We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Quaint, cozy, and gorgeous. We loved our stay at Edgewater. It felt like staying at grandma's cabin. The location is conveniently close to downtown, but the property's river/lakefront was secluded and picturesque. Everything you could want from a true Northwoods experience.
If "modern" is what you are looking for, I recommend a chain hotel or staying in a big city. Edgewater is beautiful and rustic. It's clean and well-managed and the owner is kind and knowledgeable. I have been vacationing in northern Wisconsin my whole life and Edgewater maintains the peaceful, old-fashioned feel that I love about being in the Northwoods.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you gald you enjoyed your stay. And thank you for letting others know we are not like the chains. RGDS Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
21
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Fritz, thank you very much for your hospitality.... we stayed on the lower level, last room....this room was extremely clean and comfortable...I would highly recommend this motel...and the rated were lower than compairable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotsexx59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank your for stopping in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spoke with Fritz by phone twice in the month prior to our visit. When we showed up that day, Fritz remembered us, the reservation, but could not accommodate us. His computer had lost our reservation and our room was gone. We showed him the confirmation number but he was all out of rooms. I guess I was a little glad. I was not impressed with the inn, the rooms, or the possible service given the situation. To be fair, Fritz tried to book us another room in another...motel, we drove past it (and eew, ick!!) and we kept driving to the next town! Also, Eagle River has changed dramatically in the last decade. Gone is the charming town with activities and shops & in its place is a highly commercialized, over-priced, congested town that makes the Wisconsin Dells feel like a relaxing drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We are sorry that we had lost your reservation and could not help you in finding another room in Eagle River.

RGDS Fritz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in a cottage next to the river, and we were almost immediately greeted by a bald eagle! One of our favorite features was a small dock just in front of the cottage with a couple of comfy chairs where we sat and enjoyed the surroundings. Overall the cottage met our expectations & we had a great time. The only downside we found was the we could hear traffic noise from the dock.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whittey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for stopping by. Glad you enjoyed your Stay.

RGDS Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed one night at the Edgewater as our last stop on our motorcycle Circle Tour of Lake Superior before heading home to southern Wisconsin. Our room was in the Inn and was very comfortable and clean. This motel is a great example of hard work on the part of likeable Fritz the owner. While the building was built in the late 30's Fritz works hard to make upgrades and repairs to it to be able to provide a great alternative to big box hotel chains. I'd fully recommend giving the Edgewater consideration when in the Eagle River area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and it was on the back side of the inn with a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flaeser, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Glad we could give you a nice stay at the end of you trip.

RGDS Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place is beautiful. Inn is built in Swiss style, it attracts you from the highway when you enter Eagle River on Highway 17 on your left. Owner of it Fritz also has 10 cottages right by the Eagle River, and that's where we stayed. This was the most pieceful, beautiful, quite and friendly place I've ever been to. Rooms are well equipped and very clean. In this kind of place you don't even need a restaurant, every cottage has its own grill and tables with chairs outside. You can enjoy your meal by the bonfire with gorgeous scenic view or on the dock. If you have big group of people you can also play sand volleyball. You can even use none-motor boats for free. What we really liked is that there's so much of land that you can enjoy your privacy as much as you want to. Owner of Edgewater Inn & Cottages is extremely nice person that can make you a very good company by the bonfire. He can help you catch a frog or a craw-fish if you would like to.
And of course, you can see a REAL white-headed eagle while sitting outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander2760859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you. The row boat use is part of the cottage rental only. Available for rent by the guests in the Inn. Glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We just completed our fourth stay at Edgewater Inn & Cottages. I cannot comment on the inn as all four times we have stayed in either Cottage #1 or #2. The owner Fritz is very friendly and accomodating. When we had a circuit breaker go due to too many heaters going (it was in the 40s) and Fritz was down there in a flash to restore power.
We like that he has a great pet policy and the cottages have been comfortable and homey.Sitting in the front room of Cottage #1, you can watch the wildlife go by and enjoy a nice sunset as well. A great place to go and relax...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinstonB261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eagle River hotels
3.1 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#9 of 12 in Eagle River
53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
200 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
#3 of 12 in Eagle River
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn & Cottages

Property: Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Address: 5054 WI-70 West, Eagle River, WI 54521-9338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront of the Eagle River chain of 28 lakes between Watersmeet and Yellow Birch lakes. The Inn has 14 cozy knotty pine paneled rooms. The 6 waterfront cottages have kitchens with enclosed porches. Enjoy the private grounds sunbathing, volleyball, a few shots at hoops, fishing off the dock, wading in the water and finish the day by roasting marshmallows on the fire pits. We are encompassed by Chequamegon - Nicolet National Forest, Northern Highland American Legion Sate Forest and Vilas County Forest that have XC ski, bike and hiking trails. Enjoy a day of fishing for Muskies, Walleye, Bass or pan fish in one of the over 1300 lakes or Trout in one of the many clear streams. Look for a Bald Eagle, Ruff Grouse, Deer, Bear or any of the other wildlife. We have access to over 600 miles of groomed Snowmobile Trails just across the street. Being only one mile west of downtown Eagle River, other activities and dining are a quick walk or drive. For those of you that need the outside connections we have cable TV and Wireless Internet Connections or just sit near the water’s edge and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Edgewater Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing