We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won't be back for diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grist Mill - CLOSED

The Grist Mill
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chef is a C.I.A. - Culinary Institute of America graduate returning to his hometown to serve "great food" to a great community. His passion is providing quality food with exceptional service at wallet friendly prices. Friday fish fry with homemade potato pancakes - best in the area and all you can eat crab legs on Saturday evenings with home smoked BBQ ribs that are to die for!!! Stop in and see us in East Troy, WI!!!
East Troy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“won't be back for diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have been to the Grist Mill quite a few times. Breakfast is always fantastic. Diner on the other hand is very incosistent. The Friday fish fry is most of the time very good but can also be over done or greasy. The fish fry takes a long time to get the first order , is supposed to be all you can eat but as they are getting ready to take your plate you have to ask if you can have more. Maybe it is just me but I think you should be offered more at an all you can eat. The second order is just as long of wait as the first so you better ask for enough the second time. The drinks are overpriced , wine comes in a small glass only a third full probably about 4 ounces for $8. I've been there many times but won't be back for Diner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    15
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Living in East Troy, our soninlaw and daughter eat breakfast and lunch ocassionally at the Grist mill. For my 78th Birthday, they took my wife and I there for a Friday Night Fish Fry.
Our daughter ordered a breakfast (available at any time during opening hours).
We ordered wine and beer (probably a mistake).After over 1/2 hour or more after ordering,,2 tables arriving after us, got and finished their food and we had still not been served. On questioning why the delay, we were told it was because they were not set up to serve breakfast meals at evening hours. (even though the menu said available anytime).We paid for and took the food out rather than eating at the resturant. At at home,less than 10 minutes from resturant. Fish was hot, our Daughters chicken fried steak was cold, overcooked, hard and inedible. Before leaving the resturant and paying our bill, when we complained we were Rudely treated. (by someone named Kathy). I would expect better treatment for a customer.
Anyone considering eating at the Griss Mill should consider alternatives.(IE Mukwonago)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good unique food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We eat there often, always good food and pleasant staff. .We usually eat breakfast and lunch .Owner is usually there cooking and occasionally greets customers. Very friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peakdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have been to the Grist Mill several times since it has opened, but only for breakfast. We have gotten many different breakfast items and have been happy with them each and every time. The portions are decent and the price is reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good value, even better food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very hearty, country-style meals with super friendly service. Not gourmet, just simple fare prepared perfectly. Generous portions, and quaint Northwoods style decor. I will stop in again next time I'm in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank familydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grist Mill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing