We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Chance”

Duck Inn Supper Club
Ranked #2 of 74 Restaurants in Delavan
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another Chance”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

After 2 years we decided to give the "Duck Inn" another chance. The last time we dined here, we left with the intent of never coming back. Yea, it was that bad.

So this time we were skeptical, but I have to say...Glad we gave it another try! Although they were very busy and finding a parking place was not easy, we were seated rather quickly.
They certainly maximize their seating capacity. It's a good thing the servers are thin or they would never fit between the tables.

I wish they would clean or replace the chandeliers. You can't help but notice them and the burnt out bulbs. It would have been nice to have the fireplace lit on the coldest night of the year but I imagine the tables right next to it would probably have gotten to warm.

We were impressed with the service. Starting with the hostess then the bartender, our server and even the busser were all very attentive.

I don't think the menu has not changed in ten years but evidently it works because they always seem to be busy when we drive by.

The Friday night fish fry was good. The coleslaw was fresh. My tossed salad was cold and crisp ( not part of the fish fry) and the dressing was thick and delicious. The fish was much more than we could eat. The potato pancakes however were barely warm and therefore didn't really taste that good.

All in all, we are glad that we gave it another chance and I'm sure we will be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mary z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    56
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delavan, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!!!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

From the time we walked in the door, we felt welcome and at home. We were a little late arriving for our reservation but they were very understanding.
Everything from our server, bartenders cocktails and dinner were exceptional. Really can't say enough good things about this place. Our home away from home. :)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teribaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, IL
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I've eaten here a few times and have to say the food is pretty average and expensive for the quality. We like the little relish tray you get when you sit down but the food really isn't worth the prices.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank workinforvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very good with some reservations”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This restaurant is seemingly in the middle of no where, and just when we thought we'd never find it -- there it was. The dining room has a high peaked ceiling of natural wood. One end of the dining room has a stone fireplace (gas) and the room was nicely decorated for the holidays. The room is very large and there was only 1 other diner on a Monday night.

Several of our group had oysters (both raw and Rockefeller) which they thought were very good. We ordered both soups and they were tasty but exceptionally thick (you could practically stand your spoon up in the bowl). We had several duck dishes and one filet mignon. The filet was perfectly prepared. The duck itself was very good, but again the sauces were very thick and not at all subtle. Prices were as expected. The place is known as an old-fashioned Wisconsin supper club and I think that is a reasonable designation. Don't expect haute cuisine and you'll be OK.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Safe bet!”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Very good fish fry and nice menu selections if going for other than fish. Soups are outstanding and the chef has been there many years and keeps things interesting. I would say if you are looking for a good meal in the Delavan area you have made the right choice. Service is what I would call above average. Located about 10 miles NW of Delavan. Prices are reasonable for what you get. Fun place to go!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duck Inn Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing