We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Campus Area
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Eau Claire
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I spent a week in July and a week in August in this hotel on a business trip. Location was convenient to my office along with restaurants.

I thought the room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Nice to have a fridge and microwave in each room.

The pool area was nice also.

The front desk employees were very nice and greeted me every night with a sweet treat, a nice added touch.

The restaurant connected to the hotel is very good.

Will stay here again when in town on business, especially since it's only a mile from my remote office.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOVEROFPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Campus Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed all of your stays with us, and we look forward to providing you with the same friendly service, comfortable and clean rooms as we have previously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Campus Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 111 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed one night on a drive cross country. Front desk staff was helpful, lobby very clean, rooms were a bit dated, but clean. Had the opportunity to grab dinner at adjoining restaurant and it was great - fun atmosphere and food was good. Only downside to the stay was phone problems in room. Every ten minutes or so phone would ring and sounded like a recording would start when phone was picked up. I called the front desk and clerk said she was having phone issues too and the only way to stop the calls was for her to turn off incoming calls to my room, thus negating my schedule wake up call. I took the option of turning off phone...4am wake up call still came. Overall a good stay and I would choose this hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Campus Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for being our guest! We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. I do apologise regarding the phone issue you encountered during your stay. Our phone system had experienced a bad chip and we successfully replaced that right after your departure.
I will share your positive review of the Green Mill with their Management and Staff. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was a nice hotel in a good location. This was one stop on our summer motorcycle trip and overall this was a positive experience. The room was clean and comfortable. We did not use the pool/hot tub, but it looked very nice. We chose this location because it was a reasonable drive to/from the Leinenkugel Brewery tour in Chippewa Falls. We were able to drop off our bags before check in (though our room was not yet ready), and head out to our tour. When we returned STARVING at around 6:00 PM, we got into our room and headed immediately to the on site Green Mill restaurant which offered 1/2 price appetizers and rail drinks from 4-7 and after 9 PM. we also received a buy one, get one coupon for drinks when we checked in, which we used for a night cap. They offer a "grab and go" breakfast of juice, coffee, muffins, granola bars, fruit, etc. The Green Mill restaurant is also open for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Campus Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our hotel is conveniently located near a lot of great attractions in the Chippewa Valley. We will share your great experience with the Green Mill and are glad you enjoyed the Complimentary Drink Coupon and Sweet Treat coupons our Choice Privileges Members enjoy during their stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The staff was great and very helpful. The building is old with low ceilings. Rooms have been redecorated and are certainly clean. If they could provide a hot breakfast it would be an upgrade from the grab and go. Eau Claire doesn't have a lot of new options. I think this is the best of the old.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Campus Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are proud of our clean and inviting hotel, and our warm friendly employees. My staff and I look forward to welcoming you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

On business i stayed at this Clarion and pulling up I could tell it was 20+ years old. When I walked into the lobby it was very clean, updated and spacious. The two young ladies behind the desk were especially helpful and immediately I started changing my mind about this being a poor choice. The hall ways are a bit narrow but the carpet and paint are new and very clean. The room although a bit small is well furnished, clean and fresh smelling Yes, this is a good value in a great location near the college and I would return. Also very quiet on the back side of teh building

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank george29938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Campus Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write about your experience. My staff and I thank you for kind words regarding your visit. We are an older property, but we do our best to provide clean, comfortable and well appointed rooms and friendly service. We are fortunate to have the University very close to us, and enjoy taking care of their visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at the Clarion Hotel Campus Area from July 20-22, 2014 in room 160 on a business trip. The hotel is about a mile walk from the UWEC center (let' say, the Davies Center) so it's certainly walkable depending on the weather. There is a Walgreens drugstore within 1-2 blocks, a few fast food restaurants, a sit down restaurant (the Green Mill - which I'm told is not bad) connected to the hotel, but not a lot of other "useful traveling establishments". You will almost certainly need some form of transportation to get around if you want to see a bit of the city. In the hotel, there are two levels and I did not see any elevators, so you want want to take that into consideration when asking for a room if you have many heavy bags. Yes, the decor seems a bit dated, but in good taste and everything seemed clean and in order. The beds have a pillow top (if that matters to you) my room had a digital thermostat controlled AC/heater that was not too quiet but not too noisy either (the clicking as it switches on can wake you up though). The towels were "plushy" and not too thin (I would say better than just decent). There is a hair dryer, iron and ironing board included (as would be expected), a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The wireless internet seemed decently fast (you tube videos could be watched and email's checked without any noticeable slowness). The tables and nightstands each had power outlets so that you could easily charge you electronics (not always convenient at other hotels, but this hotel did a good job of placing them in an easy to reach place). All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor room help you avoid stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank flu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Campus Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience staying with our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have been staying at this hotel for a few years when we travel to and from Ontario, Canada. When we arrive in the early evening, we have just driven 11 hours from Ontario to Eau Claire. We are looking forward to a good night's sleep because we still have 6 hours of driving ahead of us in the morning. In past years, we have not had a big problem with noise in the hallway or outside. We have always noticed some noisy people, but the problem has pretty much corrected itself at a reasonable time. However, the past two years, we have stayed here when there was a wedding booked in their banquet rooms. Between 1:00 and 2:00a.m, there were people yelling in the hallway, a toddler crying, others running and shouting to each other and this was after we had listened to this activity in the courtyard beneath our window since early in the evening. Weddings are fun and I get that. So, if you are invited to a wedding here, you should have a great time. If you need a good night's sleep, you might want to search for a hotel without a banquet room in Eau Claire ,there are plenty. After staying here for a few years, we will be staying elsewhere next year, its just not a good match for us anymore. And yes, the lack of an elevator is annoying. Our experience with the desk staff was fine, they were friendly. We did not use the pool. Our room was comfortable, the beds were comfortable. The shower functioned well and the room and bathroom were clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mem04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Campus Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2014

Thank you for being our valued guest for many years. I do apologize that this stay was not as pleasurable as the previous years. I am glad to see that our hotel rooms and beds were comfortable and clean. Our hotel does feature a banquet center along with the Green Mill restaurant and lounge, so people do come and go later in the night when the lounge closes. I will review our current policies with our security provider to make sure that all guests are able to enjoy their rest when this occurs.
We hope you will give the Clarion Hotel Campus Area another chance to provide you with our exceptional service and clean comfortable rooms the next time you travel through Eau Claire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eau Claire hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#16 of 25 in Eau Claire
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Eau Claire
Hampton Inn Eau Claire
#6 of 25 in Eau Claire
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Eau Claire WI
1.7 mi away
The Lismore Hotel Eau Claire - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Eau Claire South I-94
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Campus Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Campus Area

Address: 2703 Craig Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701-6151 (Formerly Holiday Inn Eau Claire-Campus Area/I-94)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eau Claire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Eau Claire
Price Range: $59 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Campus Area 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Campus Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Eau Claire-Campus Area/i-94 Hotel Eau Claire
Eau Claire Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing