We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perch was spot on”

Tijan's Twelve Pines
Ranked #15 of 57 Restaurants in Eagle River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oak Lawn, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perch was spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We were here this weekend for the fish fry two of us at our table ordered the perch it was excellent. We were also happy to see that they added personal pizzas to the menu made the kids very happy!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hamburgler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hold the salt...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have a vacation property up here and frequent this place, for us thats probably at least six times a year, for fri fish fry, but won't be back over our recent experience. Had relatives visiting from out of town wanting a good northwoods fish fry. After waiting a reasonable amount of time at the bar, we were seated, but it was another 15 minutes before our table was greeted by wait staff. Perch was new on the menu, so we all ordered it. We used to get walleye, which was very good,but not on the menu anymore. It was another half hour til our food was served and it was so salty that it was inedible. Very hard and crunchy breading, almost like extra crunchy KFC, but with an overdose of salt. We told the waitress, 10 minutes later when she finally had time to check in on our meal, and she said they would make us new fish, that others had also complained. A half hour later, we got new fish, not the other fixings, which were now cold. The fish was still way too salty and 3 of the five people who ordered it didn't even touch the second round of fish, after a taste of it. The waitress noticed this and said nothing about the fish, but asked what she could do for our trouble, offering us a free drink, which we declined,as we already drank enough with all the time we were waiting. was disappointed further when they offered to take half off the fish dinners on our bill. Glad we paid $7 per diner for French fries and coleslaw. The owner came over and blamed the fish on Sysco, their supplier. I thought this was a poor move. When you own a restaurant YOU are responsible for the quality of food you are serving and the appropriate training and staffing to serve guests.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lolita545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were there for father's day and they had one individual serving as both the bartender and waitress. We ordered pizza, which was hot and fresh, but to took about 40 mins to an hour to get it, and this is not Chicago/deep dish style. The restaurant was about half full. The pizza oven here doesn't seem to be able to handle large number of pizza's. Only two seemed to come out every 15 mins or so.

As we were waiting for the pizza the waitress went back to the bar and started playing a dice game at the bar which was very loud and didn't leave a good impression to someone waiting for their food. She also left several of the tables full of dirty dishes, again which just left a negative impression. This was one of our first times back since they changed ownership years again and not sure if we will be back anytime soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harborgal_chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12Pines, Owner at Tijan's Twelve Pines, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. It was disappointing to read about your recent visit and that you received poor service. Unfortunately you dined with us on a day that we were indeed short staffed. We apologize for your lengthy wait time and we hope you will dine with us again. Please ask to speak with an owner and we would be happy to rectify the situation. We were happy to hear that the quality of your food was good. Hopefully we will see you again.
The Tijan family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My family and I ate here for the Friday fish fry. Very reasonable prices and some of the best broiled and fried (and yes... All we could eat) fish we have had in a long time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Friday Fish Fry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

A group of 5 of us visited 12 Pines on the Friday of Memorial Day week-end! What were we thinking? We were in for a pleasant surprise. There were spots at the bar and 2 friendly bartenders were there mixing our drinks before we were settled! The hostess mentioned a 45 minute wait but it ended up being 20. The fish, both fried and broiled (same price), were excellent, as was the cole slaw, baked beans, and side of potato.
Our waitress, Cindy, was friendly, and very efficient! They also have a Tiki Bar but it was closed for a private party! Give this place a try!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WisconsinChippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tijan's Twelve Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing