We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly good hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dodgeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The House on the Rock Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dodgeville
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My family of 5 stayed at this hotel the night before we went to The House on the Rock, our tickets were included in the price of the room. We had a suite which consisted of a large room with 2 double beds and a pull out couch. Our family ( kids 13, 10, and 7) was comfortable, the beds were comfortable, our room was clean, we had everything we needed and enjoyed our stay. The kids loved the pool area and walking around the lobby and gift shop. The food was typical but fresh. If you are used to traveling with a family and getting what you need (the basics) for an affordable price then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bastin1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was a very comfortable and clean hotel. It has a lovely swimming pool, in door and out. But the Bar area was closed as September is classed as out of season. The only drinks you could get were out of a vending machine or luke warm coffee from the breakfast room in the basement. no drink facilities in the room at all. Breakfast was included but we never made it up for this. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A group of 13 of us stayed here for a night during a road trip from Chicago to Vancouver. We booked three 2-bedroom suites with House on the Rock tour included (great value for a group).

My lasting impression of this place is that it has great pools! A huge kiddy pool with a submarine in it (the adults enjoyed the slides as well), another indoor pool, a hot tub and an outdoor pool.

The rooms were comfortable, the breakfast hit the spot, and the staff were very helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getareaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Don't bother. Unless you like paying way too much for what could at best be described as a cheap motel room. It's one of those places where you just don't want to look under the bedsheets for fear of what the mattress looks like. I'm rather lost for words when it comes to how awful the breakfast was. For starters it's in an underground room. Yes, you are in the heart of the Wisconsin countryside, but there is no natural light at breakfast. And the food? Saying it was plastic would be kind. I just can't think of any reason for staying here. OK, so you are close to The House On The Rock, which genuinely is one of our favourite spots in the country. But don't let that persuade you. Stay somewhere else. Yuk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank w1zb4ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The rooms weren't fancy but they were clean and comfortable - no complaints at all. The pool area was nice - we enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool/hot tub especially. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful whenever we had a question. We loved that we got free tickets to the House on the Rock - what a great deal for the price! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jprandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Went here with my girlfriend for a short weekend getaway to check out the "House on the Rock" attraction. Upon arriving at the inn, it looks nice. The lobby if I had to describe it's overall eye appeal is slightly above mediocre. The employees at the front desk really just seemed uninterested and didn't really care to assist or engage us on any questions that we had regarding good places to eat or things to do locally. Albeit this is in BUMF*** Wisconsin, but still. The room was mediocre at best in appearance. And the bed was layered with 3 sorts of blankets/comforters the top being a medium thickness comforter that was of a horrible pattern (probably to better hide stains) the middle blanket was one of those rough/coarse fabric blankets and on the bottom was just a large bed sheet. It seemed very shoddy and felt coarse as well... We also found a nice long blonde hair on the bed that didn't belong to us.. The bed sheet itself was wrinkly, and the room had an odor that wasn't natural, it wasn't totally unpleasant of a smell but it wasn't pleasant either, was just unusual for the room to smell the way it did. There were many stains on the carpet of all sorts of shapes and sizes. The water is well water but I knew that before booking, it didn't taste bad at all but did have an odor to it as well. The big killer for us was that there was no internet... Let me rephrase, they say they have internet but secretly I think they don't because there was numerous occasions when my girlfriend needed to do some work online and traveled to the lobby only to be told that it didn't work or wasn't working when she inquired about it. Nor did they attempt or try to get it fixed during the 3 day stay we were there. We found a local McDonalds not far away and spent about 2 hours there using their free WIFI so my GF could do her work and I could look up things to do for us. If I had to do this weekend trip over, I would have booked a stay in the Wisconsin Dells and just reserved a day to spend at the house on the rock which is about 1.5 hour away from the dells.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The lobby areas are nice but other than that - it is a place to sleep and that's about it. We were disappointed. Overall the place is in need of an update. The rooms are vary outdated. We had a king size bed with a whirlpool tub. The bed was comfortable. The water was well water so the whole room spelled of sulfer when we filled up the tub. (no- we did not get in the water)
~Internet did not work in our room.
~ Continental breakfast is served from 7-9am - even on the weekends. So we missed it. I was able to get a cup of coffee around 10 am in the breakfast room. There are no coffee makers in the rooms.
~Lounge off lobby - not open on Sunday - so - no food or drink on Sundays
~Ladies at front desk were very friendly
~Pools and exercise room looked nice but we did not use them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Born_in_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodgeville
0.3 mi away
Don Q Inn
Don Q Inn
#2 of 4 in Dodgeville
139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
13.4 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
126 reviews
21.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
7.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House on the Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on the Rock Inn

Address: 3591 State Road 23, Dodgeville, WI 53533-8901
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Dodgeville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dodgeville
Price Range: $95 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House on the Rock Inn has something for everyone. There is virtually any room style available from family suites to a standard room. A submarine-themed play pool for the kids stands next to a swimming pool for all ages, or relax by the fireplace in the plush lounge. And of course the cozy rooms make for the ideal conclusion to a fun filled day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The House On The Rock Hotel Dodgeville
Hotel On The Rock
House Of The Rock Wi
The House On Rock Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing