We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great, friendly place for family and friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great, friendly place for family and friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I love staying here every year for the Pond hockey championships. The cottages are cozy, quiet, on the banks of the Eagle river, and just a couple minutes from town. The owner, Fritz is extremely friendly and works very hard to make sure your stay is enjoyable. We're even planning to lace up the skates one more time this weekend to take advantage of the ice rink that Fritz has cleared off out on the river. Thanks Fritz!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamXlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you. I wish Team XL would have gone home with a trophy. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
21
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised.... the rooms were comfortable and quiet. I loved the fact we were not in town but a mere 2 min drive. The owner was friendly and very helpful !! I would definitely stay here again.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your stay.
Glad you could spend some time here in Eagle River.
Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

A friendly welcome out on the drive upon arrival as well as a welcome return upon departure is a part of owner Fritz's friendly way, who is diligently seeing to the comfort of his guests. The Cottage and Inn lodgings are a walk into the Northwoods' quickly disappearing resorts of the Wisconsin summer time stays. If one enjoys a visit into the 1950's and 1960's (with updated modern facilities) this is the place to stay. Thanks Fritz!!

Room Tip: Just ask Fritz as to what is desirable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your stay in Eagle River on the Eagle River. Glad you got to try some of the wonderful restaurants in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved our three-day stay at the Edgewater Inn & Cottages. It was reminescent of a bygone era but with a modern feel. We stayed in Cottage 1 right along the shore of the Eagle River. While not the Taj Mahal of cottages, it was clean, comfortable and charming. There were lovely, homey touches throughout: locally-roasted artisan coffee, well-stocked kitchen with essential tools and utensils, plush towels and plentiful toiletries. The bed and linens were very comfortable. Fritz, the owner, has clearly put countless hours of love and sweat into modernizing and renovating the property. While it has been updated, it still retains the look and feel of a mid-20th century authentic Northwoods resort. Nothing is not thought out here: sand play area for kids, manicured lawns (Fritz uses pet-and kid-safe weed solution), well-built docks with chairs and a table to rest a drink. Pets are welcome and not just tolerated. Fritz greets them like they are part of your family and only asks that you rightly pick up after your pet. There are campfire rings to make a bonfire, which Fritz offered to light for us city people. It's quiet and filled with the sounds of nature at night. We will be back in August with the kids when camp is out. And we will return next summer with another family in tow to stay in the bigger cottages. I feel a tradition coming on! Fritz, it was such a relaxing getaway for us and we enjoyed watching you care for the grounds and the property with such devotion!
Thank you so much! And two woofs from Holly and Roni too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AGTRAVELER40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you.
Glad you liked you cottage.
I usually do not supply cottage with towels or coffee.
I do supply them and the coffee for walk-in guests that stop on a whim.
RGDS Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was a great place to relax and get away. The accommodations are clean and comfortable and close to the backyard riverfront. Kids can fish off of the river front dock, they are always biting. Kingfishers were diving and deer were walking along the river bank on the other side. We built a fire and stayed up late getting lost in the stars. It's just on the outskirts of town so it was quiet at night. The owner is very friendly and knowledgeable, he helped us out set up our day trip exploring the Ottawa national forest just north of Eagle River. Far enough out of town to be quiet but close enough to grab a bite to eat and shop. Highly recommend place to relax in a peaceful setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Glad we had a clear night for star gazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Edgewater Inn and Cottages is the best place to be when you vacation in Eagle River, WI. The price is right and the family atmosphere is Awesome! Fritz the owner is very knowledgeable so if you need to know where something is or just want to check out a new scene, he's your guy! He is very friendly and always happy to help. The rooms and cottages remind me of what is was like a couple of decades ago but modernized! If you are a true outdoors person, you will love it! If you are going up north give Fritz a call at the Edgewater Inn and Cottages!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Country3Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you. Glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stopped here for our second visit in the past six months. Once again, we like the fact that the property is off the beaten path, and not in the main "core downtown area" of the city. Very wispy, winding river setting, with extremely tall pines all around - reminscent of a european villa. Many renovations had been taking place we noticed to keep in with the original design and motif of a days-gone-by nostalgic lodge-type inn.

Happy to see that the prices for rooms there, right out of the chute, are already discounted, and also are not laden with those "hidden junk fees" you get at the "shoe-box inn chain properties". These days its hard to find a good 'Mom and Pop' style of hotel or inn that shows true pride and character of ownership as this riverside gem portrays. Quiet and peaceful place to spend the night.

Room Tip: All rooms open up to a common deck with nice views of the nature and outdoors scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Sorry that the cold and rain came in that you could not use the waterfront for relaxing. Thank you for stopping by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eagle River hotels
3.1 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#9 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#6 of 12 in Eagle River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
#3 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn & Cottages

Property: Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Address: 5054 WI-70 West, Eagle River, WI 54521-9338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront of the Eagle River chain of 28 lakes between Watersmeet and Yellow Birch lakes. The Inn has 14 cozy knotty pine paneled rooms. The 6 waterfront cottages have kitchens with enclosed porches. Enjoy the private grounds sunbathing, volleyball, a few shots at hoops, fishing off the dock, wading in the water and finish the day by roasting marshmallows on the fire pits. We are encompassed by Chequamegon - Nicolet National Forest, Northern Highland American Legion Sate Forest and Vilas County Forest that have XC ski, bike and hiking trails. Enjoy a day of fishing for Muskies, Walleye, Bass or pan fish in one of the over 1300 lakes or Trout in one of the many clear streams. Look for a Bald Eagle, Ruff Grouse, Deer, Bear or any of the other wildlife. We have access to over 600 miles of groomed Snowmobile Trails just across the street. Being only one mile west of downtown Eagle River, other activities and dining are a quick walk or drive. For those of you that need the outside connections we have cable TV and Wireless Internet Connections or just sit near the water’s edge and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Edgewater Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing