We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Frontier Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 74 Restaurants in Delavan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: The Frontier Restaurant is the premier dining venue at Lake Lawn Resort. Executive Chef Ross creates innovative American Heartland Cuisine served in the style of New American Cooking, which takes familiar comfort foods and adds sophisticated culinary twists. Our chefs prepare and present a specialized menu featuring only the finest regional ingredients from local Wisconsin farms including our own homegrown herbs and fresh honey. The Frontier Restaurant highlights sweeping views of Delavan Lake paired with white linen table clothes and rich color schemes to create the perfect setting for your next evening out.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've eaten here several times & I highly recommend this restaurant. Get a table by the window, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mdufek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    67
    35
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Frontier”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Wanted to order off the menu but was told it was a 25 minute wait because of a backupon room service orders. We ended up having the buffet which was really good with eggs to order and many choices

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisMusiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Has potential. Needs some tweaking.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have dined at Frontier on past visits to Lake Lawn. There were two factors that influenced my review as average rather than very good.

1) Saturday breakfast: There is a lovely breakfast buffet with made to order omelets as well as a variety of hot and cold breakfast choices. The restaurant also serves a breakfast menu. I ordered the buffet, and my husband ordered pancakes off the menu. The morning we ate there (2/23), orders from the kitchen were taking about 25 minutes. The restaurant wasn't terribly full and most were having the buffet, so it was a ridiculous wait for an order of pancakes.

2) Buffet meals, generally: the hot food on the buffet could have been a little hotter. seemed as if the buffet tables were not set to the appropriate temps.


Overall, the food was very good. It seems that there are a few service issues that should be ironed out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great dinner overlooking the lake”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We enjoyed dinner at the Frontier overlooking Lake Delavan. The butternut squash soup was amazing as was the chicken and dumpling soup. My wife had the grilled veggies and I enjoyed the atlantic salmon. The meals were cooked perfectly and the service was wonderful. My wife asked how the butternut squash soup was and the waitress went into the kitchen and prepared a small portion for her to try. That is the service level that is missing at so many places. Excited to return here soon!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff great, food pricey but worth it.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Waiter and Waitress were great. The food was prepared perfectly and there was a large selection. Lovely decorations for the holidays.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank anngoolsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontier Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Frontier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing