We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay on the Milwaukee River in the Northwoods”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A friendly welcome out on the drive upon arrival as well as a welcome return upon departure is a part of owner Fritz's friendly way, who is diligently seeing to the comfort of his guests. The Cottage and Inn lodgings are a walk into the Northwoods' quickly disappearing resorts of the Wisconsin summer time stays. If one enjoys a visit into the 1950's and 1960's (with updated modern facilities) this is the place to stay. Thanks Fritz!!

Room Tip: Just ask Fritz as to what is desirable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your stay in Eagle River on the Eagle River. Glad you got to try some of the wonderful restaurants in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved our three-day stay at the Edgewater Inn & Cottages. It was reminescent of a bygone era but with a modern feel. We stayed in Cottage 1 right along the shore of the Eagle River. While not the Taj Mahal of cottages, it was clean, comfortable and charming. There were lovely, homey touches throughout: locally-roasted artisan coffee, well-stocked kitchen with essential tools and utensils, plush towels and plentiful toiletries. The bed and linens were very comfortable. Fritz, the owner, has clearly put countless hours of love and sweat into modernizing and renovating the property. While it has been updated, it still retains the look and feel of a mid-20th century authentic Northwoods resort. Nothing is not thought out here: sand play area for kids, manicured lawns (Fritz uses pet-and kid-safe weed solution), well-built docks with chairs and a table to rest a drink. Pets are welcome and not just tolerated. Fritz greets them like they are part of your family and only asks that you rightly pick up after your pet. There are campfire rings to make a bonfire, which Fritz offered to light for us city people. It's quiet and filled with the sounds of nature at night. We will be back in August with the kids when camp is out. And we will return next summer with another family in tow to stay in the bigger cottages. I feel a tradition coming on! Fritz, it was such a relaxing getaway for us and we enjoyed watching you care for the grounds and the property with such devotion!
Thank you so much! And two woofs from Holly and Roni too!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AGTRAVELER40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you.
Glad you liked you cottage.
I usually do not supply cottage with towels or coffee.
I do supply them and the coffee for walk-in guests that stop on a whim.
RGDS Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was a great place to relax and get away. The accommodations are clean and comfortable and close to the backyard riverfront. Kids can fish off of the river front dock, they are always biting. Kingfishers were diving and deer were walking along the river bank on the other side. We built a fire and stayed up late getting lost in the stars. It's just on the outskirts of town so it was quiet at night. The owner is very friendly and knowledgeable, he helped us out set up our day trip exploring the Ottawa national forest just north of Eagle River. Far enough out of town to be quiet but close enough to grab a bite to eat and shop. Highly recommend place to relax in a peaceful setting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Glad we had a clear night for star gazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Edgewater Inn and Cottages is the best place to be when you vacation in Eagle River, WI. The price is right and the family atmosphere is Awesome! Fritz the owner is very knowledgeable so if you need to know where something is or just want to check out a new scene, he's your guy! He is very friendly and always happy to help. The rooms and cottages remind me of what is was like a couple of decades ago but modernized! If you are a true outdoors person, you will love it! If you are going up north give Fritz a call at the Edgewater Inn and Cottages!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Country3Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you. Glad you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stopped here for our second visit in the past six months. Once again, we like the fact that the property is off the beaten path, and not in the main "core downtown area" of the city. Very wispy, winding river setting, with extremely tall pines all around - reminscent of a european villa. Many renovations had been taking place we noticed to keep in with the original design and motif of a days-gone-by nostalgic lodge-type inn.

Happy to see that the prices for rooms there, right out of the chute, are already discounted, and also are not laden with those "hidden junk fees" you get at the "shoe-box inn chain properties". These days its hard to find a good 'Mom and Pop' style of hotel or inn that shows true pride and character of ownership as this riverside gem portrays. Quiet and peaceful place to spend the night.

Room Tip: All rooms open up to a common deck with nice views of the nature and outdoors scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Sorry that the cold and rain came in that you could not use the waterfront for relaxing. Thank you for stopping by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable and a good value. Owner was extremely helpful with local information such as dining recommendations and there is a snowmobile rental shop across the street (very convenient).

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms available with easy access to the parking lot and a nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krf1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing us. The weather was great for your snowmobiling this late in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Recently a friend and I stayed for a weekend at this property and were greet warmly with the owner Fritz upon our arrival. Never having been in Eagle River before Fritz was full of information, maps, and suggestions on how to maximize our visit to the area. We stayed in a cottage right along the river looking out onto the ice skating rink on the property, The location was set back far enough from the main road that noise was never an issue and there was plenty of privacy. The beds were soft and comfortable and the rooms were clean and spacious. There is plenty of parking and the location is near the center of town. Looking forward to my next stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornerstonePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Mark glad you guys had a good time cross country skiing and snowmobiling. Hope to see you and the family up here this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eagle River hotels
3.1 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#8 of 12 in Eagle River
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#6 of 12 in Eagle River
231 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
#3 of 12 in Eagle River
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn & Cottages

Address: 5054 WI-70 West, Eagle River, WI 54521-9338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range: $86 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront of the Eagle River chain of 28 lakes between Watersmeet and Yellow Birch lakes. The Inn has 14 cozy knotty pine paneled rooms. The 6 waterfront cottages have kitchens with enclosed porches. Enjoy the private grounds sunbathing, volleyball, a few shots at hoops, fishing off the dock, wading in the water and finish the day by roasting marshmallows on the fire pits. We are encompassed by Chequamegon - Nicolet National Forest, Northern Highland American Legion Sate Forest and Vilas County Forest that have XC ski, bike and hiking trails. Enjoy a day of fishing for Muskies, Walleye, Bass or pan fish in one of the over 1300 lakes or Trout in one of the many clear streams. Look for a Bald Eagle, Ruff Grouse, Deer, Bear or any of the other wildlife. We have access to over 600 miles of groomed Snowmobile Trails just across the street. Being only one mile west of downtown Eagle River, other activities and dining are a quick walk or drive. For those of you that need the outside connections we have cable TV and Wireless Internet Connections or just sit near the water’s edge and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Edgewater Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing