We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect northwoods get-a-way”
other travelers have booked this property
Tuckaway front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tuckaway front
View of firepit in yard of the Tuckaway facing Kathan Lake Front view of Tuckaway coming down path to cabins
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Tuckaway front
View of firepit in yard of the Tuckaway facing Kathan Lake
Front view of Tuckaway coming down path to cabins
Side/front view of Tuckaway - very private!
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Kitchen area
Sitting area
Walking path
Beach area
Sitting bench on main pier
Kid's playground
View towards beach area
Ready for a boat ride!
Swimming from the swim platform
Lightning show over Kathan Lake
Bonfires!
Boat rides in the evening
Active eagle's nest on Kathan Lake
Loons love the tranquility of Kathan Lake
Fishing is great!
Kid's enjoying a paddleboat ride
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Eagle River, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Warren K
1 review
“A perfect northwoods get-a-way”
Reviewed July 6, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Close to Eagle River, yet off in the woods. A perfect resort on a small lake. Nice access to the lake, Kathan Lake. A wonderful easy going group of cabins. Perfect for families, with a playground area and a swimming raft. Each cabin has an outdoor picnic table and fire pit. Indoor furnishings complete with full kitchen, and cable TV.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2018
Hi Warren
Thank you soo much for your review, and we were very happy that we
were able to accommodate you and your family! Our cabins are graciously spread apart, as you know, and guests appreciate each other's privacy, but also some end up making lifelong friends! We hope that you can stay again sometime in the future!
Sincerely,Jim & Barb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance w
1 review
“Quite get away”
Reviewed June 7, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

It was very nice.We will come back again and stay longer next time. Peace and quite by the fire . Enjoyed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2018
Thank you very much for staying and thank you for the review. Hope to see you again!
Jim and Barb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewrdm
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rustic, cozy, peaceful...quintessential northwoods hideaway!”
Reviewed June 4, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We were so pleased with our stay at the Kathan Inn "Tuckaway" cabin! If you are considering renting one of the cozy cabins on the Kathan Inn property, here are some things you should know:

1. This is truly a "mom-and-pop" sort of operation. Barb and Jim work extremely hard to make sure their guests are comfortable, doing everything from roof repair, mowing, housekeeping, and more by themselves. Plus, they run the bar/grill on the property, so they are always busy. At the same time, they are very friendly--Barb took a break from mowing to come over and introduce herself to us shortly after we arrived, and Jim can always be counted on for a cheerful "Hi, guys!" whenever you see him.

2. The Kathan Inn cabins are exactly as described--rustic and cozy. Each cabin is unique, but furnished with everything you'll need, even puzzles and books to help you wait out a rainstorm. I appreciated the fact that the cabins were far enough apart that ours felt private and we could just relax by a fire and not hear or be bothered by any of the other guests.

3. Nature abounds here--wildflowers, frogs, birds, and more. I loved the whippoorwill that we heard singing most nights. The lake is lovely, and good for fishing. I caught a 16" bass right off one of the docks on the property!!

4. Have a meal at the Inn while you're there! Really good fish fry and burgers, in our experience!! Seems to be popular, too--lots of friendly folks there the nights we visited.

5. Be aware that the Eagle River Speedway is nearby and in operation during the summer months--Friday night races were a little noisy, but ended by 11 p.m.

6. Enjoy nature, quiet, and the beauty of the lake as much as you can while you're here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2018
Thank you so much for the review Lauren. We were very happy to accommodate you and Bob. You are a wonderful couple that we truly hope to see back some time!
Jim and Barb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venture70...
1 review
“This place ROCKS!”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is the second time we've booked with Barb, and we are never disappointed by their kindness and generosity! I will continue to take vacations here and recommend this resort to friends and family.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us again. Your family is so wonderful! Glad you were able to bring the dog this time!
Thanks again,
Jim & Barb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn V
1 review
“Kathan Inn”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very nice place for relaxation! Everything is in need of updating but all in all it was very quaint and comfortable. The beach is very weedy but it's only a couple of miles to Eagle River and there's a beach there! The bar had good food and everyone was very friendly! The kids play area was very nice also!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2017
Thank you for your review Dawn. We are happy that you found your cabin quaint and comfortable. And also thank you for your compliments on the bar/grill and the friendliness shown here! As far as your comment about 'everything needing to be updated', I'm sorry, but we will not be doing that! We advertise our cabins as rustic, cozy, clean, and comfortable. That is what we are. A rustic, Northern Wisconsin vacation experience. There are many families who come back to our resort year after year for exactly this reason. We do not offer 'brand new everything' that you may have been looking for. Which is also why we can offer our cabins at a very affordable rate. If looking for 'brand new everything', you will probably need to look at lodging which is twice the rate as ours, and then pay on top of that for everything we kindly offered for free: firewood, paddle boats, canoes, and rowboats.
Thank you for staying with us, and best wishes on your next vacation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2017
We thank you for your stay and apologize for Mother Nature. Thank you for being so understanding when we lost power for a few hours! Sorry about the spiders -- they must have been trying to get out of the elements too! Thank you for the great comments on our pizza, the atmosphere of the cabin, and the recommendation of the resort. We truly appreciate your stay and your review and we hope you can visit us again sometime in the future!
Sincerely,
Jim and Barb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
goutamide
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An escape from daily life”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Kathan inn Arbutus for one night. We loved the arrangements. You will find everything you need. The beds are very comfortable and I loved the sunrise there. My kid enjoyed the play area a lot. We liked the frozen lake. The downtown is very near.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2017
Thank you very much for your review Goutamide -- we were very happy to accommodate your family and hope you can come back again some time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing