We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dodgeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The House on the Rock Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dodgeville
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

If this had been a $75 room, we would have been happier, but this was about $150. It's clean, but the mattresses and furnishings are OLD (in our room, one of the box springs was coming apart.) Mattresses were foam- like a college dorm... and the sheets were too small and came off during the night... only TWO very old pillows per bed. Carpet was worn, air conditioner LOUD (woke us up during the night). And for the price, we expected at least a small refrigerator or coffee maker.
Continental breakfast in the basement was poor - no fresh fruit, mostly mini donuts and mini muffins. Seating was tight; most tables were large for big families.
The hotel name makes you think it's right next door to the House on the Rock, when in fact it's a ten-minute drive. It's a full 20 minutes from American Players Theatre. (Do not confuse this with the House on the Rock RESORT... which is next door to the theatre - but is also 10 minutes from the House on the Rock in the other direction.)
The staff was nice, and the pools are great if you have small children (we don't). But this is an extremely over-priced place. Won't stay here again.

Room Tip: (No restaurant)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    59
    65
    38
    25
See reviews for
113
70
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
suburbs of Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Found the Inn while looking up House On The Rock. We got in a little late Friday night, the clerk was waiting for us when we arrived. The room we booked included our tickets for House On The Rock, as well as several tokens for the music machines. Right away we saw some quirky items in the lobby. (You will see them again if you go to The House On the Rock.) We were excited it seemed cute. Our room had the Whirlpool tub, as well as a microwave and refrigerator.
We thought the bed seemed low to the ground, but it was Very comfortable, the thermostat was very responsive.
We enjoyed a drink at the bar, which was $8 for a beer and a full glass of wine. Compared to other travels this was pretty good. The pool area has a little submarine "kiddie" pool with some slides a regular pool, and hot tub. We enjoyed our stay a lot! I recommend anyone going to House On The Rock, it's a great deal, because you get your tickets right away, and it's only 2 miles away.

Room Tip: The whirlpool room has the tub right in the bedroom, very cozy! Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel4Fun31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Can't say there was anything great about this hotel. It got the job done in providing a place to sleep but not much else other than that. Continental breakfast was a joke in comparison to what has become the expected norm in most other hotels that offer a continental breakfast. Pretty much bare bones. The one shining star was the pool. My 10 year old son loved the submarine theme and it remains his favorite hotel pool to date.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAMT2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Rather bland rooms, but super clean and quite large. We had the king room that had a desk, sofa 2 bathroom sinks and closet, more than enough for the two of us. The Inn it self was nice, large pool area and pleanty of lobby seating. The staff was friendly and checked us in and out smoothly. If anything needs attention, it's the breakfast, adaquate, but not fancy.
Very reasonable, we purchased the room and ultimate House on the Rock admission for two, saving about 26$.

Room Tip: It's a rather large property, our room was in the back, thus very quiet.....Be sure to look into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 220ord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The television has terrible station selection. The Internet was advertised but poor availability in our room. Breakfast was just okay. The staff during our stay was inexperienced. Overall, we would not be willing to try again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed here due to two other stops we made to get a room last minute were none available. The room and bedding needed a lot of attention to meet the quality of the price for the room. The carpet was stained in numerous places and the bedding was either of low quality or just worn out. It appeared that all of the attention to detail was spent in the lobby area to make the place look appealing, which it did. We would definitly not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

When searching for places to stay in Spring Green, the internet makes this seem like it's the only nearby hotel. This is not the case. A friend and I bought the Southwest Wisconsin tour pass and stayed here while seeing American Players Theater, House on the Rock, and Wollersheim Winery. We booked the last room available that weekend. The lobby is cool, but beyond that the hotel is extremely dated and unattractive. The room was clean and smelled nice, the bathroom was clean, and both the room and the bathroom were huge. Everything was faded and threadbare and looked like it was straight out of 1982. The air conditioner kept shutting off during the night. There were no on demand movies and we had only about 12 channels on the TV. No one in the hotel could give us directions, In the morning, the front desk woman was extremely rude and demanded to know why no one had answered the phone when she called to kick us out fifteen minutes before check out time. We did not use the pool area, but I looked it over and it would definitely appeal to children. Overall this is a clean hotel, but not much more. It was mediocre at best, and is extremely overpriced. I wouldn't pay more than $79 for a room or hotel like this, and we payed $147. It's conveniently located in regard to House on the Rock, but I would suggest the extra ten minutes of driving time and staying at a major chain in Dodgeville.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cubeinthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodgeville
1.2 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
13.3 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
304 reviews
14.3 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
11.7 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
146 reviews
7.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House on the Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on the Rock Inn

Property: The House on the Rock Inn
Address: 3591 State Road 23, Dodgeville, WI 53533-8901
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Dodgeville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dodgeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House on the Rock Inn has something for everyone. There is virtually any room style available from family suites to a standard room. A submarine-themed play pool for the kids stands next to a swimming pool for all ages, or relax by the fireplace in the plush lounge. And of course the cozy rooms make for the ideal conclusion to a fun filled day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The House On The Rock Hotel Dodgeville
Hotel On The Rock
House Of The Rock Wi
The House On Rock Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing