We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation 80 miles from Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delavan Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Delavan Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relaxation 80 miles from Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

On a friends tip we tried this resort. We always went to Lake Geneva which is a resort town about 6 miles from Delavan. This place is great. We found out it is about 10 years old but it looks sparkling new. We opted for a cheaper parking lot view because I do not really need to see a frozen lake but the lady did show us lake view rooms and they were awesome. That is another thing this place is on the lake where places in Geneva are a couple blocks away. They have 2 real nice pools with a hot tub that my kids never left. When all the weekend people left we had the place to ourselves. It is offseason. The room had a kitchen, bedroom, and a fireplace. We are looking forward to coming in summertime you could bring your boat they have a pier.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Soxfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is a condo hotel, and it has large two bedroom condos available that our large family feels comfortable in. We visit probably 3x yearly, and try to stay in a two bedroom on the bottom floor, which is close to the very clean indoor pool, outdoor pool, and arcade room. The other two bedrooms are very nice but the ones on the bottom floor tend to be larger. There really isn't anything to do in Delavan, although there are a couple of decent restaurants. Our main purpose for staying here is for visiting nearby Lake Geneva. The staff at the condo hotel is fantastic, very kind and helpful, and I believe has it not changed in the maybe 5 years we have been visiting. We love the water and hot coffee in the lobby. The lobby is beautiful, with beautiful views of the lake. One con: no ovens in the units, just microwave, dishwasher, and refrigerator. The kitchens are well-stocked, however. One other note: the carpets are worn on the bottom floor near the pool, and some ceilings have signs of water damage. Just disclosing this in the interest of being completely honest, but this place really is clean and well maintained, otherwise.

Room Tip: We prefer the premium two bedrooms on the bottom floor due to their large size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1travelerof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Just got back from a weekend in Delavan, and glad I stayed there instead of Lake Geneva. Why?
1- location was much more peaceful. It was fun to go into Lake Geneva to shop, and do touristy things by day, but returning to the hotel to swim, hot tub, and relax, was great.
2- We arrived on a rainy day, so a quick walk over to the Village Supper club yielded cold beer, friendly staff, and excellent Italian food as well as steaks, walleye, etc.
3- significantly less traffic hassle in Delavan.

Explore the area, then have dinner at the Village, or drive into the downtown for breakfast. The condo we were in had a small patio, gas fireplace and was really clean. Only thing was there was no stove/oven, but there was a large refrigerator and microwave. Not sure how you cook your fish with no stove, but since we weren't there for the fishing, it wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quilmesgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were unfortunate enough to have a room by one of the external air conditioners. Every single hour, all night long, they would turn on and make such a racket that everyone in the suite would wake up! We called the front desk to see what was going on, but nothing could be done.

The hotel, pool, and community rooms make this a perfect place for family gatherings, but BE SPECIFIC when booking a room! All walls are paper thin, so get one far away from any noise makers!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler061811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Tucked away on the Southeast end of Lake Delavan, this very well kept up Resort provides you with an excellent view of the entire Lake as well as excellent room choices. There are plenty of things for the kids to do - an indoor and outdoor pool as well as a game room.

The Staff was very Customer friendly and worked with me to move us when our two kids left after spending the weekend with us. Plenty of parking and we also felt very safe and secure at this Resort. The daily cleanings were also helpful.

Very close to a number of quality restaurants (Millie's for example) and also close to the highway.

Room Tip: If you are looking for the best view, ask for 2nd or 3rd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank strongmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I would highly suggest staying here. We were searching several places in the Geneva area, but everything was so expensive and required a 2 night minimum. This one didn't. Our room was very spacious and clean. The pool area was very nice and looked right out on the lake. It isn't far from town at all. Maybe a 15 minute drive to Geneva. There was a Walmart & food area not too far from there either. Just wish there was a walkway along the lake that you can roam around at night, but overall very impressed. Can't wait to go back there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanreview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a lady who had the biggest smile on get face! She was happy to check us in an hour early which made our lives a lot easier. She also gave us good news: she gave us the $99 special! When we got to our room we were a little bummed we didn't have a lake view but we quickly forgot about that as we toured the beautiful suite! Everything was so clean and we were so excited to have a fire place. The hotel really made us feel as if it was our home away from home. Everything about this hotel is amazing. We were also happy to be a little further away from lake Geneva and be out of the congestion of the tourists. Beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CityAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delavan
1.0 mi away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
9.3 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Delavan - Lake Geneva Area
7.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delavan Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delavan Lake Resort

Property: Delavan Lake Resort
Address: 1550 South Shore Drive, Delavan, WI 53115-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Delavan Lake Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Groupon so you can book your Delavan Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delavan Lake Hotel Delavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing