We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit or miss”

Dickey's Barbecue Pit
Ranked #158 of 229 Restaurants in Eau Claire
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
getmetherenow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Dickeys is fast food barbeque in a sense. Sometimes great, sometimes not so great. Meat is sometimes dry and not fresh. They tend to run out of some items as well. When everything is fresh it's great. Best bet - - go on a Saturday. Weekdays are a crap shoot. Pricing is somewhat high for the type of restaurant that it is.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank getmetherenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    6
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We tried this place one night because it was getting late and we were in the area. First and last time. The food was pretty bland and commerical looking. If your looking for a fast food type place then it probally will work for you. But it is not a real bbq place by any means. If your looking for something to get yoiu out of your mcdonalds slump then this might work for you

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank backwaterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
167 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poor taste”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Poor taste, don't get your hopes up for some good bbq. Tastes like if you'd just put some meet in a grill and let it cook for awhile with no thought about taste.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ST715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best fast food in town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have had better BBQ but this is very good. It is my favorite quick meal to get for take out. I have enjoyed all the sides. Ribs and brisket are inconsistent. They can be dry. I had the chopped brisket once which was mostly fat. However, the turkey is always smokey and delicious.

The staff are friendly!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelswithDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabank, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Texas Barbeque in Wisconsin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Just moved to Wisconsin from Texas, and I miss home-cooked barbeque. Slow smoked brisket, fried okra, creamy coleslaw and sweet tea. Just like home!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dickey's Barbecue Pit also viewed

 

Been to Dickey's Barbecue Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing