We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family visit”
Review of Metropolis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolis Resort
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Eau Claire
White Hall, Maryland
1 review
“family visit”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I wanted to share what a fabulous time my family had while visiting family and staying at Metropolis Resort. The customer service was excellent. The activities they provide were very interactive for everyone to enjoy. the smiles on everyone's faces were priceless. We went to breakfast in the buffet a couple times & it was very nice. they provided cereals, breads, eggs, french toast, and sausage, and drinks. This was a very nice variety. We also had breakfast at the Mom's Kitchen 715) 838-8994 3035 N Hastings Way, Eau Claire, WI 54703 was fantastic. This place was a county style cafe with excellent service & hospitality & the food was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mschrisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    134
    95
    39
    20
See reviews for
328
44
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at The Metropolis Resort Monday April 1st for one night. We have never been here before. I booked on-line with a discount code I saw on TV and paid $123 for a regular 2 double bed room. We were on the 3rd floor. The rooms were very modern looking, but a basic room. We never had a problem with noise at all. We had a fridge and microwave and a table with chairs. It was clean and comfortable. Check in was good and quick. We have a boy age 12 and a girl age 9. They wanted to go to Action City first. We purchased the $25 all day card for each of them to do whatever activities they wanted. It seems like a good deal. The $25 includes everything except the video games that you receive tickets for. There was plenty to do. Bumper cars, climbing wall, go karts, mini bowling, lazer tag, batting cages and arcade games. They have a dairy queen in this area and a place that serves pizza, chicken strips, nacho’s, etc. The only thing they did not have in this area and was not allowed to be carried in from the other area’s of the hotel was any liquor or beer. It was disappointing for us. We would have enjoyed a beer with our pizza as we watched the kids play and am sure would have helped us stay longer in that kid zone if we had a few beers to enjoy. It doesn’t make any sense to me since they have a bar/restaurant off the lobby and a full bar in the waterpark! Just this one area you cannot have liquor in. We wanted to purchase the large water bottles that say “metropolis” on them that I believe were $9 and then you can refill them as much as you want with soda. It seemed like everyone was walking around with them. When I went to purchase them I was told they were sold out and they were on back order. I even tried at the front desk to see if they had any extra’s and they did not. We ended up just getting a soda at the pizza place and those are bottomless so we just kept that with us the whole time and refilled as needed. It is a pretty small cup though so we had to make several trips. But it was nice that once you purchased the cup you could just have as much soda/lemonade as you wanted the whole time you were there.
After action city we went to the water park. It was nice. I did notice it was a little chilly in there, but not down right cold like people were stating on the reviews. The kids enjoyed themselves in there and they did have a full bar so we were able to get a beer and a bloody mary. The beers were $5.50 for a 16 ounce Coors Light. You could also go to the bar in the lobby who was having happy hour for $3 beers and carry them in. There are 3 slides in here. One you use tubes and is dark, the other a slow windy one and then a body slide where you have to be 100 pounds to go on so the kids could not go on that one. The body slide was crazy fast when we were there though – my husband went down it and nearly lost his swim suit! They have a lazy river and a zero depth entry area for toddlers that looked fun – but the youngest we had was 9 so we did not go in that area. They have a basketball area in the water and a floating bridge the kids can try to walk over. When we were there, there were plenty of tables and chairs. We were there about 5:00. I believe they served food here, but never looked. They have cabana’s too. Not sure why you would want one since it is inside anyway, but some people were in them.
After this we went back to action city. All my 12 year old wanted to do was the go karts. The line gets super long as the night goes on, but he waited every time. They let the race go on for a while so even though you wait for a while at least you get a good long ride when you do get up there. The people running it seemed very nice and conscientious about people crashing and being too crazy and would give warnings. Our daughter waited to do the climing wall and loved that. They also had a great time on the bumper cars and arcade games. They did not really like the laser tag and we did not do the batting cages. We had some friends meet us who have a 12 year old boy and a 10 year old boy so we let them hang out in Action City and we went to the bar in the lobby. They have a few dart machines and some slot machines as well. We had a very nice time here enjoying a few drinks and playing darts while the kids blew off steam at action city.
Breakfast the next day was in a conference room by the action city area. It smelled like gas from the go karts. The breakfast was okay. We were all able to fill up. They had hot scrambled eggs, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, cinnamon monkey bread, bagels, cold cereal, coffee, oranges, juice and milk. It felt like you were having breakfast at camp with long cafeteria type tables. But – it was definitely appreciated since it was included in the price of the room. We ended up purchasing another $25 card for the kids for this day as well. It would be nice if the cards worked for 24 hours, but they expire on the date you buy them at the close of business. The kids had another fun day here. My daughter and husband went back to the water park as well. You have access to the water park until 10 p.m. on the day you are supposed to check out. We got pizza again and it was Tuesday so the pizza was only $5! It was really good pizza too so that was a nice surprise. I got the super nachos as well and those were very good and a single serving was huge! The young man who worked the food stand was super nice and funny and friendly.
Overall this was a very fun place. The kids want to come back in the summer when the outdoor things are open.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJMA2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pros:
1. Service: We were surprised by the wonderful customer service from the staff. Our experience at past water parks were with teen employees that had a huge chip on their shoulder and did not want to be there. At Metropolis- we did not run into ONE person like that.
2. Action City- I recommend getting the unlimited pass for the kids. What a deal. For the price you get unlimited go carts, lazer tag, bumper cars, rock climbing wall, the majority of video games, and mini bowling. UNLIMITED. Totally worth it.
3. The Pub Restaurant- The prices were reasonable and the food was great. They had IPA tap beer for $2 bucks during happy hour!!!
4. Rooms. Rooms were newer and clean. TV has HDMI hookups so we brought our Roku player, hooked up to free wifi so the kids could watch Netflix shows before bed.
5. The Water Park- the Kids had a blast and were not bored in the least.(Couple of cons for parents though)

Cons
1. The free breakfast. It is free so you can't complain too much. They ran out of food multiple times. They ran out of dishes multiple times. It was a wait for the food. It was ok- just a hassle sometimes.
2. The waterpark(More for parents). Little to no seating unless you get there early enough and claim your area for the day. The locker rooms definitely need to be looked at more than they currently are for cleaning. It was an automatic requirement that there was at least one pair of soggy underwear curled up in the corner every time we had to walk in.

Overall- we had a great time. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squish651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend with my husband and son who is 14. He wanted a waterpark weekend but we didn't want to go all the way to the Dells. Eau Claire is only a 1 hour drive for us. Upon checking in, our standard 2 queen room on third floor was alright. Clean. Enough space. Went to the waterpark right away. What a disappointment!!! Extremely small. Only 1 slide worth going down (innertube slide) and it was always a long line. The only body slide was so slow people had to push themselves down the whole way. The water had way to much clorine in it. My eyes started to burn as soon as we walked into the park and tried to find a chair to put our stuff on. Very limited sitting and walking area. I saw serveral people, children and adults, slip and fall walking by chairs. My son was bored after 20 minutes and we had to leave the area due to the eye irritation. If you have very small children they may have fun in the kiddie area and lazy river. No swimming area at all.

Action City was a lot of fun. We had a one day pass in our package and used that on our second day. Batting cages, lazer tag, go-carts all a lot of fun. Many video games also. I would go back to Action City for an afternoon or a birthday party but not to the hotel.

On our second day we returned to our room around 4:30/5:00 to find that our room wasn't cleaned yet. I phoned the front desk and told them this and they were surprised that I wanted the room cleaned. "Do you want towels or a full cleaning?" Well actually I want both!! I don't think it is asking to much for them to come in and make the beds and tidy up and replace the used towels. They called us back in the room a few minutes later and said that they found someone that could clean the room and would be up shortly.

For the amount of money that they charge for the room that included the use of the waterpark, it was not worth it at all!! If you want some fun dry land activies, get the 3 hour unlimited pass for $20 at Action City. It is well worth it.

Room Tip: Don't get a room unless you like tiny waterparks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playinthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I just stayed with my wife and four kids for a quick spring break getaway. Staff was pleasant. We went to the waterpark before check-in. I highly recommend warm clothing. The large fans move so much air the place is uncomfortable. Floors were dirty and the girls didn't want to walk on them. Staff was very helpful with food and towels, a lot of lifeguards on duty! Pool water was cold, a lot of rust if visible on structures. Went to Check in and was really impressed with the look of the room--very modern, very clean. I tried to nap with our 2 year old--no luck. You can hear people talking in the hallway, in the room on both sides--talking not yelling. You can hear every door close too.

Action city was the savior of the trip. By all means get the all day pass. All of our kids loved everything in their. 17, 13, 10, and 2. no complaints. I had fun too with the rides and games. Wish we would of went in there earlier that day. We ended up buying passes for the second day too. Again staff was very helpful.

I would recommend staying at another hotel and buying the passes for Action City. We will not return to stay in the hotel in spite of the helpful staff. The room was just too noisy. Breakfast is OK for kids--lots of cereal choices.

Room Tip: Stay off the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart54806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I will start with the unpleasantries first: The very small water park area was dirty and run-down. There was black mold on the walls at the top of the stairs where you enter the waterslides. The stairs were trimmed with some metal that had rusted all over the rest of the staircase and looked disgusting. I saw used band-aids on the stairs on the way up to the slides. There was no actual pool that you could swim in, it was more of a wading area with a basketball hoop. The lazy river was very small but the water temperature was just right. Unfortunately, the large fans provided a freezing breeze when you are wet and they do not seem to help with the over-chlorinated air which caused my eyes to burn. The hot tub was filled with too many children of all ages that it was not relaxing. There was a large sign stating that you must be 16 to be in the hot tub but I never saw any staff enforce this rule. There was a severe lack of seating in the water park area. The flooring was a poor choice of foam squares that were slippery (witnessed many falls), squishy and probably bacteria-filled.
Action city was totally enjoyable and a great value for the all-day pass. The go-karts were very fun and there were a lot of video games and activities to fill much of a day for both kids and adults. There was a seating area which was nice if you wanted a break from the games.
Lobby was nicely decorated with a modern fireplace and couch/chairs. . The decor of the room was nice and modern-looking but it seems like no one does much upkeep of the rooms. The veneers of the wood over the bed were peeling off and had been reattached with strips of scotch tape. We requested a room on second floor (thanks to other reviewers recommending NOT getting a first floor room!). Our friends checked in later and had to have rooms on first floor which had so much hallway traffic they complained. Biggest complaint: the rooms need to be soundproofed!!! The hallway noise is really annoying.
The breakfast was OK but shouldn't there be bacon or sausage or ham? Way too many breads and not enough fruit or meat.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on first floor! First floor should not even have guest rooms, way too much hallwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grabthetab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here about a year ago and found the rooms to have a great look about them but our room faced the outdoor race track and the lighting caused the room to be too bright to sleep. At that time the breakfast buffet was to have hot items but when we arrived at 8, there was nothing edible except the cereal. We thought this was a fluke so we returned three months ago. NEVER AGAIN! The room was the same. The waterpark was falling apart! The stairs had rust on them (not safe for little toes) and part of the kids area was shut down.
The buffet was worse yet! We meandered through the halls to an area that was not well marked. We found the buffet and went to check out the hot items. Alas, there was nothing in the buffet line. There were at least 20 people sitting at tables waiting for food to finally come out. Of course when it did there was a mad rush for it. We waited in line with everyone else and by the time we got to the food, we literally got 3 potatoes....no exageration! We ended up all eating cereal and listened to everyone around us complaining. About 20 minutes later, more food finally came but again the mad rush took all the food before we could get there.

This place is falling apart. Loved Action City but will now stay elsewhere and only pay to play games at Action City. Don't waste your money on the waterpark that is falling apart or on the rooms since the food basically doesn't exist.

Room Tip: if you MUST stay here, stay AWAY from the racetrack side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmstd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eau Claire hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Eau Claire South I-94
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center
3.7 mi away
The Lismore Hotel Eau Claire - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Oxbow Hotel
The Oxbow Hotel
#9 of 25 in Eau Claire
61 reviews
8.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Eau Claire
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis Resort

Property: Metropolis Resort
Address: 5150 Fairview Dr, Eau Claire, WI 54701-9444
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eau Claire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Eau Claire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropolis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolis Resort, located just 90 miles east of Minneapolis in Eau Claire Wisconsin offers extreme family fun for all ages. Metropolis is the only venue in the Midwest featuring a conference center, hotel, Indoor Water Park, Family entertainment center with a Trampoline Park, Ninja Warrior Courses, indoor go-karts, laser tag and so much more...and it's all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Metropolis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Eau Claire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing