We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go anywhere but here!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam and Maddies - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sam and Maddies
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go anywhere but here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

An absolute blemish on not only Dodgeville, but all of Iowa County. Food was so-so. Service was horrible. The wait for food was excruciating with three bored children. Should have gone to Culvers. Not ever going back. Any recommendation to hapless travelers is to just keep driving.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyontheRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wisonsin trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We ate here our first night in Wisconsin. Service was great and food was even better. Atmosphere was very nice in a converted barn. Lovely and right across from our hotel.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cussingcook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierceton, IN
2 reviews
“It was "okay"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Reasonably priced. Pretty quiet on my visit. Was better than fast food for sure but not mmm mmm good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

After a long day in the Dells, we stayed at the House on the Rock Inn and they recommended this place. It was close and convenient and not fast food. We enjoyed the scene of an old refurbished barn. We were greated promptly and seated quickly, granted it was 8pm on a Tues.
Our waitress was new, however she did a tremendous job of serving our family with a 7 and 9 yr old.
I had smoked chicken stuffed ravioli encrusted with pecans. it was spectactular. My wife had the chop that had a smokey flavor and was great.
The salads were lacking, nothing special, but the bread was homeade and excellant. Overall, I thought it was great and would recommend this to anyone in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank esnewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An old barn offers food at the bar or in the dining room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have dined here two or three times with family and friends. The atmosphere is pleasant - lively in the bar area and quiet in the dining room. The food and service have been inconsistent. The first time we had lunch at the bar. I ordered the Mushroom Swiss burger cooked medium rare with fries. The burger was prepared perfectly and tasted delicious. the second time we ate in the dining room. I ordered the same burger which was delivered more well done than medium rare to my disappointment. The coconut shrimp was overcooked this time where in the past, it was very good. Service was friendly. The restaurant has potential but needs to provide a consistent dining experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam and Maddies also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing