We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a reasonably-priced typical northern WI spot hosted by a friendly man named Fritz.

The #1 room was small but clean, and the TV and shower worked well.

Fritz is a font of knowledge regarding the area, and his sightseeing tips were spot on.He was also very helpful in providing a couple of small extras that had been left behind.

Two major issues:

1) The bed has only the very LARGE pillows which made for very uncomfortable sleeping.

2) A moderately light sleeper in a downstairs room would have trouble here if the room(s) above are occupied. The older construction of the building is reflected in that every step taken by someone in an upstairs room sounds like they are coming through the floor into the lower room. Our upstairs neighbors arrived at 1:30 am and left at 7:30 am, with much clanking and knocking each time, impossible to sleep through. With the hotel almost empty on an autumn night, we would have appreciated more assistance in regard to room placement from our host.

Unless you are a VERY sound sleeper, do not even consider a downstairs room in this hotel.

Room Tip: Cottages look nice, don't stay downstairs, way too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for bring to our attention the king size pillows for the king bed are to large. We will be replacing them with Queens size pillow. We do have available other styles of pillows for our quests from firm to soft. We have placed new cards in the rooms to advise guest of the selection.

Sorry for other guest coming in late at night.

RGDS Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed in cottage #1 in July 2012. The cottage is small yet offers everything you'd need for a simple get-away. The bathroom was clean and modern, and the view from the screened in porch was nice and relaxing.

If you're looking for fancy, this is not. if you're looking for a convenient location, with a nice view, this is the place. It is rustic. It's not sparkling clean -- it is on the river, with sand and sunshine. I recommend a cottage over an Inn room, as the cottages offer a better view and fresh air.

I also liked that I could bring my two cats for an extra $10/per. It made my three nights more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Cottage #1 is right on the water and a little further away from the rest (except #2). The pier is ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Glad you and your cats enjoyed your stay.
RGDS Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I wanted 2 get away for a nice quite relaxing weekend for our Anniversary. Edgewater Inn & Cottages perfect rustic hotel that allows pets for $10 a night; if you don't have kids that need a pool. It is very old but comfy, kind of feels like camp or your cottage. It was pefect for us since i ended up getting sick. Fri. afternoon and spent rest of night in bed. Which i felt like i was home sick in bed. Saturday I was ready to go went in office talked 2 Fritz he suggeested lots of places to go from the shops, 2 nature places, 2 the flower place.
This hotel is not for the high maintence kind of girl or guy; very old laid back; I would recommend it 2 any but these kind of people and adult's with kids that need a pool.
Thanks for a wonderful stay this past weekend and making our Anniversary enjoyable!

Room Tip: Stay in the room with the king bed if it's only 2 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your review. Glad you got to explore at least one day.
RGDS Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Edgewater Inn is a simple and comfortable place to start from and come back to after a day of touring.
The inn is not new and has probably seen better days but it is a very good value for your money.
You have a choice of rooms at the main inn building or a self-catering cottage of which a few are located on the grounds.
We stayed in the main building, in the best room - No. 9.
The back yard is beautiful and slopes right down to the river. Very relaxing.
Fritz the proprietor is very friendly and provided valuable information regarding where to go and what to see.
The inn doesn't serve breakfast (or any other meals), so be prepared.
Be sure to have breakfast at least once at the "Flour Sack" nearby (reviewed by me separately).
At the end of the day Edgewater was what we expected and we certainly enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: If you go for the main building - Room #9 has the best view by far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for posting. glad you like the quite waterfront.. Yes the Flour Sack is a nice little place for a bit to eat. RGDS Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have stayed at Edgewater with friends and family for over two decades and I have to say through a few owners. Fritz has been one of the most passionate people about his business, his home. That's one of the things I love the most out of everywhere I've stayed in Eagle River growing up, Fritz makes you feel at home. Like it is your home too. If there's any questions on what to do or where to go, weather it's Spring, Summer, Fall or Winter fun (which I've visited every season) he knows! And if by a slim chance he doesn't he will go the distance to find out. If there's any problems he fixes it right away (which we only ran into one since Fritz took over) and it was due to the extreme winter temp. Thank You Fritz for always making it fun and making us feel safe and like family. To me and my family that means the world! See you soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Country3Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Hope to see you again soon. RGDS Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to relax for the weekend after working crazy retail hours and Fritz had an available cottage for us even though it was short notice. After a 6 hour drive from Chicago, the place was nothing but quiet and beautiful. Fritz is very passionate and committed to his property and guests and provided a great, welcoming stay. He is very personable and made our stay fun, and friendly. We especially loved the deck on the river, it was a PERFECT stay and we can't wait to go back in the winter time for snowmobiling.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meliha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your trip up to Eagle River. Hope to see you this winter. RGDS Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My son actually picked the Edgewater because we were looking for a traditional, up north, summer vacation. He picked a winner. Our cabin felt like home the minute we walked in the door. Fritz is very friendly and has good suggestions for things to do, although we really didn't need them since we spent our days swimming and relaxing. I am eagerly looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toddinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
RGDS Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle River
3.1 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
62 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
311 reviews
21 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
1 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#6 of 12 in Eagle River
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn & Cottages

Address: 5054 WI-70 West, Eagle River, WI 54521-9338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range: $86 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront of the Eagle River chain of 28 lakes between Watersmeet and Yellow Birch lakes. The Inn has 14 cozy knotty pine paneled rooms. The 6 waterfront cottages have kitchens with enclosed porches. Enjoy the private grounds sunbathing, volleyball, a few shots at hoops, fishing off the dock, wading in the water and finish the day by roasting marshmallows on the fire pits. We are encompassed by Chequamegon - Nicolet National Forest, Northern Highland American Legion Sate Forest and Vilas County Forest that have XC ski, bike and hiking trails. Enjoy a day of fishing for Muskies, Walleye, Bass or pan fish in one of the over 1300 lakes or Trout in one of the many clear streams. Look for a Bald Eagle, Ruff Grouse, Deer, Bear or any of the other wildlife. We have access to over 600 miles of groomed Snowmobile Trails just across the street. Being only one mile west of downtown Eagle River, other activities and dining are a quick walk or drive. For those of you that need the outside connections we have cable TV and Wireless Internet Connections or just sit near the water’s edge and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Edgewater Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing