We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing place to stay”
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Lawn Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Byron, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Lake Lawn. It was the week of Labor Day, and there were very few people staying there at that time. We stayed in Boulder Lodge. We technically had a "courtyard view", but from our balcony we could also see the lake. We had a Lodge king room, which was quite nice. The resort has many activities, many of which are free. We enjoyed just sitting by the lake, and especially sitting around the fire pit at night chatting with other guests. The food is a little pricey onsite, but we enjoyed spending happy hour at the Lookout Bar. The staff is absolutely wonderful. There are covered hallways going from one building to the next, so you can go almost the entire way around the complex without ever going outside. The only negatives are fairly nitpicky. There is a definite lack of outlets, at least in our room, and while the TVs are HD, the signal is analog. We definitely plan to return here again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the Boulder lodge and thought it was great. It was very quiet--away from pools and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    269
    49
    23
    12
See reviews for
353
356
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We needed a lake front get away for Labor Day. We had not done anything with Lake Delavan and we go to many lakes, so this is our first time. I was surprised by how large the property is, lots of places to walk explore and sit in around the resort Lake Lawn. The rooms are great, the quality is clean and they pride themselves on the history. We used the boats, kayaks, bikes, games, pools. They have a good inside pool, inside large hot tub. The people are pretty good to deal with. Need a little more customer focus...they are not in tune with travelers I felt. No bell man/stand...no help if you need it. The food in the average restaurant was average. The nice restaurant was pricy but it was good. Chef has been there for 16 years.

I love the lake, the large relaxed feel of the resort. I would pack a few bags, pool bag, clothes change for weather changes, since the check out is 11 am, you can stay at resort using amenities all day. One sad note, the beach with sand is aweful. Do not expect to play in sand with kids....they need an upgrade for their beach. That said, us the grass lawn to throw or kick balls...it is huge and fun to play on with your kids...bring balls, whiffle, frisbie whatever.


They had lots of live music for the Labor day weekend. Loved it. We will be going back.

Room Tip: any are fine...they are good. A killer room is 1514......it is huge and awesome. They have regula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marko4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this resort on a business trip to the Delavan area. The room was nice as it looked like it was recently renovated or refreshed. The concierge was knowledgeable and provided us many good tips on places to go. Whatever request we had it was accommodated. This was a nice resort with a very relaxed feel to it. Very family oriented and quaint. We would definitely stay again if we were in the area. The only thing that could have been improved was the weather!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you don't enjoy the crowds in some of the larger resort communities, try Lake Lawn, on beautiful Delavan Lake. They have all of the expected amenities - golf, marina, spa, restaurant, but you can also sit and hang your feet in the water, or just lean against a tree and doze without someone tripping over you. It's an aviator's dream - you can land right on the resort property. Go for the Sunday brunch, and ask for a table by the window. You might get lucky and see floatplanes. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went there August 4th weekend. Very relaxing time. The room was a loft and my 10 year old loved having her own space and bathroom, balcony was great overlooking the lake. We ate at both restaurants and loved the buffet for breakfast. Dinner was a little pricy. the best part of the trip was renting the pontoon boat for a ride on the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobshifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lake Lawn resort was recently updated and is a beautiful resort with quite rooms. I would recommend for a couple or families. It is on the Lake and has multiple swimming pools and options for everyone. We had a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrasdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at Lake Lawn for the Jimmy Buffett concert weekend. The room was beautiful. The view was gorgeous and we were given a room right off the pool, so it was very convenient. Karaoke at the bar was full of parrotheads so it catered to the crowd. My only complaint was it is so spread out, the walk to breakfast was long and the hallways smell like old hotel. The rooms, however, are very nice. The beds very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again the next time I go to Alpine for a Buffett concert.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delavan
5.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Delavan Lake Resort
Delavan Lake Resort
#4 of 7 in Delavan
82 reviews
9.2 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
602 reviews
8.9 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
371 reviews
10.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Property: Lake Lawn Resort
Address: 2400 E Geneva St, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115-2024
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing