We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Eagle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wild Eagle Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is day 5 and we couldn't want or expect anymore. The two bedroom condo is gorgeous. Feels like home. All the amenities except for a washing machine. All rooms face the lake. A restaurant for dinner only is on the premises, and it's very good. Indoor swimming pool. Clean and modern. We'd come back!

Room Tip: Blue heron and wood duck?? Do NOT face the beach area, so it's very very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    26
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
41
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romeoville, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first stay at Wild Eagle Lodge and we were very pleased with our experience. My husband and I went up there to watch our 2 little grandkids while my daughter and her husband were attending a friends wedding on the grounds. We all stayed in the 2 bedroom/2 bath condo and were quite comfortable. The condo was spotless and looked like it was very recently renovated, new carpet, new paint etc. The kitchen was fully stocked which we needed as we cooked our meals there everyday. There is a really nice patio with grill, table and chairs and a lovely view of the lake. My 2 year old grandson was thrilled with being able to walk to the playground and beach everyday. There are nice walkways for our wagon and stroller. The pool was really nice with a separate kiddie pool that worked out great for us, as the kids are only 2 years and 7 months old. My only complaint is that the front door did not have any way to bolt the door and the 2 year old was able to get the door open by himself with no problem, we had to put a heavy chair in front of it. I would definetly recommend this resort and will return whenever I'm in the area.

Room Tip: I agree with some of the other people regarding asking for the 1st floor, you don't have to lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here just for a weekend when my husband was running the Journeys marathon. It was very comfortable, well-equipped, well-maintained, spacious (for 2). There was a great view of the lake. We were very happy to find a restaurant right on site after a long day of driving. We ate dinner at the on-site restaurant (Blue Heron) both nights. The food was very good and the wait staff and hostesses very friendly. The location was excellent for our purposes, because it was very convenient to town while also being on a lake. The only issue we had was that the internet wasn't working, but we could survive without it for 2 days. I would recommend this property to all types of travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed there for 4 days and that was one of the best New Years Eve celebration in my life. Wild Eagle Lodge is located on the bank of Duck Lake and close to many attractions. If you like fishing, it's right there few steps from your room's back door, snowmobiles - no problem! And if you want to go skiing, just take a 30 min trip to Iron Mountain and you're there. Great experience, good prices, nice service!

Room Tip: ask for a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shakespirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent a week up here in late July with our large family. We had 40 members in our in reunion and we enjoyed the pool. restaurant, beach and boat dock during our stay. The kids (aged 2-10) enjoyed the kid's activities put on throughout the week, especially the fishing tournament.

The condos that where we stayed were fully stocked with cooking utensils, etc. We cooked our own meals all week long. The kitchens in most condos were updated and televisions were updated as well.

The grounds were clean and manicured. The tennis court was nice and they had pontoon boats for rental. There is a small beach and while we were there, there was a ski and water show in front of the resort.

Overall, we were all pleased, the cost was a little higher than other resorts in the area but at least you could see where the extra money goes at this place...updated kitchens, manicured lawns.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuskieRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My family travels the "long trip north" every summer to stay at the Wild Eagle Lodge. I believe we have been there almost 5 years now. We always go over the 4th of July weekend and it NEVER disappoints. We always stay in the largest accommodations with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. What is awesome about the set-up of this resort is that EVERY UNIT looks at the lake, because it wraps around, spanning 2 lakes of the Eagle River chain. They have many fun activities for younger children- my cousins love Muskie Matt's Fishing Jamboree. There is also fun family activities like Wii Bowling or Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader?. The property is beautiful and very well up-kept. The lodge house is nice, with a great pool for kids to swim in, and a nice large hot tub, which sometimes those sore water-skiing muscles need. They also have gas on property and can fill you up, so you don't have to go searching or buy gas tanks for boats and jetskis. They also have a nice small beach so kids can build sand castles, and a floating raft to swim out to. It is always the perfect family vacation.

We also went once in the winter for snowmobiling and once again had an enjoyable time. The place is even more beautiful covered in snow in the winter, and rental companies have no problem going there to drop-off and pick-up snowmobiles.

Boondockers (under a different name now) always has friendly bartenders. They have an extensive bar and also serve food and snacks. Great place to hang out at night.

The condos are gorgeous and cozy, no matter what time of the year. Would definitely recommend to anyone traveling to Eagle River.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagotraveler1189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were off season so it was beautifully quiet and peaceful looking at the sunset over the lake while lying in the recliner in the living room. The condo even had a lit Christmas tree in the corner which made it really feel cozy. All was very comfortable and clean. We borrowed "Mama Mia" from the desk and settled in after buying a canoe in the cute old town. The rates were great for all we got. Walking the large property along the lake was fun too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle River
3.1 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#9 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
23.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
22.4 mi away
Holiday Acres Resort
Holiday Acres Resort
#2 of 8 in Rhinelander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Eagle Lodge

Property: Wild Eagle Lodge
Address: 4443 Chain O' Lakes Rd, Eagle River, WI 54521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wild Eagle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Eagle Lodge is the premiere resort on the Eagle River Chain of 28 Lakes. Wild Eagle Lodge offers 1, 2, and 3 bedroom condos ranging in size from 980 to 1,520 square feet with a fully equipped kitchen, two full bathrooms, a gas fireplace, private deck or patio, sofa sleeper, high speed internet, complimentary rowboats, canoes & kayaks, dockage space and a panoramic lake view. Enjoy the swimming pools, beach, campfires, tennis court, sand volleyball court and Blue Heron restaurant on-site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Wild Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Eagle Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing