We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quite place for any vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great quite place for any vacation”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place is beautiful. Inn is built in Swiss style, it attracts you from the highway when you enter Eagle River on Highway 17 on your left. Owner of it Fritz also has 10 cottages right by the Eagle River, and that's where we stayed. This was the most pieceful, beautiful, quite and friendly place I've ever been to. Rooms are well equipped and very clean. In this kind of place you don't even need a restaurant, every cottage has its own grill and tables with chairs outside. You can enjoy your meal by the bonfire with gorgeous scenic view or on the dock. If you have big group of people you can also play sand volleyball. You can even use none-motor boats for free. What we really liked is that there's so much of land that you can enjoy your privacy as much as you want to. Owner of Edgewater Inn & Cottages is extremely nice person that can make you a very good company by the bonfire. He can help you catch a frog or a craw-fish if you would like to.
And of course, you can see a REAL white-headed eagle while sitting outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander2760859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Edgewater Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you. The row boat use is part of the cottage rental only. Available for rent by the guests in the Inn. Glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
21
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We just completed our fourth stay at Edgewater Inn & Cottages. I cannot comment on the inn as all four times we have stayed in either Cottage #1 or #2. The owner Fritz is very friendly and accomodating. When we had a circuit breaker go due to too many heaters going (it was in the 40s) and Fritz was down there in a flash to restore power.
We like that he has a great pet policy and the cottages have been comfortable and homey.Sitting in the front room of Cottage #1, you can watch the wildlife go by and enjoy a nice sunset as well. A great place to go and relax...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinstonB261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is a wonderful example of privately own hotel. It is comfortable and clean and beautifully situated along the Eagle River. The owner, Fritz makes you feel right at home and is very attentive to making your stay a good one. The building is charmingly decorated as a swiss chalet. The rooms are small but the beds are comfortable. There are also cottages available along the river and fishing is available entertainment. This was our fourth year staying with Fritz for Eagle River's Cranberry Fest and we wouldn't stay any place else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MequonTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Edgewater is clean and cozy and situated right on a quiet bend in the Eagle River. We arrived later than expected on Friday, but were warmly greeted and welcomed. We stayed in Cottage #9, two adults and two grade school children. The cottage was outfitted with everything we needed and was well maintained. It bacame the base camp for a wonderful weekend enjoying the sights and fun of Northern Wisconsin. We cooked out one night on the almost new and very clean Weber kettle grill provided for our use. Fritz, the owner, is always on site to help with anything you might need and even spent an hour helping our kids learn to fish. I definitely recommend the Edgewater and we already plan on going back soon and bringing some friends.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, IL
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is my fourth year staying at the Edgewater Inn & Cottages. The first time, I arrived in the area at about 5 AM and called around for a place that would let me check in early. Fritz (owner) was the first to actually answer the phone at that hour. He said, "Come on over, we're happy to accommodate (and you Know I awakened him).

Edgewater has the same kind of rustic lodge/cabins feel as my family used to find in New England when we were on the road. Fritz takes a lot of personal pride in his hotel, the way he takes care of it, and in his dealings with guests. You can't do better.

Thanks for everything Fritz!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bison_lvca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

My friend and I stayed 4 nights and absolutely loved it. The view from our room #9 was fantastic. The location was also terrific. Our host Fritz was very helpful in finding restaurants and things to do and directions, etc. He had wonderful towels too. There are lots of nice places to sit outside and enjoy the scenery and the river. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonniesandford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Edgewater Inn & Cottages had an opening for our last minute Memorial Day Trip. "Fritz," accommodated our every need and literally made us feel at home. He even brought down homemade chocolate chip cookies to our campfire. Our row boat was included in the very reasonable price. There was firewood available for purchase. Our cottage was pet friendly. Fritz told us where we could buy the best bait. I even observed Fritz take a set up fishing pole to a couple and showed them out to use it! WI FI was included. At the end our our stay, I asked him if there was any interesting places to go see and he pointed us to Bond Falls which turned out to be spectacular!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tln911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eagle River hotels
3.1 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#9 of 12 in Eagle River
53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
200 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
#3 of 12 in Eagle River
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn & Cottages

Property: Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Address: 5054 WI-70 West, Eagle River, WI 54521-9338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront of the Eagle River chain of 28 lakes between Watersmeet and Yellow Birch lakes. The Inn has 14 cozy knotty pine paneled rooms. The 6 waterfront cottages have kitchens with enclosed porches. Enjoy the private grounds sunbathing, volleyball, a few shots at hoops, fishing off the dock, wading in the water and finish the day by roasting marshmallows on the fire pits. We are encompassed by Chequamegon - Nicolet National Forest, Northern Highland American Legion Sate Forest and Vilas County Forest that have XC ski, bike and hiking trails. Enjoy a day of fishing for Muskies, Walleye, Bass or pan fish in one of the over 1300 lakes or Trout in one of the many clear streams. Look for a Bald Eagle, Ruff Grouse, Deer, Bear or any of the other wildlife. We have access to over 600 miles of groomed Snowmobile Trails just across the street. Being only one mile west of downtown Eagle River, other activities and dining are a quick walk or drive. For those of you that need the outside connections we have cable TV and Wireless Internet Connections or just sit near the water’s edge and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Edgewater Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Eagle River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing