We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hairs in the bed. TV would not come on.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Campus Area
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Eau Claire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hairs in the bed. TV would not come on.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Bad experience. This is an older property but has been painted and has newer bedding. Our room smelled but I could handle that. When I pulled the sheets back to get in the bed the pillows looked slept on. They were about 5 long black hairs on the pillows. Thankfully this was a two bed room so I moved to the other bed. It looked fresh. The TV would not turn on with the remote or buttons on the side. Room smelled old and damp. Water pressure was good. The towel holder in the bathroom fell off the wall while I was asleep. I would sudgest staying at another property.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Campus Area, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Clarion Hotel Campus Area.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding housekeeping issues on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with our management team to ensure we are not missing these important details when inspecting our rooms.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Eau Claire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    41
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
22
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Clean hotel that could use some updating. Room was clean. Has a disability room. Not a walk in shower but a tub. The hand shower rack was hung to low to get under it. Bed was comfortable and look fairly new. Pool area looked nice although we did not swim. Staff very friendly. Would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenviewtraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Campus Area, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review! We will be looking into the height for the handshower to make sure it is compliant with the ADA guidelines. Our friendly staff loves to take care of our guests and I am happy that it shows. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The main thing that the Holiday Inn - which I understand is now a Clarion - has going for it is location. We come to Eau Claire almost every year for soccer tournaments, and this hotel is within easy walking distance of the soccer complex. It's also right in the middle of a busy area with lots of shopping and restaurants close by or within easy driving distance. Another nice thing about this hotel is that it is connected to the Green Mill, which is a solid place for food and drink.

The downside to this hotel is that it is just...very, very un-special. It has long, featureless corridors where everything looks the same. It has an extremely mundane "continental" breakfast consisting of shrink-wrapped muffins and granola bars. The Wi-Fi doesn't work unless you're close to the lobby. The lobby is decent, but the rest of the hotel is bland and dreary.

The rooms are fine, but unprepossessing. The beds are okay, the temperature controls are okay, the bathroom is okay...you get the picture. Nothing stands out. I would rate the room size as slightly small; there isn't much extra room for a roll-away bed or anything else.

I wouldn't choose to stay here unless I got a really good rate or - as happened this time - I was part of a team reservation. The rate charged is not commensurate with the value received. The hotel needs an update and more amenities. The Hampton Inn across the street is a much better place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavageDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Campus Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoy our location, and especially the quality of the Green Mill Restaurant. We will be addressing your comments with our staff and owners, as we do not want to settle for just average. Thank you for reminding us there is always room to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

First off-- this hotel needs to update their name! They are actually the Clairon Hotel, but nothing else is updated online. Was annoying. And the lady that checked us in was NOT polite at all--she was fast, but a wall has more personality and is more friendly than her. We traveled out for a wedding--while we got a good price, it is in sore need of updating. Breakfast is a "grab and go"--fruit, yougurt, breakfast bars. Overall, it was clean enough to sleep in and get ready for the wedding. Would I stay here again while in Eau Claire? Nope

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAN29MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Campus Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We have recently converted to the Clarion and are in the process of getting all of our online information changed over with our new brand, so I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate your comments, and will be striving to continually improve our level of service and the quality of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a hard time finding this hotel, since we knew it as the Holiday Inn. But asking at the Clarion, we were told they recently had switched chains.
Bit older property. No free breakfast, but some free yogurt/muffins/fruit were given. So some breakfast at least.
Its an older building, but it seems that they are starting to improve. Replacing the carpet in the rooms would be a good start for them (its dirty now).
Some conference was going on, but it was in the same hallway as the rooms. Bit strange.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelzoeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Campus Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us. We are excited about our switch to be a Clarion Hotel and we hope our guests will find it a pleasant and enjoyable change as well. We still have the same great owners and amenities as you have noticed. We are actively making improvements to our rooms, and we thank you for your feed back. We hope you notice them the next time you visit Eau Claire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eau Claire hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Eau Claire Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#16 of 25 in Eau Claire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Eau Claire
Hampton Inn Eau Claire
#5 of 25 in Eau Claire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Lismore Hotel Eau Claire - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eau Claire
5.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Campus Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Campus Area

Property: Clarion Hotel Campus Area
Address: 2703 Craig Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701-6151 (Formerly Holiday Inn Eau Claire-Campus Area/I-94)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eau Claire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Eau Claire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Campus Area 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Campus Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Eau Claire-Campus Area/i-94 Hotel Eau Claire
Eau Claire Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing