited 40 minutes for a "pre made" salad. We could see Chef Tony through the glass door in the kitchen. He had a white towel around his neck and would SUCK on it every few minutes! Who sucks on a towel?! Our food was terrible. The steak was poor quality and the seafood looked like an appetizer portion. There were only two of us and we were there over TWO hours!! This was our third and FINAL visit!! The only positive thing was the server! Outstanding!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackson1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We've been to Bijou a few times now and have had excellent experiences every time. I have to say the small intimate atmosphere is decorated beautifully with a charming ambiance. We attended a private party this past week and were amazed with the food, service and attention to detail. I would host an event at Bijou anytime. There is finally another space to host an event in Eau Claire. We also went to Bijou for valentines day. It was a 5 course meal they were serving for the special occasion. It was fabulous. The portions were generous, the service and timing between courses were perfect! The evening couldn't have been more romantic. I would recommend Bijou to any of my friends and family. A truley unique dining experience with creative dishes and excellent service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brad b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Don't miss this hidden gem! Expect a fun, tastefully decorated atmosphere with a side of cozy ambiance. The menu options offer imaginative combinations cooked to perfection! Our experience at Bijou includes business luncheons and romantic dinners to large privately catered receptions. Tony and his staff provide impeccable service down to every last detail.
Whether your looking for that perfect dish for a quick lunch or a long romantic dinner, Bijou will not disappoint.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We felt ripped off”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This place was wonderful in the past so we really looked forward to the $65 per person Valentine's Day special. We were very disappointed. This was not fine dining. The appetizer and dessert were microscopic and nondescript. The steak was the worst we've ever been served anywhere. The grouper tasted like it was on the warmer for a half hour. The risotto was luke warm. The service was slow. We felt totally ripped off and will never return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IrenetheInformed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bijou Bistro also viewed

 
Eau Claire, WI
 

Been to Bijou Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing