We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big potential, but not quite there.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Lawn Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Big potential, but not quite there.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Lake Lawn Resort is a solid midrange choice for a hotel or resort. It's not going to wow you, and there will be things you don't like, but it's affordable and better than most.

Pros:
- nice bathrooms
- helpful concierge and front desk
- solid fitness center and pool.
- excellent, fast, free WiFi.

Cons:
- housekeeping is loud and starts at 8 a.m. This is a resort. Let people sleep in!
- bedding is uncomfortable, but clean.
- Frontier restaurant is laughably over-priced.
- out-dated and ugly decorations. The carpeting looks like The Overlook hotel in The Shining. That movie is over 30 years old.

Lake Lawn Resort seems to still be suffering from an identity crisis following years of changing hands and stop-start renovations. Ownership should sit down and figure out a vision for the resort, then execute. It has the potential to be something really special.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mhfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    264
    47
    21
    12
See reviews for
346
352
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

COULDN'T SLEEP. BAND WAS TOO LOUD AND MANAGEMENT DIDNT HELP. We have two special needs kids that take every ounce of our energy. After getting 4 families to watch our kids, we came up for my wife's 40th birthday to have some peace, quite and relaxation but ended up being angry and getting little sleep the second night. Very upset with this resort and wouldn't recommend anybody going!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Spent last weekend at the resort for the Nostalgia Nights; Big Band Weekend. I cannot speak highly enough about the experience…everything from the room, to the staff, to the amenities, to the food, to the show were top notch!! The room was terrific, they even put a "Happy Birthday" sign on the door for my wife which was much appreciated. We stay at Lake Lawn 2 - 4 times a year, and have always had a great time! Looking forward to our next stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spent our Anniversary here recently. All the staff were great, we didn't have a single complaint. The food in their restaurants is excellent, we've been there before for the fish fry and prime rib buffett and they're top notch. This was our first visit to the hotel, the room was terrific, they even put a "Happy Anniversary" sign on the door, which was a really nice touch. The wife got a spa treatment and the staff were all very friendly and professional. We will be returning hopefully in the summer next year so we can use the golf course as well.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a view of Lake Delavan, get one if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at Lake Lawn on 11/3 for the Big Band event. It was excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. The Sunday brunch was good and a good value. Great views from the Frontier Restaurant. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at Lake Lawn Resort several times a year, ever since they re-opened! It just keeps getting better and better!! Great accommodations, friendly staff, well priced and so much to do!! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Lake Lawn with several other couples for a long weekend with a groupon deal. The staff were very good to us. They made sure to put all of us in rooms next to each other and gave us rooms facing the inside courtyard. The rooms were awesome. This resort is a great local place with an awesome price for a quick getaway near Chicago. I highly recommend it. We ate dinner in the on site restaurant which was very tasty. I loved how the hotel had seating areas all over so that we could sit in the hallways and play games. Also loved the fire pit at night. And the rocking chairs on the back patios was a great place for us to sit in the mornings to eat a continental breakfast items that we brought to share. What a great place!

Room Tip: We asked for an inside courtroom room so that we weren't facing the parking lot. Would highly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marki2517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delavan
5.4 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.2 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
9.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
10.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Property: Lake Lawn Resort
Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing