We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish fry around!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honey Bear

Honey Bear
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Eagle River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best fish fry around!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great fish fry on Fridays - fresh fish, light breading, and delicious. Great slaw, fries. There are other items on the menu on Fridays - steak sandwich is terrific. Service is terrific - the bar doesn't cater to wine-lovers, but has good beer selection, great bloody Marys, and (of course) brandy manhattans (no mixes, fine selection of liquor). Free (fresh) popcorn by the bar.

Yes, you may have to wait... but this is a super-friendly place, people to talk to if you wish, an outdoor bar/patio, and a huge backyard for kids. We are there most Fridays in the summer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BoyleHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    29
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
madison oh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hostility served with a scowl”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

10 senior citizen canoeists on a Road Scholar program went to Honey Bear on the recommendation that the food was good. From the moment we entered the dining room, we experienced a negative attitude that was pervasive throughout the meal. The service was slow, unpleasant and surly. At one point (incredibly) we were told by the hostess/server that if we didn't like it there we should just leave. Nobody in our group has experienced such rudeness in all our travels. Does it matter that the fish fry was good? I don't think so. Jill S

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank seniortraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“north woods atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

love the supper club atmosphere, crowds of multiple ages.fast service even when crowded. Not a negative experience, only a positive experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shirley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh made burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Asked someone in three lakes for a good burger joint. And the recommended Honer Bear. Excellent!! Freshly made, great slaw and great potato salad. Price was right and the service was great also.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great fish fry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local hotel Manager. We were not disappointed in the least. The fish fry was great! We had to wait almost an hour to be seated, but it was well worth it. There is a nice outside area with an additional bar and deck to wait for seating. Staff was very nice, but so busy that we did have to get our own drinks from the bar. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Honey Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing