We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique fun getaway!!”
Review of Don Q Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Q Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dodgeville
Certificate of Excellence
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique fun getaway!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The Don Q is the most unique experience I've ever had the pleasure of having....and I grew up in New Orleans!! My husband and I stayed in the Casino Royal room. It was very clean. Yes, as some of the other reviews stated this is not a modern facility. That was part of the charm!!! The wood work is beautiful. The decor in the lobby is "old west". The rooms are very quiet. We wouldn't have known there were any other guests in the hotel if we hadn't have seen them in the lobby. There were families with children enjoying the pool area. We walked through the tunnel to the restaurant. There were lots of locals at "Sam and Maddies". I think that says a lot about a hotel restaurant. If the locals go there it's probably good. The bar area was fun. The food was good as well was the service. I can't wait to go back and stay in some of the other theme rooms. We had such a nice time. I can't think of anyone who would not enjoy or benefit from a weekend get away like this one.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saintdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    42
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
29
68
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I recently stayed at the Don Q. Inn in the Cave Fantasuite, and it was awesome! The room was clean and very unique. The staff was friendly and It was a very relaxed "homey" environment. Perfect for a couples getaway. The pool was large indoor/outdoor and heated, and we were delightfully surprised it had a pool table. The attached restaurant had good food and very reasonably priced. We only stayed for one night, and I wish we could have stayed longer. We are already planning another visit in May. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is open minded and adventurous. My only advice to any female, is bring your own hair conditioner.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambergsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake County, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

I have never been to a place so cool before. All their rooms are themed. They have 2 story rooms, one is a hot air balloon and one is a UFO. They both have huge jacuzzis.. so big you can literally float back and forth in it. We go there for our anniversarys. In the front of the hotel is a a Boegin C-47 that is autographed by Farrah Fawcett. You can go inside the plane and find out alot of history about it. This is a great place that has friendly service and clean rooms. You can walk underground to get to the restaurant. Its an experience everyone should try. Never have we found a place like this before. It isnt too far from the House On The Rock if you are looking for something to do.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starpatchsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We have stayed there before and it seemed in need of repair at that time. Stayed in swinging bed room. No frig and no shower in room. Noisy bed. The hottub has no jets and was dirty. Would have helped to update the room after 30yrs. The pool was in bad shape, mold and broken stairs. It would be a great place if they would keep up with the maintence and redo the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I just returned from a trip to the Don Q Inn with my two kids (ages 3 and 4), my brother and mom. We had a great stay. There was no smell of smoke, it was quite and the rooms were clean. The staff was great and friendly. We will definitely be staying here again! Don't listen to the other negative reviews- if you want an interesting, nice, quaint place to stay- this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahhf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wayne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We stayed for our anniversary in the Jungle Room. The jacuzzi was dirty, there was mold on the windows and down the wall, the bed was broken, there was dirt everywhere and the bathroom walls and the tub were dirty. Management said we could have had another room IF there was one. We paid $225 for this room and would have expected at least our money back or a portion but no. Their customer service left something to be desired. We will NEVER stay there again and will not recommend it to anyone. How they pass state inspections is beyond me.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wolfefb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

This was our 3rd stay there in a year because our daughter lives nearby. This stay was horrible! Our non-smoking room was in the middle of smoking rooms so the hallway was a smelly cloud of smoke. Room was really dirty. Filth on the bathroom walls, curtains and corners. Wallpaper peeling everywhere in the bathroom. Much smaller room than our other visits but charged the same price. Advertise an AARP discount but they refused to give it to me when I reserved the room. Major electrical problems everywhere. Definately NOT up to code. We are DONE with this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckysingspraise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodgeville
1.5 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
14.1 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#3 of 6 in Spring Green
117 reviews
13.2 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
143 reviews
7.9 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
98 reviews
22.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Q Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Q Inn

Property: Don Q Inn
Address: 3658 State Road 23 North, Dodgeville, WI 53533
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Dodgeville
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dodgeville
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Don Q Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don q Hotel Dodgeville
Don q Dodgeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing