We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fanny Hill Dinner & "Elvis" Show”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fanny Hill - CLOSED

Fanny Hill
Price range: $17 - $17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fanny Hill Dinner & "Elvis" Show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We just enjoyed a great dinner and very entertaining "Elvis" impersonator at Fanny Hill. I had shrimp scampi and my husband had braised beef. Both meals were great although his was more than enough. The show was also fantastic! George Thomas "Elvis: The Essence of the King." An Elvis fan makes me comment on this man's ability to make a personal contact with everyone at the show. He really can work a crowd and assure everyone their money's worth of entertainment. Although, I have seen those that I feel better impersonate Elvis. But he was good!!! Overall a great meal and very enjoyable show!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallystaeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    2
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fully enjoyed Sunday brunch and matinee play”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

A group of five women (in our 50's) visited Fanny Hill for a matinee performance of "Barefoot in the Park." We began the afternoon with brunch. There was a wide variety of food items on the buffet . . . both breakfast and lunch. The food was fresh and hot. I especially enjoyed the bottomless mimosoes, made-to-order omelettes, eggs benedict, bacon, fruit, pastries, salads and dessert. But there was also breakfast pizza, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh-made waffles and such lunch items as potatoes, gravy, chicken, fish, beef, pork and vegetables.

We were treated well by all staff we encountered. The play was excellent. Between brunch and the performance, we took a little walk around the grounds and through the building. Staff was cleaning rooms and allowed us to peek in. The rooms looked comfortable and well-appointed. The scenery and gardens were beautiful. (It appeared that the exterior of the building was in the process of a needed update.)

We enjoyed every minute of our visit to Fanny Hill!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coffeemug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had Much Higher Hopes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were in town from Texas and looking for a place to have a 50th birthday dinner for a family member. I called to make reservations and got an answering machine. I left my name and number and reservation request, but never received a call back from Fanny Hill. I called the next day and spoke with someone in person and was able to make our reservation for 8.

On the positive sides, the service was very good. Personable and attentive, the staff itself was the best part of the visit. The menu was also a plus. We had a group with a wide variety of ages and tastes and there was something good on the menu for everyone. The wines by the bottle offered a good selection at a variety of prices and varietals.

The problem was the execution. We ordered the cheese curds as an appetizer and several of the curds were breading only, with no cheese inside. The sliced tenderloin was ordered medium but came out well done (no pink at all). The New York Strip was ordered medium but came out medium well (small amount of dark pink in the very middle). The kids grilled cheese was perfect on the side up when delivered to the table, but the bottom was black and charred beyond what should be allowed out of the kitchen. Given the bottle section of wines, the wines by the glass was very disappointing.

The biggest disappointment was the inability of the restaurant to help make our 50th birthday celebration special. It wasn't the actual birthday of our family member (the birthday was last week, but this was the first day we could all get together), and when honest about that we were told, "It's too bad it isn't your actual birthday because then you would get a discount." We spent over $200 on the dinner and weren't looking for a discount, but the fact that Fanny Hill didn't offer a handwritten note, a visit from the chef or even a dessert for a 50th birthday was a big letdown.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank erikjwithak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanny H, Director of Sales at Fanny Hill, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I'm sorry to hear your experience was not what you were hoping for. I hope you will give us a second chance to impress you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Music,Views & Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Deck dining at Fanny Hill is a very pleasant experience. On certain nights they have entertainment (music) on the deck which overlooks the Chippewa River.
We had the Garbage Salad which was excellent. Also the Coconut Shrimp appetizer.
Very relaxing evening in beautiful Eau Claire

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael1947212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanny H, Director of Sales at Fanny Hill, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, Michael! The Italian Garbage Salad is a guest favorite here at the Hill! We would love to have you join us again before the weather cools off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing, expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

On occasion we would go to Fanny Hill for the Friday night fish fry until they changed the menu and omitted the all you can eat then reduced the size of the portions. We have been served fish so overcooked you could hit it with a knife and not even penetrate it, called the manager over and demonstrated this to him, he was not concerned. Never been back, it us a shame this used to be a real treat. SAD

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wtmrdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing